Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
California Gull, Laure Wilson Neish
Photo © Laure Wilson Neish

Photo: Laure Wilson Neish
Breeding evidence - California Gull
Breeding evidence

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

California Gull
Larus californicus

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 12 m
Conserv. status:
BCRISC: Blue
Global importance
of B.C. population:
7
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
2 2 5 9
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Canada1970 - 2012 0.391 (-3.58 - 3.37)Low

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
       
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
       
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
       

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Characteristics and Range The California Gull is a highly colonial, inland-breeding gull that rarely hybridizes with other white-headed gulls. It breeds wherever it can find suitable wetland habitat in the Prairies and adjacent Boreal Forest, and some of North America's western basins. There are 70+ colonies numbering 200,000-300,000 birds (the largest exceeding 20,000 birds) in the Canadian Prairies and Boreal Forest of Alberta and Saskatchewan (Environment Canada 2011), but only very small numbers breed in British Columbia. However, thousands migrate through British Columbia to winter along the Pacific Coast, often offshore (Winkler 1996).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat In spite of being an abundant migrant and highly local winter visitor along the coast and in the interior, the species breeds in very small numbers at only two confirmed British Columbian locations.

The first British Columbian breeding was discovered when a pair nested amid Ring-billed Gulls on Whiskey (Grant) Island at the north end of Okanagan Lake in 1972. The number of nesting pairs had increased to 17 pairs in 1986 (Campbell et al. 1990), but numbers were not counted at this colony during the Atlas due to access restrictions. The Atlas added a second colony with 4-5 nesting pairs, also amid a colony of Ring-billed Gulls, at the Osoyoos sewage lagoons (Brown 2015). Atlassers found two other sites with flocks, including adults in breeding plumage and juvenile birds in potential breeding habitat in early-mid summer, on Lillooet and Harrison lakes.

California Gulls require colony sites to be free from land predators. Islands, promontories and fenced reservoirs secure from predators attract potential breeders in lowland situations.

Conservation and Recommendations Although the California Gull is considered to have experienced large increases in abundance since about 1970, the species is Blue-Listed as a breeding species in British Columbia, due to the very small numbers of both breeding pairs and breeding locations. The Atlas reports of probable breeding on Lillooet and Harrison lakes should be investigated for confirmation with early summer visits.

Chris R. Siddle

Recommended citation: Siddle, C.R. 2015. California Gull in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=CAGU&lang=en [13 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Goéland de Californie, Laure Wilson Neish
Photo © Laure Wilson Neish

Photo: Laure Wilson Neish
Indices de nidification - Goéland de Californie
Indices de nidification

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Goéland de Californie
Larus californicus

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 12 m
Statut de conserv.:
BCRISC: Blue
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
7
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
2 2 5 9
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Canada1970 - 2012 0.391 (-3.58 - 3.37)Low

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
       
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
       
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
       

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le Goéland de Californie est un goéland très colonial qui se reproduit à l'intérieur et qui s'hybride rarement avec d'autres goélands à tête blanche. Il se reproduit partout où il peut trouver un habitat de terres humides approprié dans les Prairies et la forêt boréale, et certains des bassins de l'ouest de l'Amérique du Nord. Bien qu'il y ait plus de 70 colonies comportant entre 200 000 et 300 000 oiseaux (la plus grande excédant 20 000 oiseaux) dans les prairies canadiennes et la forêt boréale de l'Alberta et de la Saskatchewan (Environnement Canada 2011), seulement de très petits nombres d'individus se reproduisent en Colombie-Britannique. Des milliers d'oiseaux migrent à travers la Colombie-Britannique pour hiverner le long de la côte du Pacifique, souvent au large (Winkler 1996).

Répartition, abondance et habitat Bien qu'il s'agisse d'un oiseau migrateur abondant et d'un visiteur hivernal très localisé le long de la côte et dans la zone intérieure, l'espèce niche en de très petits groupes d'individus à seulement deux endroits en Colombie-Britannique.

On a découvert la première nidification de la Colombie-Britannique lorsqu'un couple a niché parmi les Goélands à bec cerclé sur l'île de Whiskey (Grant) à l'extrémité nord du lac Okanagan en 1972. Bien que le nombre de couples de nidification ait augmenté à 17 couples en 1986 (Campbell et coll. 1990), les chiffres n'ont pas été comptabilisés pour cette colonie lors de la période couverte par l'Atlas en raison de contraintes d'accès. L'Atlas a ajouté une deuxième colonie avec quatre à cinq couples de nidification, également parmi une colonie de Goélands à bec cerclé, aux étangs d'épuration Osoyoos (Brown 2015). Les observateurs d'oiseaux ont trouvé deux autres sites avec des volées, y compris les adultes en plumage de nidification et les oiseaux juvéniles dans l'habitat de nidification potentiel au début et au milieu de l'été, sur les lacs Lillooet et Harrison.

Les Goélands de Californie nécessitent que les sites de colonie soient exempts de prédateurs terrestres. Les îles, les promontoires et les réservoirs clôturés protégés des prédateurs attirent des nicheurs potentiels dans les zones de plaine.

Conservation et recommandations Bien que l'on considère que le Goéland de Californie ait subi d'importantes hausses d'abondance depuis 1970, l'espèce figure sur la liste bleue en tant qu'espèce de nidification en Colombie-Britannique en raison des très petits nombres de couples de nidification et de lieux de reproduction. L'Atlas signale une nidification probable sur les lacs Lillooet et Harrison, lesquels devraient être confirmés grâce aux visites précoces d'été.

Chris R. Siddle

Citation recommandée: Siddle, C.R. 2015. Goéland de Californie dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=CAGU&lang=fr [12 août 2022]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley