Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Barred Owl, Jess Findlay
Photo © Jess Findlay

Photo: Jess Findlay
Breeding evidence - Barred Owl
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Barred Owl
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Barred Owl
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Barred Owl
Strix varia
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
16 - 1203 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
78 86 261 20
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Canada1970 - 2012 2.57 (0.784 - 4.71)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
 0.01 0.060.08 0.05
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
 0.05 0.00.08 0.06
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.080.09 0.06  0.03

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.01  
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.05 0.08
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.07   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
   0.07

Characteristics and Range The Barred Owl is one of the most conspicuous members of its family in British Columbia, easily detected by its loud, raucous "Who cooks for you?!" calls. This mid-sized, dark-eyed, "earless" owl is most similar to the very rare Spotted Owl, but can be visually distinguished by its vertical brown belly stripes and grey-brown cast to the body plumage. It is resident throughout eastern North America east of the Great Plains and north to the southern fringes of the boreal forests, across the parklands and southern boreal forests north of the Great Plains, and throughout the forests of the western cordilleras from northern British Columbia south to northern California. There are isolated populations in the Mexican Sierra Madre.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat Barred Owls are new arrivals in British Columbia; the first record was from the Liard River in 1943 (Munro and Cowan 1947). Since then, the species has spread south throughout the province, and is now found throughout British Columbia except for Haida Gwaii. A paucity of records from the Northern Boreal Mountains and Taiga Plains suggest low and localized populations there. The provincial distribution has not changed significantly since The Birds of British Columbia was published in 1990, although the Atlas filled in gaps in the northern Coast Mountains, western Vancouver Island and the southeastern corner of the province.

The Probability of Observation model suggests that it is easiest to find in the Georgia Depression ecoprovince. Barred Owls nest in coniferous and mixed forests, including Douglas-fir (Pseudotsuga mertensiana), Western Hemlock (Tsuga heterophylla), spruce (Picea), Western Larch (Larix occidentalis) and Black Cottonwood (Populus trichocarpa), often near water (Campbell et al. 1990). Nests are usually in large natural tree cavities or the tops of broken tree stubs (Campbell et al. 1990).

Conservation and Recommendations The Barred Owl expanded its range dramatically in the past century, moving across the top of the Great Plains and filling much of the western cordilleras of North America (Mazur and James 2000). The cause of this expansion is unknown; suggested reasons are anthropogenic and include fire suppression in boreal forests, increasing age of forest and size of trees (for nests), and riparian forest establishment and shelterbelt planting in the northern Great Plains. In southwestern British Columbia it encountered the Spotted Owl, and competition with that species has exacerbated the Spotted Owl's already difficult situation. The two species have hybridized in British Columbia. Predation by the Barred Owl has also been implicated in the sudden population crash of Western Screech-Owl in the Georgia Depression (COSEWIC 2012). In some parts of its range, the Barred Owl is a species of concern because of its preference for mature forests (Mazur and James 2000), but its recent expansion history in the western cordilleras strongly suggests that it is not at risk in British Columbia.

Richard J. Cannings

Recommended citation: Cannings, R.J. 2015. Barred Owl in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BDOW&lang=en [16 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Chouette rayée, Jess Findlay
Photo © Jess Findlay

Photo: Jess Findlay
Indices de nidification - Chouette rayée
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Chouette rayée
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Chouette rayée
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Chouette rayée
Strix varia

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
16 - 1203 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
78 86 261 20
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Canada1970 - 2012 2.57 (0.784 - 4.71)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
 0.01 0.060.08 0.05
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
 0.05 0.00.08 0.06
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.080.09 0.06  0.03

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.01  
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.05 0.08
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.07   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
   0.07

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition La chouette rayée est l'un des membres les plus connus de sa famille en Colombie-Britannique, facilement reconnue par son cri bruyant et rauque, qui est une série de huit hululements accentués se terminant en « ou-ah », avec une baisse de ton à la fin, puis un silence. Ce hibou de taille moyenne aux yeux noirs sans « oreilles » ressemble le plus à la très rare chouette tachetée, mais peut être discerné visuellement par les stries brunes verticales sur son abdomen et la teinte gris-brun de son plumage. On la retrouve partout dans l'est de l'Amérique du Nord à l'est des grandes plaines et au nord des extrémités sud des forêts boréales, à travers les forêts-parcs et les forêts boréales du sud au nord des grandes plaines et à travers les forêts des cordillères de l'ouest du nord de la Colombie-Britannique au nord de la Californie. Il existe des populations isolées dans la Sierra Madre du Mexique.

Répartition, abondance et habitat La Chouette rayée est un nouvel arrivant en Colombie-Britannique; le premier enregistrement provient de la rivière Liard et date de 1943 (Munro et Cowan 1947). Depuis lors, l'espèce s'est répandue vers le sud dans toute la province, et se trouve désormais dans toute la Colombie-Britannique, à l'exception de l'archipel Haida Gwaii. La rareté des données enregistrées dans les Montagnes boréales du Nord et les Plaines de la Taïga indiquent que les populations qui s'y trouvent sont restreintes et localisées. La répartition provinciale n'a pas changé de façon importante depuis la publication de The Birds of British Columbia en 1990, bien que l'Atlas ait comblé certaines lacunes dans la chaîne Côtière du Nord, dans l'ouest de l'île de Vancouver et dans le coin sud-est de la province.

Le modèle des probabilités d'observation indique qu'il est plus facile de trouver cette espèce dans l'écoprovince Dépression de Georgia. La Chouette rayée niche dans des forêts de conifères et mixtes, notamment dans le douglas vert (Pseudotsuga mertensiana), la pruche de l'Ouest (Tsuga heterophylla), l'épicéa (Picea), le mélèze occidental (Larix occidentalis) et le peuplier de l'Ouest (Populus trichocarpa), souvent à proximité d'un point d'eau (Campbell et coll. 1990). Les nids sont généralement construits dans de grandes cavités naturelles d'arbres ou au sommet de chicots (Campbell et coll. 1990).

Conservation et recommandations La chouette rayée a considérablement agrandi son étendue au cours du dernier siècle, traversant à travers le nord des Grandes Plaines et remplissant la majorité des cordillères de l'ouest de l'Amérique du Nord (Mazur et James 2000). La cause de cette expansion est inconnue; les hypothèses suggérées sont anthropogéniques et comprennent la suppression d'incendies dans les forêts boréales, le vieillissement des forêts et l'augmentation de la taille des arbres (pour les nids) et l'établissement de forêts riveraines et la plantation de brise-vents dans le nord des grandes plaines. Dans le sud-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique, la chouette rayée a rencontré la chouette tachetée et la compétition entre les espèces a aggravé l'état déjà fragile de la chouette tachetée. Les deux espèces se sont hybridées en Colombie-Britannique. La prédation de la chouette rayée a aussi été impliquée dans le déclin soudain de la population du petit-duc des montagnes de la dépression de Georgie (COSEPAC 2012). Dans certaines régions de son étendue, la chouette rayée est une espèce source de préoccupation en raison de sa preférence pour les forêts matures (Mazur et James 2000), mais son histoire récente d'expansion dans les cordillères de l'ouest sous-entend fortement qu'elle n'est pas menacée en Colombie-Britannique.

Richard J. Cannings

Citation recommandée: Cannings, R.J. 2015. Chouette rayée dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BDOW&lang=fr [02 juin 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley