Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Black-crowned Night-Heron, Christian Artuso
Photo © Christian Artuso

Photo: Christian Artuso
Breeding evidence - Black-crowned Night-Heron
Breeding evidence

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Black-crowned Night-Heron
Nycticorax nycticorax

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
1 - 114 m
Conserv. status:
BCRISC: Red
Global importance
of B.C. population:
7
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
0 0 2 0
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Canada1970 - 2012 -2.33 (-7.2 - 3.68)Low

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
       
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
       
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
       

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Characteristics and Range The Black-crowned Night Heron is the most widespread heron in the world. Some populations are migratory and others sedentary. In North America, the species occurs across central and southern regions, north to the Canadian Prairies (Hothem et al. 2010). Most northern breeders migrate south to overwinter, but some birds remain quite far north, including in the Fraser River delta, where British Columbian birders are familiar with the species because small numbers have overwintered annually since 1982 at the Reifel Migratory Bird Sanctuary (Campbell et al. 1990). The species is largely crepuscular and nocturnal, so can be hard to find by day because it spends much if its time roosting motionless.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat There are two British Columbian breeding records, both from Reifel Migratory Bird Sanctuary on Westham Island in the Fraser River delta, in 1973 and 1975 (Campbell et al. 1990).

During the Atlas, two breeding season records were noted, both in July, one in 2008 and one in 2010, in the Fraser River delta, but away from Westham Island. One was in dense riparian habitat near the confluence of Como Creek and the Fraser River, a location which also supported a pair of breeding Green Herons. Subsequently, this site was intensively cleared of invasive plant species, and in 2009 neither Green nor Black-crowned Night herons were re-observed. The other Atlas observation was of a bird flying over potentially suitable habitat near the Nikomekl River. On Westham Island, potential breeding habitat at Reifel Migratory Bird Sanctuary and adjacent Alaksen National Wildlife Area was extensively searched during the Atlas, but no adult night-herons were found outside of their normal August to April overwintering period.

Black-crowned Night-Herons make stick platform nests in trees, usually in colonies. The nearest known colonies to southwest British Columbia are in the Columbia River valley of Washington (British Columbia Waterfowl Society 2014). Preferred nesting habitat in this part of the range is wetlands or brackish sloughs surrounded by tall willow (Salix), alder (Alnus) and birch (Betula) tree species (British Columbia Conservation Data Centre 2015).

Conservation and Recommendations Continued searches of suitable riparian habitat in the Fraser River delta may yield further breeding season records. Loss of potentially suitable riparian habitat to urban and agricultural development is an ongoing issue.

Peter J.A. Davidson and George F. Clulow

Recommended citation: Davidson, P.J.A. and Clulow, G.F. 2015. Black-crowned Night-Heron in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BCNH&lang=en [13 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Bihoreau gris, Christian Artuso
Photo © Christian Artuso

Photo: Christian Artuso
Indices de nidification - Bihoreau gris
Indices de nidification

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Bihoreau gris
Nycticorax nycticorax

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
1 - 114 m
Statut de conserv.:
BCRISC: Red
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
7
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
0 0 2 0
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Canada1970 - 2012 -2.33 (-7.2 - 3.68)Low

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
       
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
       
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
       

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le Bihoreau gris est le héron le plus répandu dans le monde. Quelques populations sont migratrices, alors que d'autres sont sédentaires. En Amérique du Nord, l'espèce occupe les régions centrales et méridionales situées au nord des prairies canadiennes (Hothem et coll. 2010). Bien que la plupart des nicheurs du nord migrent vers le sud pendant l'hiver, certains oiseaux demeurent très loin au nord, notamment dans le delta du fleuve Fraser, où les observateurs d'oiseaux de la Colombie-Britannique sont familiers avec l'espèce parce que de petits nombres d'individus hivernent chaque année depuis 1982 dans la Réserve des oiseaux migrateurs de Reifel (Campbell et coll. 1990). Comme l'espèce est très crépusculaire et nocturne, il peut être difficile d'apercevoir ces oiseaux le jour, puisque ces derniers passent une grande partie de leur temps à se reposer sans bouger.

Répartition, abondance et habitat Il existe deux mentions de nidification en Colombie-Britannique, les deux se situant dans la Réserve des oiseaux nicheurs de Reifel sur l'île de Westham située dans le delta du fleuve Fraser, en 1973 et 1975 (Campbell et coll. 1990).

Pendant l'Atlas, deux mentions de nidification ont été recensées en juillet, une en 2008 et l'autre en 2010, dans le delta du fleuve Fraser, mais loin de l'île de Westham. L'une se trouvait dans un habitat riverain dense près de la convergence de la crique Como et du fleuve Fraser, un endroit qui a également abrité un couple de Hérons verts nidificateurs. On a par la suite éliminé de façon intensive les espèces de plantes invasives sur ce territoire et, en 2009, aucune observation de Hérons verts ou de Bihoreaux gris n'a été relevée. L'Atlas a également relevé l'observation d'un oiseau volant au-dessus d'un habitat propice potentiel situé près de la rivière Nikomekl. Sur l'île de Westham, un habitat de reproduction potentiel à la Réserve des oiseaux migrateurs de Reifel et la Réserve nationale de faune d'Alaksen adjacente a fait l'objet de recherches intensives pendant la période couverte par l'Atlas, mais aucun adulte de hérons de nuit n'a été observé en dehors de leur période d'hivernage d'août à avril.

Le Bihoreau gris construit son nid dans les arbres avec de petits bâtons formant une plate-forme, habituellement en colonies. Les colonies connues les plus près du sud-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique se situent dans la vallée du fleuve Columbia de Washington (British Columbia Waterfowl Society 2014). L'habitat de nidification préféré de cette partie de l'aire de répartition est les terres humides ou les étangs saumâtres entourés par de grands arbres comme le saule (Salix), l'aulne (Alnus) et le bouleau (Betula) (Centre de données sur la conservation de la Colombie-Britannique 2015).

Conservation et recommandations Des recherches continues d'habitats riverains propices dans le delta du fleuve Fraser pourraient mener au recensement d'autres mentions de nidification. La disparition d'habitats riverains potentiellement propices en raison du développement urbain et agricole demeure un problème récurrent.

Peter J.A. Davidson and George F. Clulow

Citation recommandée: Davidson, P.J.A. and Clulow, G.F. 2015. Bihoreau gris dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BCNH&lang=fr [23 janv. 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley