Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Brandt's Cormorant, Catherine Jardine
Photo © Catherine Jardine

Photo: Catherine Jardine
Breeding evidence - Brandt's Cormorant
Breeding evidence

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Brandt's Cormorant
Phalacrocorax penicillatus

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 0 m
Conserv. status:
BCRISC: Red
Global importance
of B.C. population:
7
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
0 0 3 1
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
BBS trends are not available for this species

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
       
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
       
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
       

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Characteristics and Range Brandt's Cormorant is a medium-sized cormorant that inhabits coastal marine and estuarine waters of the California Current upwelling system, and reaches the northern limits of its breeding range in British Columbia Individuals disperse widely in winter, from Baja California to the Gulf of Alaska. Identified by its blue gular pouch, the species often forages in association with kelp beds, feeding on surface- to bottom-dwelling fish (Wallace and Wallace 1998).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat In British Columbia, Brandt's Cormorant is known to have bred at only a handful of sites around Vancouver Island (Campbell et al. 1990). Breeding was not confirmed anywhere during the Atlas survey period, but in 2013, the species was recorded breeding on Mandarte Island in the southern Gulf Islands (Carter et al. 2014), where flocks were recorded in August and September during the Atlas surveys (Davidson et al. 2010).

Cormorants as a group are notoriously difficult to census because breeding colonies can be small, they are often located on remote islands, and their locations can shift from one year to the next. In the case of Brandt's Cormorants, the very small and ephemeral breeding population in British Columbia adds to the difficulty of obtaining reliable census data.

Brandt's Cormorants use both inshore marine and estuarine waters. At breeding colonies in British Columbia, the Brandt's Cormorant nests on the shoulders or tops of rocky islands, and often in protected sites on the leeward side of an island (Campbell et al. 1990).

Conservation and Recommendations The species is Red-Listed by the province on account of its small breeding population. Recent surveys suggest that Brandt's Cormorant has declined as a breeding species in British Columbia in recent years, with relatively few confirmed breeding records (Carter et al. 2014). The species is potentially vulnerable to oil spills and entanglement in fishing nets, as well as disturbance and predation from Bald Eagles (Hipfner et al. 2012).

Mark Hipfner

Recommended citation: Hipfner, M. 2015. Brandt's Cormorant in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BRCO&lang=en [13 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Cormoran de Brandt, Catherine Jardine
Photo © Catherine Jardine

Photo: Catherine Jardine
Indices de nidification - Cormoran de Brandt
Indices de nidification

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Cormoran de Brandt
Phalacrocorax penicillatus

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 0 m
Statut de conserv.:
BCRISC: Red
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
7
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
0 0 3 1
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Les tendances BBS ne sont pas disponibles pour cette espèce

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
       
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
       
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
       

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le cormoran de Brandt est un cormoran de taille moyenne habitant les eaux côtières et estuaires du système de remontée d'eau du courant de Californie et atteint l'extrémité nord de son étendue de reproduction en Colombie-Britannique. Les individus se dispersent sur un grand territoire en hiver, allant de la Basse-Californie au golfe de l'Alaska. Identifiable par son sac gulaire bleu, l'espèce se sert souvent de peuplements de varechs afin de se nourrir de poissons de surface et de grandes profondeurs (Wallace et Wallace 1998).

Répartition, abondance et habitat En Colombie-Britannique, on sait que le cormoran de Brandt ne niche que dans une poignée d'endroits autour de l'île de Vancouver (Campbell et coll. 1990). Sa reproduction n'a pas été confirmée dans d'autres endroits durant la période de relevé de l'Atlas, mais en 2013, elle a été enregistrée sur l'île Mandarte dans la région sud des îles Gulf (Carter et coll. 2014), où des bandes de cette espèce ont été observées en août et en septembre durant les relevés de l'Atlas (Davidson et coll. 2010).

Il est notoire que les cormorans, en tant que groupe, sont difficiles à recenser, parce que les colonies nicheuses peuvent être très petites, elles se trouvent souvent sur des îles éloignées et leurs emplacements peuvent changer d'une année à l'autre. Dans le cas du cormoran de Brandt, la taille très réduite et le caractère éphémère de sa population reproductrice en Colombie-Britannique ajoutent à la difficulté d'obtenir des données de recensement fiables.

Le cormoran de Brandt utilise aussi bien les eaux marines côtières que les eaux estuariennes. Dans les colonies nicheuses de Colombie-Britannique, le cormoran de Brandt niche sur les épaulements ou les sommets d'îles rocheuses, et souvent dans des sites protégés sur le côté sous le vent d'une île (Campbell et coll. 1990).

Conservation et recommandations L'espèce figure sur la liste rouge de la province en raison de sa population reproductive peu nombreuse. Des études récentes sous-entendent que le cormoran de Brandt est une espèce reproductive en déclin en Colombie-Britannique dans les dernières années, puisque peu de reproductions ont été observées (Carter et coll. 2014). L'espèce est potentiellement vulnérable aux déversements de pétrole et aux enchevêtrements dans les filets de pêche ainsi qu'aux perturbations et à la prédation par le pygargue à tête blanche (Hipfner et coll. 2012).

Mark Hipfner

Citation recommandée: Hipfner, M. 2015. Cormoran de Brandt dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BRCO&lang=fr [02 juin 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley