Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Brown Thrasher, Nick Saunders
Photo © Nick Saunders

Photo: Nick Saunders
Breeding evidence - Brown Thrasher
Breeding evidence

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Brown Thrasher
Toxostoma rufum

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
684 - 684 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
N/A
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
0 0 2 0
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Canada1970 - 2012 -1.04 (-1.63 - -0.466)High

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
       
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
       
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
       

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Characteristics and Range The Brown Thrasher, like other thrashers, tends to be heard more often than it is seen, despite its stunning, rusty-and-white plumage. It is a remarkable songster with one of the most extensive song repertoires of any North American passerine. The range of the Brown Thrasher spans eastern and central North America, south of the Boreal Forest to the United States' Southern Coastal Plains; it breeds in the northern portion of the range and migrates short to medium distances south. It is an accidental visitor to British Columbia, but has been expanding its range in several compass directions, including to the northwest, facilitated by land clearance for agriculture and fire suppression. During the 20th Century, it expanded into southern Alberta and non-breeding birds occur in the Rocky Mountain foothills close to British Columbia (Cavitt and Haas 2014).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat There are no breeding records from British Columbia (Campbell et al. 1997). The two records during the Atlas are from the Peace and Fort Nelson river lowlands, a long way from the nearest know breeding grounds in hedgerows, shrubby and riparian habitats in the prairie grasslands of southern Alberta. There was no apparent change in Brown Thrasher distribution between the first and second breeding bird atlases in Alberta (Federation of Alberta Naturalists 2007), but the long-term range expansion (Cavitt and Haas 2014) and proximity of current breeding populations to British Columbia suggest that there is a chance that this species could attempt to breed in the province in the future.

Conservation and Recommendations Whilst the Brown Thrasher has expanded its range, Breeding Bird Survey data show the overall population is declining. The decline is attributed to succession of shrubs and thickets in eastern portions of the range, and loss of shelterbelts and hedgerows through agricultural intensification in the western part of its range (Cavitt and Haas 2014).

Peter J.A. Davidson

Recommended citation: Davidson, P.J.A. 2015. Brown Thrasher in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BRTH&lang=en [11 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Moqueur roux, Nick Saunders
Photo © Nick Saunders

Photo: Nick Saunders
Indices de nidification - Moqueur roux
Indices de nidification

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Moqueur roux
Toxostoma rufum

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
684 - 684 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
N/A
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
0 0 2 0
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Canada1970 - 2012 -1.04 (-1.63 - -0.466)High

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
       
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
       
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
       

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Il est plus probable d'entendre le Moqueur roux, comme tous les autres moqueurs, que de le voir, malgré son magnifique plumage roux et blanc. Il s'agit d'un oiseau chanteur remarquable et il possède l'un des répertoires de chants les plus complets de tous les passériformes d'Amérique du Nord. L'aire de répartition du Moqueur roux couvre l'est et le centre de l'Amérique du Nord, depuis le sud de la forêt boréale jusqu'aux plaines côtières du sud des États-Unis. Il niche dans la partie nord de cette aire de répartition et migre vers le sud sur des distances courtes à moyennes. Sa présence en Colombie-Britannique est fortuite, toutefois, son aire de répartition a connu une expansion dans plusieurs directions, y compris vers le nord-ouest, qui a été facilitée par le défrichage pour l'agriculture et l'extinction des incendies. Au cours du 20e siècle, sa présence s'est répandue jusqu'au sud de l'Alberta et des oiseaux qui ne sont pas en nidification se retrouvent aux contreforts des Rocheuses près de la Colombie-Britannique (Cavitt et Haas 2014).

Répartition, abondance et habitat Il n'existe aucune donnée de nidification pour la Colombie-Britannique (Campbell et coll. 1997). Les deux cas recensés durant l'Atlas ont été observés dans les basses terres de la rivière de la Paix et de la rivière Fort Nelson, soit très loin des aires de nidification connues les plus près, situées dans les haies, les arbustes et les zones riveraines des prairies du sud de l'Alberta. Il n'y a eu aucun changement apparent dans la répartition du Moqueur roux entre le premier et le deuxième atlas des animaux nicheurs de l'Alberta (Federation of Alberta Naturalists 2007); cependant, l'expansion à long terme de l'aire de répartition (Cavitt et Haas 2014) et la proximité actuelle des populations d'oiseaux nicheurs et de la Colombie-Britannique indiquent qu'il est possible que l'espèce essaie de nicher dans cette province dans l'avenir.

Conservation et recommandations Bien que l'aire de répartition du Moqueur roux ait connu une expansion, sa population est en baisse d'après les données du Relevé sur les oiseaux nicheurs, et ce, en raison de la maturation des arbustes et des taillis dans les parties est de son aire de répartition et de la disparition des brise-vent et des haies à cause de l'intensification de l'agriculture dans la partie ouest de l'aire de répartition (Cavitt et Haas 2014).

Peter J.A. Davidson

Citation recommandée: Davidson, P.J.A. 2015. Moqueur roux dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BRTH&lang=fr [23 juil. 2019]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley