Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Cliff Swallow, Laure Wilson Neish
Photo © Laure Wilson Neish

Photo: Laure Wilson Neish
Breeding evidence - Cliff Swallow
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Cliff Swallow
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Cliff Swallow
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Cliff Swallow
Petrochelidon pyrrhonota
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 1616 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
368 40 221 98
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -5.1 (-10.7 - 0.915)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 -1.07 (-4.89 - 1.87)Low

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.450.91 0.50.52 0.63
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.471.05 0.070.54 0.38
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.380.78 0.51  0.57

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.830.680.65
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.530.140.24
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.74 1.430.2
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.40.030.610.41

Characteristics and Range The colonial and highly social Cliff Swallow was one of the first species described by new explorers to North America. Birds are able to distinguish the voices of their own young amongst many others in the colony. They breed from the Mexican Sierra Madre north through western mountain chains to the Brooks Range in Alaska, and east across most of North America to the Atlantic Coast. The breeding range is expanding southeast into the previously unoccupied Southern Coastal Plains (Brown and Brown 1995). The main winter range covers central South America, east of the Andes.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat Cliff Swallows are migrants and summer breeders in the province. During the Atlas period, birds were widespread across the south coast and interior, from Vancouver Island to the Rocky Mountains and the far north, but sparse in the Coast Mountains and absent from Haida Gwaii. This range is much the same as when The Birds of British Columbia was published in 1997, but the Atlas fills some distribution gaps in northern portions of the province. About two-thirds of the Atlas confirmed breeding records are of two or more active nests.

The Probability of Observation model highlights the valleys and lower elevation plateaus of several ecoprovinces as being the most likely places to find Cliff Swallows. The abundance data show the bird is most common between 500 and 1,250 m elevation, corresponding to the elevation range of these areas. The colony data, however, indicates that the Peace and Fort Nelson river lowlands in the Boreal Plains and Taiga Plains ecoprovinces, and the upper-middle Fraser Valley in the adjacent Sub-boreal Interior Ecoprovince are the centres of provincial Cliff Swallow abundance. These areas support 10 of the 13 largest (100-400 nest) colonies, and the most colonies with 20-100 nests. This result contrasts with Campbell et al. (1997), who at that time considered this swallow most numerous in the Central Interior. A few known colonies in the Central Interior were not accessed during the Atlas, which may partly explain this difference. Many of the larger colonies recorded during the Atlas were on man-made structures like highway bridges; at the largest (400 nests), the birds were nesting on abandoned machinery and trailers by a highway.

Cliff Swallows are birds of the open country including grasslands, canyons, very open forests, beaches, farm lands, sloughs, marshes and ponds. They avoid heavy forest and alpine areas. Nesting habitat is generally steep rock faces and a wide variety of man-made structures, such as buildings, bridges, large culverts, highway overpasses or any other location where they can affix their gourd-like mud nests in colonies. Availability of suitable nest sites and nearby foraging habitats are probably the main limiting factors for the Cliff Swallow.

Conservation and Recommendations Breeding Bird Survey data indicate a strongly decreasing trend in British Columbia and Canada, particularly in the last 20-25 years (Environment Canada 2011). Causes for the decline remain uncertain with theories including a reduction of insect prey, toxic chemicals, climate change and landscape changes. It is not clear whether these pertain to the breeding grounds, the wintering countries or both. Conservation actions should include emphasizing protection and toleration of nest sites on structures.

Rick Howie

Recommended citation: Howie, R. 2015. Cliff Swallow in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=CLSW&lang=en [11 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Hirondelle à front blanc, Laure Wilson Neish
Photo © Laure Wilson Neish

Photo: Laure Wilson Neish
Indices de nidification - Hirondelle à front blanc
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Hirondelle à front blanc
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Hirondelle à front blanc
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Hirondelle à front blanc
Petrochelidon pyrrhonota

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 1616 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
368 40 221 98
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -5.1 (-10.7 - 0.915)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 -1.07 (-4.89 - 1.87)Low

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.450.91 0.50.52 0.63
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.471.05 0.070.54 0.38
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.380.78 0.51  0.57

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.830.680.65
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.530.140.24
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.74 1.430.2
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.40.030.610.41

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition La très sociale Hirondelle à front blanc est l'une des premières espèces à avoir été décrites en Amérique du Nord par les explorateurs. Ces oiseaux, qui vivent en colonies, sont capables de reconnaître la voix de leurs petits parmi celles de tous les autres petits de la colonie. Leur aire de reproduction commence, au sud, à la Sierra Madre mexicaine, et s'étend, vers l'ouest, par les chaînes de montagnes du versant pacifique jusqu'à la chaîne de Brooks, en Alaska, et, vers l'est, sur une bonne partie de l'Amérique du Nord, jusqu'à la côte Atlantique. Elle tend aujourd'hui à se prolonger vers le sud-est dans les plaines côtières du sud, autrefois inoccupées (Brown et Brown 1995). L'aire d'hivernage principale de cette hirondelle couvre le centre de l'Amérique du Sud, à l'est des Andes.

Répartition, abondance et habitat Les Hirondelles à front blanc sont des oiseaux migrateurs qui viennent se reproduire dans la province durant l'été. Pendant la période de relevés de l'Atlas, les oiseaux étaient répartis sur la côte et à l'intérieur de la partie méridionale, de l'île de Vancouver jusqu'aux Rocheuses et dans le Grand Nord, mais leur répartition était clairsemée dans la chaîne Côtière, et ils étaient absents de l'archipel Haida Gwaii. Cette aire de répartition est en grande partie la même que lors de la publication de The Birds of British Columbia en 1997, mais les relevés de l'Atlas montrent des écarts de distribution dans les parties septentrionales de la province. Environ deux tiers des relevés faits pour l'Atlas ont confirmé que les relevés de reproduction comptaient au moins deux nids actifs.

Le modèle de la probabilité d'observation met l'accent sur les vallées et les plateaux de faible altitude dans plusieurs écoprovinces. Ces endroits seraient ceux où il serait le plus probable de trouver les Hirondelles à front blanc. Les données sur l'abondance montrent que cet oiseau est le plus commun aux altitudes de 500 à 1 250 m, ce qui correspond aux variations d'altitude dans ces régions. Les données sur les colonies montrent cependant que les terres basses des rivières Peace et Fort Nelson, dans les écoprovinces des plaines boréales et des plaines de la taïga, et la vallée des cours moyen et supérieur du Fraser, dans l'écoprovince adjacente de l'intérieur sub-boréal, sont les centres d'abondance des Hirondelles à front blanc de la province. Ces régions comprennent 10 des 13 plus grandes (de 100 à 400 nids) colonies, la plupart des colonies comportant de 20 à 100 nids. Ce résultat contraste avec les données mentionnées dans Campbell et coll. (1997). À cette époque, selon ce document, l'Hirondelle à front blanc était surtout présente dans le centre intérieur. Quelques colonies connues du centre intérieur étaient inaccessibles durant les relevés de l'Atlas, ce qui pourrait expliquer en partie cette différence. Un grand nombre des plus grandes colonies observées pour l'Atlas se trouvaient dans des structures bâties, comme les ponts routiers. Dans la colonie la plus grande (400 nids), les oiseaux nichaient sur de la machinerie ou des remorques abandonnées près d'une autoroute.

Les Hirondelles à front blanc sont des oiseaux qui vivent en milieux ouverts, comme les prairies, les canyons, les forêts à couvert très ouvert, les plages, les terres agricoles, les marécages, les marais et les étangs. Elles évitent les régions alpines et les forêts denses. L'habitat de nidification comprend généralement les parois rocheuses abruptes et diverses structures bâties, comme les immeubles, les ponts, les grands ponceaux, les ponts d'étagement ou tout autre endroit où les oiseaux peuvent fixer leurs nids de boue, en forme de gourde, et former des colonies. La disponibilité des lieux de nidification appropriés et la proximité d'habitats propices à l'alimentation sont probablement les principaux facteurs qui limitent le développement de l'Hirondelle à front blanc.

Conservation et recommandations Les données du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs indiquent une forte tendance à la baisse en Colombie-Britannique et dans le reste du Canada, en particulier au cours des 20 à 25 dernières années (Environnement Canada 2011). Les causes de ce déclin demeurent incertaines, les hypothèses comprenant une réduction des insectes dont se nourrit l'espèce, la présence de produits chimiques toxiques, le changement climatique et l'évolution du paysage. Il n'a pas clairement été établi que ces facteurs se rapportaient aux terrains de reproduction, aux pays d'hivernage ou simultanément aux deux endroits. Les mesures de conservation devraient mettre l'accent sur la protection de l'espèce et sur la tolérance des sites de nidification sur les structures.

Rick Howie

Citation recommandée: Howie, R. 2015. Hirondelle à front blanc dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=CLSW&lang=fr [10 avr. 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley