Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Brown Creeper, Tania Simpson
Photo © Tania Simpson

Photo: Tania Simpson
Breeding evidence - Brown Creeper
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Brown Creeper
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Brown Creeper
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Brown Creeper
Certhia americana
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 1890 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
2
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
126 57 509 275
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -1.34 (-3.27 - 0.358)Medium
Canada1970 - 2012 0.775 (-0.822 - 2.17)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.050.03 0.10.05 0.16
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.050.08 0.010.19 0.06
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.050.03 0.1  0.12

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.03 0.23
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
0.070.130.040.06
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.07 0.06 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
  0.060.04

Characteristics and Range Cryptic and some might suggest cute, the Brown Creeper is easily overlooked. However, its tame nature and habit of gleaning along the lower portions of tree trunks can make for some intimate, eye-level encounters. Widely distributed across the forested regions of North America, and patchily in Central America, it is a year-round resident, but typically makes altitudinal and short southern migrations during cold winters (Hejl et al. 2002).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Brown Creeper is quite widely distributed across much of southern and central British Columbia, but occurs more sparsely in the north. The Atlas recorded few confirmed breeding records anywhere, likely due to the bird's cryptic nature. Breeding is likely more frequent and widespread than currently documented. There may have been small changes in the known breeding distribution of Brown Creeper since The Birds of British Columbia was published in 1997, including confirmed breeding along the central coast, on northern Vancouver Island, and at the head of inlets on the north coast. The Atlas failed to find Brown Creepers in the Haines Triangle, in the far northwest, although the species was documented there previously (Campbell et al. 1997).

The main centre of abundance for the Brown Creeper is the Georgia Depression and Coast and Mountains ecoprovinces including Haida Gwaii, where the Probability of Observation model indicates the bird was most likely to be found, and the highest abundances were recorded on point counts. Abundance is five times higher below 250 m than above that elevation, and the bird is most common in the Coastal Douglas-fir biogeoclimatic zone, followed by Coastal Western Hemlock. Atlas point count data also suggest a moderate local abundance on the Liard Plateau in the far north.

The Brown Creeper generally prefers mature and old conifer-dominant forests, although it can occur in deciduous forest types, and does well in suburban areas where mature gardens and retained veteran trees provide suitable habitat. It is thought to be a forest interior associate that requires larger trees with thickly furrowed and loose sloughing bark, that it nests behind and forages among (Hejl et al. 2002). It also uses artificial nest sites, particularly those made from large pieces of bark. Elevation distribution differs markedly between the coast (0-650 m) and interior regions (290-2,340 m).

Conservation and Recommendations The Province of British Columbia has a high responsibility for Brown Creeper conservation. Coastal Douglas-fir, the Brown Creeper's favoured climate-vegetation type, is already small in area and undergoing further reductions in quality and extent (Schuster and Arcese 2011). In British Columbia, harvesting of mature stands and cutting of large, dead or dying trees for firewood likely have an impact on local populations. In the interior, these forestry practices may have had a greater impact on numbers. Modifying forest harvest practices based on studies in the interior of British Columbia (e.g. Mahon et al. 2008), may benefit foraging and nesting habitat management for the species. As suburban trees age they become useful for this species, so local government policies that safely retain old and decaying trees in such areas are encouraged.

Paul Chytyk and David F. Fraser

Recommended citation: Chytyk, P. and D.F. Fraser. 2015. Brown Creeper in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BRCR&lang=en [10 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Grimpereau brun, Tania Simpson
Photo © Tania Simpson

Photo: Tania Simpson
Indices de nidification - Grimpereau brun
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Grimpereau brun
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Grimpereau brun
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Grimpereau brun
Certhia americana

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 1890 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
2
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
126 57 509 275
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -1.34 (-3.27 - 0.358)Medium
Canada1970 - 2012 0.775 (-0.822 - 2.17)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.050.03 0.10.05 0.16
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.050.08 0.010.19 0.06
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.050.03 0.1  0.12

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.03 0.23
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
0.070.130.040.06
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.07 0.06 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
  0.060.04

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Discret et comme pourrait le laisser entendre d'aucuns, mignon, le Grimpereau brun passe facilement inaperçu. Cependant, il est docile de nature et habitué à glaner sa nourriture à la partie basse des troncs d'arbre, ce qui peut aboutir à certaines rencontres intimes au niveau des yeux. Largement répandu dans toutes les régions boisées de l'Amérique du Nord, et de façon dispersée en Amérique centrale, il est sédentaire, mais fait habituellement de courtes migrations en altitude vers le sud pendant les hivers froids (Hejl et coll. 2002).

Répartition, abondance et habitat Le Grimpereau brun est largement distribué sur une grande partie du sud et du centre de la Colombie-Britannique, mais sa présence est plus sporadique dans le nord. L'Atlas a consigné que les relevés de nidification confirmée étaient rares où que ce soit, probablement à cause de la nature discrète de l'oiseau. La nidification est probablement plus fréquente et répandue que ne l'indique la documentation actuelle. Il peut y avoir eu de petits changements de la distribution de nidification connue du Grimpereau brun depuis la publication de The Birds of British Columbia, y compris des nidifications confirmées le long de la côte centrale, dans le nord de l'île de Vancouver et à l'embouchure de bras de mer sur la côte nord. L'Atlas n'a pas réussi à trouver de grimpereau brun dans le triangle Haines, dans l'extrême nord-ouest, bien que l'espèce y ait été décrite précédemment (Campbell et coll. 1997).

Le principal centre d'abondance du Grimpereau brun sont les écoprovinces Dépression de Georgia et Côtes et montagnes du sud, y compris Haida Gwaii, où le modèle des probabilités d'observation indique que la probabilité de trouver l'oiseau était la plus élevée, et où l'on a enregistré les plus fortes abondances au moyen du dénombrement par point. L'abondance était cinq fois plus élevée à des altitudes inférieures à 250 mètres qu'au-dessus, et l'oiseau était le plus commun dans la zone biogéoclimatique côtière à Douglas, suivie par la zone côtière à pruche de l'Ouest. Les données du dénombrement par point de l'Atlas ont également mis en évidence une abondance locale modérée sur le plateau Liard dans le Grand nord.

Le Grimpereau brun préfère généralement des peuplements adultes et de vieilles forêts dominées par les conifères, bien qu'on puisse le trouver dans des types de forêts de feuillus, et il se trouve bien dans des régions suburbaines dans lesquelles des jardins à maturité et de vieux arbres conservés lui fournissent un habitat convenable. On pense qu'il s'agit d'un oiseau associé à l'intérieur des forêts qui a besoin de grands arbres portant une écorce profondément ridée et détachée et pendante, derrière laquelle il niche et cherche de la nourriture (Hejl et coll. 2002). Il également utilise des lieux de nidification artificiels, particulièrement ceux fabriqués avec de grands morceaux d'écorce. La distribution selon l'altitude était profondément différente entre les régions côtières (0 à 650 mètres) et intérieures (290 à 2 340 mètres).

Conservation et recommandations Une grande responsabilité incombe à la province de la Colombie-Britannique pour la conservation du Grimpereau brun. La zone côtière à Douglas, qui est le type de végétation climatique que préfère le Grimpereau brun, est déjà petite dans la région et subit des réductions supplémentaires de la qualité et de l'étendue (Schuster and Arcese 2011). En Colombie-Britannique, l'exploitation de peuplements adultes et l'abattage de grands arbres morts ou mourants comme bois de chauffage ont probablement exercé une incidence sur les populations locales. Dans l'intérieur, ces pratiques de foresterie peuvent avoir eu une plus forte incidence sur les nombres. La modification des pratiques d'exploitation forestière fondée sur les études effectuées dans l'intérieur de la Colombie-Britannique (p. ex., Mahon et coll. 2008), pourrait profiter à la gestion de l'habitat de recherche de nourriture et de nidification de l'espèce. À mesure que les arbres suburbains vieillissent, ils deviennent utiles pour cette espèce et, par conséquent, on encourage les politiques des gouvernements locaux qui permettent de sauvegarder en toute sécurité des arbres vieux et en décomposition dans de telles régions.

Paul Chytyk and David F. Fraser

Citation recommandée: Chytyk, P. and D.F. Fraser. 2015. Grimpereau brun dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BRCR&lang=fr [26 janv. 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley