Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Black-billed Magpie, Laure Wilson Neish
Photo © Laure Wilson Neish

Photo: Laure Wilson Neish
Breeding evidence - Black-billed Magpie
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Black-billed Magpie
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Black-billed Magpie
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Black-billed Magpie
Pica hudsonia
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
221 - 1286 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
164 71 252 202
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 1.02 (-0.413 - 2.72)Medium
Canada1970 - 2012 -0.152 (-0.621 - 0.306)High

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.120.1 0.210.15  
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.12  0.1  0.13
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.190.15 0.21   

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.10.2 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
   0.14
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.21 0.75 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.20.12 0.13

Characteristics and Range This charming and charismatic species is easily recognized by its bold patterning and chatty personality. The Black-billed Magpie's long, fan-like tail, contrasting black, white and deep blue plumage, and conspicuous nature make it one of the most striking birds in Canada. Magpies are members of the crow family (Corvidae) along with crows, ravens and jays, all highly intelligent, inquisitive, and adapt well to human-modified habitats. The Black-billed Magpie is non-migratory and has a long history of association with humans. Historically, magpies often followed Aboriginal Peoples as they hunted bison herds, to feed on the refuse (Trost 1999). The Black-billed Magpie's present range spans the North American Great Plains and western basins, with an apparently disjunct population in northwestern British Columbia, southern Alaska and Yukon (Trost 1999). Although some authors group this species with the Eurasian Magpie (Pica pica), the North American species does not demonstrate the well-known object collecting behavior of its Eurasian counterpart and is more often considered a separate species based on behavior, calls and genetics (Trost 1999).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The range of the Black-billed Magpie in British Columbia is clustered within the main valley systems of the Southern and Central Interior, the Southern Rocky Mountain Trench, on the Interior Plateau, and in the Peace River lowlands. A small population in the extreme northwest represents the easternmost extent of the Alaskan population. A few scattered records in the Northern Boreal Mountains suggest possible linkage exists between the two apparently disjunct North American populations. The Black-billed Magpie's distribution has expanded northward into the Central Interior since The Birds of British Columbia was published in 1997. The Atlas also shows the loss of the small population in the Georgia Depression.

Black-billed Magpie is most likely to be found within the valleys of the Southern Interior and the lowlands of the Boreal Plains Ecoprovince. Atlas point counts corroborate this showing the highest abundance in the Southern Interior, as noted by Campbell et al. (1997), and at elevations below 750 m.

Black-billed Magpies prefer semi-open areas with scattered trees in natural and anthropogenic habitats. Highest abundances occur within the Bunchgrass, Ponderosa Pine and Interior Douglas-fir biogeoclimatic zones. Magpies are opportunistic omnivores; as year-round residents their distribution is most limited by the availability of overwinter food sources, and they commonly rely on human settlements especially in the northern sections of its range (Trost 1999).

Conservation and Recommendations There are no conservation concerns for this species. The Black-billed Magpie population has shown little change since the 1970's based on the Breeding Bird Survey. Its adaptability to human-altered landscapes suggests it will continue to thrive.

Catherine Jardine and Ian Thomas

Recommended citation: Jardine, C. and Thomas, I. 2015. Black-billed Magpie in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BBMA&lang=en [10 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Pie d'Amérique, Laure Wilson Neish
Photo © Laure Wilson Neish

Photo: Laure Wilson Neish
Indices de nidification - Pie d'Amérique
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Pie d'Amérique
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Pie d'Amérique
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Pie d'Amérique
Pica hudsonia

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
221 - 1286 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
164 71 252 202
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 1.02 (-0.413 - 2.72)Medium
Canada1970 - 2012 -0.152 (-0.621 - 0.306)High

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.120.1 0.210.15  
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.12  0.1  0.13
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.190.15 0.21   

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.10.2 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
   0.14
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.21 0.75 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.20.12 0.13

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Espèce charmante et charismatique, la Pie d'Amérique se distingue par son plumage saisissant et son caractère bavard. Sa longue queue en éventail, ses contrastes de noir, de blanc et de bleu foncé et sa grande visibilité font d'elle l'un des oiseaux les plus impressionnants du Canada. Les pies appartiennent à la famille des corvidés, qui comprend également les corneilles, les corbeaux et les geais, tous des oiseaux très intelligents, curieux, et capables de s'adapter aux milieux modifiés par l'être humain. La Pie d'Amérique est non migratrice et entretient un lien étroit avec l'être humain depuis longtemps. Autrefois, les pies suivaient couramment les tribus autochtones chassant les troupeaux de bisons et se nourrissaient des restes (Trost 1999). L'aire de répartition actuelle de la Pie d'Amérique couvre les Prairies et les bassins occidentaux de l'Amérique du Nord; on trouve aussi une population apparemment isolée dans le nord-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique, le sud de l'Alaska et le Yukon (Trost 1999). Bien que certains auteurs groupent cette espèce avec la Pie bavarde (Pica pica) d'Eurasie, l'espèce nord-américaine n'a pas l'habitude de collectionner des objets comme le fait son homologue eurasien, et est généralement considérée comme une espèce distincte en vertu de son comportement, de ses vocalisations et de sa génétique (Trost 1999).

Répartition, abondance et habitat En Colombie-Britannique, la Pie d'Amérique se concentre dans les principales vallées de l'intérieur sud et de l'intérieur central, le sud du sillon des Rocheuses, le plateau intérieur, et les basses-terres de la rivière de la Paix. Une petite population dans l'extrême nord-ouest constitue la limite orientale de la population de l'Alaska. Quelques observations occasionnelles dans les Montagnes boréales du Nord suggèrent que les deux populations nord-américaines pourraient ne pas être aussi isolées l'une de l'autre qu'on le croyait. L'aire de répartition de la Pie d'Amérique s'est agrandie vers le nord, dans l'intérieur central, depuis la publication de The Birds of British Columbia en 1997. L'Atlas révèle également la perte de la petite population qui se trouvait dans la dépression de Géorgie.

La Pie d'Amérique est particulièrement présente dans les vallées de l'intérieur sud et dans les basses-terres de l'écoprovince des plaines boréales. Cela est corroboré par les dénombrements ponctuels de l'Atlas qui relèvent une abondance particulière dans l'intérieur sud, tel que constaté par Campbell et coll. (1997), et aux altitudes inférieures à 750 m.

La Pie d'Amérique favorise les aires semi-dégagées et parsemées d'arbres, naturelles comme anthropogènes. Les zones biogéoclimatiques où l'on trouve le plus de Pies d'Amérique sont celles dominées par les graminées cespiteuses, les pins ponderosa et les douglas bleus. La Pie d'Amérique est une omnivore opportuniste. Une résidente à longueur d'année, sa distribution est surtout limitée par la présence de sources d'alimentation en hiver. Elle dépend souvent des agglomérations humaines, surtout dans la région nord de son aire de répartition (Trost 1999).

Conservation et recommandations La conservation de l'espèce ne suscite aucune préoccupation. Selon le Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs, la population de la Pie d'Amérique a peu changé depuis les années 1970. La capacité d'adaptation de l'espèce aux milieux transformés par l'être humain indique qu'elle continuera à prospérer.

Catherine Jardine and Ian Thomas

Citation recommandée: Jardine, C. and Thomas, I. 2015. Pie d'Amérique dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BBMA&lang=fr [03 juin 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley