Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Barn Swallow, Len Jellicoe
Photo © Len Jellicoe

Photo: Len Jellicoe
Breeding evidence - Barn Swallow
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Barn Swallow
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Barn Swallow
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Barn Swallow
Hirundo rustica
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 1682 m
Conserv. status:
BCRISC: Blue
COSEWIC: Threatened
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
645 214 484 326
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -5.09 (-5.99 - -4.14)Medium
Canada1970 - 2012 -3.73 (-4.15 - -3.36)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.250.06 0.170.15 0.39
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.250.08 0.050.45 0.17
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.170.11 0.18  0.25

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
0.140.070.140.47
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.350.10.2
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.19 0.10.26
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.170.310.080.11

Characteristics and Range The Barn Swallow doesn't seem to have a care in the world as it dips and darts through the summer air. Its deeply forked tail distinguishes it from other North American swallows and it has a remarkable way of drinking pond-water while in flight. The Barn Swallow eats insects, which it captures in mid-air over open land or water, and has a close association with humans, having almost entirely switched to nesting on artificial structures from caves and natural crevices, a process that in North America began before European settlement (Brown and Brown 1999). The Barn Swallow is a long-distance migrant, and one of the most widely distributed birds in the world, breeding across North America, Europe and northern Asia, and overwintering mainly in Central and South America, Africa, southern Asia and Australia.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Barn Swallow breeds in lowlands, valleys and on lower-elevation plateaus throughout British Columbia. Atlas records do not show any appreciable change in distribution since The Birds of British Columbia was published in 1997, except perhaps in the Sub-Boreal Interior ecoprovince where distribution gaps are filled as a result of increased survey coverage.

This active bird is much more common in the Georgia Depression than in any other ecoprovince. However, the Probability of Observation model suggests that there is a similar chance of finding Barn Swallows at lower elevations across much of the province, including in the Northern Boreal Mountains in the far north, where Barn Swallows may very locally reach similar abundance as in some areas of the south, but will be limited by available nest sites. The largest colony reported to the Atlas, and the only one with more than 20 nests, was 44 active nests on southern Vancouver Island. Colonies of 10-20 active nests were reported from just ten sites, all but one in the southern third of British Columbia; a further 17 colonies had 5-10 active nests.

The Barn Swallow is much more common below 250 m than above that elevation, and more common in coastal than interior biogeoclimatic zones. It occurs in open areas, including agricultural land, lowland foreshores, floodplains and even alpine meadows. The Barn Swallow builds its nest on a variety of artificial structures from barns to bridges, and in natural locations like cliffs, steep embankments and even caves. It also nests over busy porch doors and, if left undisturbed, will return to the same site yearly.

Conservation and Recommendations Breeding Bird Survey data from the past 30 years show this species to be declining rapidly, the strongest declines being in the more northern breeding areas, especially eastern Canada (Nebel et al. 2010). This prompted its recent assessments of Threatened in Canada (COSEWIC 2011) and Blue-listed in British Columbia, although it may still be more numerous than it was prior to European settlement. The causes of the decline are not well understood, but climate change and perturbations (e.g., cold snaps), changes in aerial insect populations, and habitat loss and degradation through agricultural intensification, draining and infilling of wetlands and demolition of barns and other rural structures favoured for nesting, are suggested reasons (COSEWIC 2011). Education and public awareness programs are needed to reduce destruction of existing nest sites and colonies due to human intolerance of noise or droppings.

Marguerita (Margo) E. Hearne

Recommended citation: Hearne, M.E. 2015. Barn Swallow in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BASW&lang=en [13 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Hirondelle rustique, Len Jellicoe
Photo © Len Jellicoe

Photo: Len Jellicoe
Indices de nidification - Hirondelle rustique
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Hirondelle rustique
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Hirondelle rustique
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Hirondelle rustique
Hirundo rustica

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 1682 m
Statut de conserv.:
BCRISC: Blue
COSEWIC: Threatened
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
645 214 484 326
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -5.09 (-5.99 - -4.14)Medium
Canada1970 - 2012 -3.73 (-4.15 - -3.36)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.250.06 0.170.15 0.39
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.250.08 0.050.45 0.17
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.170.11 0.18  0.25

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
0.140.070.140.47
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.350.10.2
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.19 0.10.26
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.170.310.080.11

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition L'Hirondelle rustique fend le ciel estival avec une insouciance manifeste. Se distinguant des autres hirondelles nord-américaines par sa queue nettement fourchue, elle a une manière étonnante de boire l'eau des étangs en plein vol. L'Hirondelle rustique mange des insectes, qu'elle capture en vol au-dessus des grands espaces et des plans d'eau. Elle s'accommode bien de l'espèce humaine, ayant presque entièrement délaissé ses cavernes et ses fissures naturelles pour aller nicher sur des surfaces artificielles, un processus qui a débuté en Amérique du Nord avant même l'arrivée des Européens (Brown et Brown 1999). Grande migratrice, l'Hirondelle rustique est l'une des espèces aviaires les plus répandues au monde; elle niche en Amérique du Nord, en Europe et dans le nord de l'Asie, et passe surtout l'hiver en Amérique centrale et en Amérique du Sud, en Afrique, dans le sud de l'Asie et en Australie.

Répartition, abondance et habitat L'Hirondelle rustique niche dans les basses-terres, les vallées et les plateaux peu élevés de la Colombie-Britannique. Les données de l'Atlas ne relèvent aucune évolution notable de la distribution de l'espèce depuis la publication de The Birds of British Columbia en 1997, excepté peut-être dans l'écoprovince sous-boréale intérieure, où l'intensification des observations permet de remplir les trous dans l'aire de distribution.

Cet oiseau actif est beaucoup plus commun dans la dépression de Géorgie qu'à tout autre endroit de l'écoprovince. Cependant, le modèle de probabilité d'observation suggère que l'on a une probabilité similaire de voir des hirondelles rustiques à des élévations faibles dans une bonne partie de la province. Dans les Montagnes boréales du Nord à l'extrême nord, les Hirondelles rustiques peuvent atteindre une abondance locale similaire à celle que l'on retrouve dans certaines régions du sud, mais leur nombre demeure limité par les sites de nidification locaux. La plus grande colonie relevée dans le cadre de l'Atlas, et la seule comptant plus de 20 nids, était constituée de 44 nids et située dans le sud de l'île de Vancouver. Des colonies de 10 à 20 nids actifs ont été trouvées à seulement dix sites, dont neuf dans le tiers sud de la Colombie-Britannique; par ailleurs, 17 colonies comptaient entre 5 et 10 nids actifs.

L'Hirondelle rustique est beaucoup plus commune en dessous de 250 m d'altitude qu'au-dessus, et plus commune dans les zones biogéoclimatiques côtières qu'intérieures. Elle habite les aires ouvertes telles que les terres agricoles, les zones intertidales, les plaines inondables et même les prairies alpines. L'Hirondelle rustique construit son nid dans diverses structures artificielles allant des granges aux ponts, et dans des endroits naturels tels que les falaises, les rives abruptes et même les cavernes. Elle niche également au-dessus des portes en saillie utilisées; si on ne la perturbe pas, elle reviendra au même endroit chaque année.

Conservation et recommandations Les données des 30 dernières années du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs révèlent un déclin rapide de cette espèce, surtout dans les zones de nidification situées plus au nord et tout particulièrement dans l'est du Canada (Nebel et coll. 2010). C'est pourquoi l'espèce a été récemment déclarée « menacée » au Canada (COSEWIC 2011) et inscrite à la liste bleue en Colombie-Britannique, quoiqu'elle demeure peut-être plus nombreuse qu'avant la colonisation européenne. Les causes de ce déclin sont incertaines, mais les hypothèses avancées comprennent les changements et les perturbations climatiques (p. ex., vagues de froid), les changements dans les populations d'insectes volants, et la perte et la dégradation des habitats par l'intensification de l'agriculture, l'assèchement et le remblayage des milieux humides et la démolition des granges et autres structures rurales prisées pour la nidification (COSEWIC 2011). Des programmes d'éducation et de sensibilisation du public sont requis pour éviter la destruction des colonies et des lieux actuels de nidification en raison de l'intolérance humaine à l'égard du bruit et des excréments d'oiseaux.

Marguerita (Margo) E. Hearne

Citation recommandée: Hearne, M.E. 2015. Hirondelle rustique dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BASW&lang=fr [12 août 2022]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley