Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Bufflehead, Ian Routley
Photo © Ian Routley

Photo: Ian Routley
Breeding evidence - Bufflehead
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Bufflehead
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Bufflehead
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Bufflehead
Bucephala albeola
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 1494 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
5
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
269 152 253 85
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 3.9 (0.628 - 7.35)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 3.04 (0.768 - 4.9)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.10.05 0.20.19  
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.10.07 0.05  0.15
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.110.24 0.2   

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.06  
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
  0.07 
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.36 0.14 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.060.020.260.13

Characteristics and Range The Bufflehead is the smallest diving duck in North America. Unlike most cavity-nesting ducks that generally use larger nest holes excavated by the Pileated Woodpecker, the Bufflehead almost exclusively uses smaller Northern Flicker holes for nesting (Gauthier 2014). In contrast to most ducks, Bufflehead pairs are typically monogamous and can be relatively long-lived, surviving up to 18 years in the wild (Cornell Lab of Ornithology 2014). The Bufflehead breeds throughout the Boreal Forest and south in higher elevation forests to the Cascade and northern Rocky mountains, but is mostly absent from areas along either coast. It winters in protected coastal waters and inland across the southern half of the continent, including the entire British Columbia coast and on open water in the southern interior (Campbell et al. 1990).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Bufflehead breeds throughout the province, except for coastal areas and most of the Coast Mountains Ecoprovince. Campbell et al. (1990) showed breeding records for Vancouver Island and the lower Fraser Valley, but Atlas work recorded no confirmed breeding for these areas.

The areas with the most extensive high Probability of Observation for Buffleheads are the lowland and mid-elevation plateau regions of the Taiga Plains, Boreal Plans and Central Interior ecoprovinces. Additional areas with high PObs values are the Rocky Mountain Trench portion of the Southern Interior Mountains Ecoprovince, and the lower Thompson drainage of the Southern Interior Ecoprovince. Abundance was highest in the Central Interior Ecoprovince, and at lower (250-500 m) elevations. However, this is based on a relatively small sample of randomized point counts that did not comprehensively sample the Bufflehead's wetland habitat, which is concentrated in the Boreal White and Black Spruce, Sub-boreal Pine-Spruce, and Interior Douglas-fir biogeclimatic zones.

In British Columbia, the Bufflehead nests primarily on lakes and occasionally on rivers, sloughs and ponds in aspen parkland, interior coniferous forests, and farmlands (Campbell et al. 1990). Most nests are built in abandoned Northern Flicker nest holes, mainly in Trembling Aspen (Populus tremuloides), Douglas-fir (Pseudotsuga menziesii), and pine (Pinus) trees. Areas with highest Bufflehead Pobs values generally match high Northern Flicker Pobs values. The majority of nests are located near wetland edges, but some may be up to 200 m from water. Buffleheads will use nest boxes, but not as readily as other cavity-nesting duck species. Interestingly, natural nest cavity entrances used by Bufflehead tend not to face towards the water (Gauthier 2014).

Conservation and Recommendations Bufflehead populations are increasing both in British Columbia and across Canada based on Breeding Bird Survey data (Environment Canada 2014). Nest holes created by the Northern Flicker are generally more common across the landscape than larger Pileated Woodpecker nest cavities used by larger cavity-nesting duck species; so nest sites are not usually a limiting factor.

Paul Chytyk and David F. Fraser

Recommended citation: Chytyk P. and Fraser, D.F. 2015. Bufflehead in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BUFF&lang=en [10 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Petit Garrot, Ian Routley
Photo © Ian Routley

Photo: Ian Routley
Indices de nidification - Petit Garrot
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Petit Garrot
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Petit Garrot
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Petit Garrot
Bucephala albeola

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 1494 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
5
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
269 152 253 85
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 3.9 (0.628 - 7.35)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 3.04 (0.768 - 4.9)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.10.05 0.20.19  
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.10.07 0.05  0.15
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.110.24 0.2   

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.06  
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
  0.07 
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.36 0.14 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.060.020.260.13

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le petit garrot est le plus petit canard plongeur de l'Amérique du Nord. Contrairement à la majorité des canards construisant leur nid dans des cavités qui utilisent de plus grandes cavités creusées par le grand pic, le petit garrot se sert presque entièrement des plus petites cavités creusées par le pic flamboyant pour y construire son nid (Gauthier 2014). Aussi, les paires de petits garrots sont normalement monogames et peuvent vivre assez longtemps comparativement aux autres canards, pouvant atteindre l'âge de 18 ans dans la nature (Cornell Lab of Ornithology 2014). Le petit garrot se reproduit à travers la forêt boréale et vers le sud dans les forêts plus élevées vers les monts Cascades et les montagnes Rocheuses, mais est normalement absent des régions côtières. Ils hivernent dans les eaux côtières et intérieures protégées de la moitié sud du continent, y compris la Colombie-Britannique entière, et dans les eaux ouvertes de l'intérieur du sud (Campbell et coll. 1990).

Répartition, abondance et habitat Le Petit Garrot niche dans toute la province, à l'exception des régions côtières et la majeure partie de l'écoprovince Côtes et montagnes. Campbell et coll. (1990) ont indiqué des relevés de reproduction pour l'île de Vancouver et la vallée du bas Fraser; toutefois, l'Atlas n'a relevé aucune reproduction confirmée pour ces régions.

Les régions affichant les plus grandes valeurs de probabilité d'observation pour le Petit Garrot sont les régions des plaines et plateaux d'altitude moyenne des écoprovinces Plaines de la Taïga, Plaines boréales et Intérieur centre. D'autres régions pour lesquelles les valeurs de Pobs sont très élevées comprennent la partie du sillon des Rocheuses de l'écoprovince Montagnes intérieures du sud, et le bassin de drainage inférieur de la Thompson dans l'écoprovince Intérieur sud. L'abondance était la plus élevée dans l'écoprovince Intérieur centre, et à des altitudes plus basses (de 250 à 500 m). Toutefois, cette information repose sur un échantillon relativement petit de dénombrements par point aléatoires qui n'ont pas permis d'assurer un échantillonnage exhaustif de l'habitat humide du Petit Garrot, qui se concentre dans les zones biogéoclimatiques boréales des épinettes blanche et noire, sub-boréale à pin et épinette et du Douglas taxifolié de l'intérieur.

En Colombie-Britannique, le Petit Garrot niche principalement sur des lacs et occasionnellement sur des rivières, des marécages et des étangs dans des forêts-parcs à trembles, des forêts intérieures de conifères et des terres agricoles (Campbell et coll. 1990). La plupart des nids sont construits dans des nids abandonnés de pic flamboyant, principalement dans les peupliers faux-trembles (Populus tremuloides), les douglas verts (Pseudotsuga menziesii), et les pins (Pinus). Les régions affichant des valeurs de Pobs très élevées pour le Petit Garrot ont généralement aussi des valeurs de Pobs élevées pour le pic flamboyant. La majorité des nids se trouvent près des rives de cours d'eau, mais certains peuvent être construits à près de 200 m de l'eau. Le Petit Garrot utilisera des nichoirs, mais pas aussi aisément que d'autres espèces de canards nichant dans les cavités. Il est intéressant de noter que les entrées naturelles des nids construits dans des cavités qu'utilise le Petit Garrot ont tendance à ne pas être orientées vers l'eau (Gauthier 2014).

Conservation et recommandations Les populations de petit garrot sont à la hausse en Colombie-Britannique et au Canada d'après les données du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs (Environnement Canada 2014). Les cavités de nidification créées par le pic flamboyant sont généralement plus communes que celles du grand pic utilisé par les espèces de canards plus larges, donc la disponibilité des sites de nidification n'est normalement pas un facteur limitant.

Paul Chytyk and David F. Fraser

Citation recommandée: Chytyk P. and Fraser, D.F. 2015. Petit Garrot dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BUFF&lang=fr [10 août 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley