Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Bank Swallow, John Gordon
Photo © John Gordon

Photo: John Gordon
Breeding evidence - Bank Swallow
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Bank Swallow
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Bank Swallow
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Bank Swallow
Riparia riparia
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 1252 m
Conserv. status:
COSEWIC: Threatened
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
119 27 160 61
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -3.61 (-7.36 - 1.71)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 -6.93 (-8.63 - -4.4)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.310.11 0.420.47  
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.310.06 0.11  0.64
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.30.77 0.42   

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.150.41 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
   0.11
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.42 0.03 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
1.550.210.50.29

Characteristics and Range Nothing better typifies the communal Bank Swallow than a sandy cut bank pock-marked with dozens or even hundreds of nest holes and a flurry of birds buzzing in all directions in front of the colony. This small, fast-flying, band-breasted swallow migrates long distances from northern breeding grounds to winter in tropical and subtropical regions with a range that spans much of the globe. In North America it breeds from coast to coast, from the Boreal Forest in the north to the Gulf of Mexico in the south, and winters on the Pacific slope of southern Mexico and throughout much of South America (Garrison 1999).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat Breeding is patchy across most of interior British Columbia east of the Coast Mountains. Distribution is heavily weighted toward the southern Central Interior, Southern Interior and Boreal Plains ecoprovinces as well as southern valleys of the Southern Interior Mountains. The general pattern of distribution and breeding is similar to when The Birds of British Columbia was published in 1997 except for the lack of Atlas breeding evidence in the Georgia Depression and fewer breeding locations on the Nechako Plateau and in some extreme northern portions of the province. It is not clear whether these reductions are part of the widespread decline (COSEWIC 2013), or reflect the briefer snapshot nature of the Atlas. More observations and breeding evidence were obtained for the Williston Lake drainage during the Atlas than were known when The Birds of British Columbia was published.

The Probability of Observation is highest in the Boreal Plains followed closely by the Southern Interior Ecoprovince. The highest abundance of Bank Swallows is between 250 and 500 m, dropping significantly above that elevation band. Only 3 colonies numbering 100 or more active nests were reported to the Atlas, 5 colonies of 50-100 active nests, and only another 18 with >20 active nests. Almost all of these were in the southern half of the province, concentrated in the Southern Interior and Southern Interior Mountains ecoprovinces; the Southern Interior Mountains was previously considered to support highest numbers (Campbell et al. 1997).

Nest sites are usually in stream or river banks, road cuts, quarries or other steep faces with sand or silty substrate that can be easily excavated for burrows. General habitats include forested areas, open grass and shrub lands, farm fields, pastures, ponds and lake margins where prey is abundant. In northern regions, birds are found in forests dominated by Trembling Aspen (Populus tremuloides), White Spruce (Picea glauca) and Lodgepole Pine (Pinus contorta) (Campbell et al. 1997). Atlas observations come from almost all biogeoclimatic zones below 1,200 m.

Conservation and Recommendations Bank Swallows are not currently listed as being of conservation concern in British Columbia and global responsibility is considered low. COSEWIC (2013) assessed the species as Threatened, based on an estimated loss of 98% of the Canadian population over the past 40 years. The COSEWIC (2013) assessment indicates that a review of the species' status in British Columbia is warranted, although British Columbia conservation status ranks are weighted strongly by low populations (rarity) rather than declining trends of common species. Protection and management of existing and potential nesting habitat is recommended, but conservation recovery actions will likely be complex and involve maintenance of aerial insect populations, reduction of toxic chemicals and response to climate change.

Rick Howie

Recommended citation: Howie, R. 2015. Bank Swallow in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BKSW&lang=en [13 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Hirondelle de rivage, John Gordon
Photo © John Gordon

Photo: John Gordon
Indices de nidification - Hirondelle de rivage
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Hirondelle de rivage
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Hirondelle de rivage
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Hirondelle de rivage
Riparia riparia

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 1252 m
Statut de conserv.:
COSEWIC: Threatened
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
119 27 160 61
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -3.61 (-7.36 - 1.71)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 -6.93 (-8.63 - -4.4)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.310.11 0.420.47  
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.310.06 0.11  0.64
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.30.77 0.42   

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.150.41 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
   0.11
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.42 0.03 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
1.550.210.50.29

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Rien ne symbolise l'hirondelle de rivage commune comme un rivage sableux découpé parsemé de douzaines ou même de centaines de trous de nids avec un grand nombre d'oiseaux bourdonnant dans toutes les directions autour de la colonie. Cette petite hirondelle à poitrine à bande et à vol rapide migre sur de longues distances des aires de reproduction du nord vers les aires d'hivernage des régions tropicales et subtropicales et son étendue s'étend sur la majorité de la planète. En Amérique du Nord, cette hirondelle se reproduit d'un océan à l'autre, de la forêt boréale à l'extrémité nord au golfe du Mexique et à travers la majorité de l'Amérique du Sud (Garrison 1999).

Répartition, abondance et habitat La reproduction de cette espèce est éparse dans la plupart de la zone intérieure de la Colombie-Britannique, à l'est de la chaîne Côtière. Sa répartition est fortement concentrée dans les écoprovinces Intérieur sud, Intérieur centre et Plaines boréales, ainsi que dans les vallées méridionales des Montagnes intérieures du sud. Le schéma général de sa répartition et reproduction est similaire à celui relevé lorsque The Birds of British Columbia a été publié en 1997, à l'exception du fait qu'il manque dans l'Atlas des preuves concernant la reproduction dans la Dépression de Georgia et qu'il relève moins de sites de reproduction sur le plateau de la Nechako et dans certaines régions de l'extrême nord de la province. On ne sait pas exactement si ces réductions s'expliquent par le déclin général de l'espèce (COSEPAC 2013), ou si elles reflètent l'instantané de la nature plus bref de l'Atlas. Un plus grand nombre d'observations et de preuves de reproduction ont été obtenues pour le bassin de drainage du lac Williston au cours de la période de l'Atlas que celles dont on disposait lorsque The Birds of British Columbia a été publié.

La probabilité d'observation est la plus élevée dans l'écoprovince Plaines boréales, suivie de près par l'écoprovince Intérieur sud. L'abondance la plus élevée de l'Hirondelle de rivage se situe entre 250 et 500 m d'altitude et diminue de façon considérable au-delà de cette zone d'altitudes. Seules 3 colonies totalisant 100 nids actifs ou plus, 5 colonies de 50 à 100 nids actifs, et 18 autres ayant moins de 20 nids actifs ont été signalées pour l'Atlas. Presque tous ces nids se trouvaient dans la moitié sud de la province, concentrés dans les écoprovinces Intérieur sud et Montagnes intérieures du sud; l'écoprovince Montagnes intérieures du sud était auparavant considérée comme celle ayant les plus grands nombres (Campbell et coll. 1997).

Les sites de nidification se trouvent généralement dans les berges d'une rivière ou un cours d'eau, dans des tranchées de route, dans des carrières ou d'autres pentes raides composées de sable ou de substrat vaseux pouvant être facilement creusé pour y construire un terrier. Les habitats généraux incluent des zones boisées, des prairies ou des étendues arbustives dégagées, des champs agricoles, des pâturages, les rivages d'étangs et de lacs où la proie est abondante. Dans les régions du Nord, on trouve cette espèce dans des forêts dominées par des peupliers faux-trembles (Populus tremuloides), des épinettes blanches (Picea glauca) et des pins tordus latifoliés (Pinus contorta) (Campbell et coll. 1997). Les observations de l'Atlas provenaient de presque toutes les zones biogéoclimatiques situées à moins de 1 200 m d'altitude.

Conservation et recommandations Les hirondelles de rivage ne figurent pas actuellement sur la liste d'espèces sources de préoccupations de conservation en Colombie-Britannique et la responsabilité mondiale est considérée comme faible. COSEPAC (2013) a évalué le statut de l'espèce comme étant menacé, d'après la perte estimée de 98 % de la population canadienne au cours des derniers 40 ans. L'évaluation COSEPAC (2013) indique qu'un examen du statut de l'espèce en Colombie-Britannique est justifié, toutefois le statut de conservation en Colombie-Britannique est déterminé plus fortement par de faibles populations (rareté) que par des tendances déclinantes d'espèces communes. La protection et la gestion d'habitats de nidification existants et potentiels sont recommandées, mais les activités de recouvrement et de conservation seront probablement complexes et impliqueront la gestion de population d'insectes volants, la réduction des niveaux de produits chimiques toxiques et des réponses aux changements climatiques.

Rick Howie

Citation recommandée: Howie, R. 2015. Hirondelle de rivage dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BKSW&lang=fr [23 juil. 2019]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley