Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Common Merganser, Tania Simpson
Photo © Tania Simpson

Photo: Tania Simpson
Breeding evidence - Common Merganser
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Common Merganser
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Common Merganser
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Common Merganser
Mergus merganser
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 1786 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
319 170 361 127
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -1.22 (-3.16 - 0.728)Medium
Canada1970 - 2012 0.167 (-1.36 - 1.73)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.150.03 0.370.12 0.24
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.15  0.030.21 0.08
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.150.09 0.31  0.27

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.04 0.23
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.260.130.15
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.32 0.18 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.060.230.030.09

Characteristics and Range The Common Merganser, a large, fish-eating duck with a long, pointed and serrated bill, is a familiar sight on rivers, lakes and near-shore coastal waters. This widespread and largest species of merganser breeds throughout temperate forested habitats of the Northern Hemisphere (Johnsgard 2010). In North America, it breeds in boreal forest, montane forest and aspen parkland from treeline south to the Great Lakes (Pearce et al. 2015). A short-distance migrant, it winters on both fresh and salt water from its southern breeding range to northern Mexico and the mid-Atlantic coast.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Common Merganser is a widespread year-round resident in British Columbia wherever lakes or rivers don't freeze over in winter, particularly in coastal regions and the central-southern interior; it is only absent in extremely mountainous areas (Campbell et al. 1990). It occupies a wide elevation range, but most nesting is below about 750 m.

The most extensive areas of highest Probability of Observation are in the Coast and Mountains and Georgia Depression ecoprovinces, including Haida Gwaii. Atlas point count data indicate these ecoprovinces and the Southern Interior and Southern Interior Mountains ecoprovinces support the core of the provincial population, with highest abundance occurring below about 500 m elevation. Size and trends of populations in North America are not reliably known (aerial surveys of breeding birds often do not differentiate between Common and Red-breasted mergansers, and large portions of their range are not surveyed).

Large lakes and rivers bordered by conifers or mixed forests mature enough to provide suitable tree cavities are preferred nesting habitat; most records and highest abundances on Atlas point counts were in conifer-dominated biogeoclimatic zones. The Common Merganser nests in any suitable cavity in live or dead trees, as well as crevices in rock or silt cliffs.

Conservation and Recommendations Perhaps the most important factor limiting Common Merganser populations is the availability of nest cavities; logging can have a detrimental effect by removing larger trees suitable for nesting. Elevated levels of industrial contaminants have been recorded in the Common Merganser in coastal British Columbia (Elliott and Martin†1989) and can affect their health (Pearce et al. 2015).

Art Martell

Recommended citation: Martell, A. 2015. Common Merganser in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=COME&lang=en [10 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Grand Harle, Tania Simpson
Photo © Tania Simpson

Photo: Tania Simpson
Indices de nidification - Grand Harle
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Grand Harle
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Grand Harle
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Grand Harle
Mergus merganser

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 1786 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
319 170 361 127
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -1.22 (-3.16 - 0.728)Medium
Canada1970 - 2012 0.167 (-1.36 - 1.73)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.150.03 0.370.12 0.24
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.15  0.030.21 0.08
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.150.09 0.31  0.27

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.04 0.23
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.260.130.15
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.32 0.18 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.060.230.030.09

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le Grand Harle, un grand canard piscivore doté d'un long bec pointu et dentelé, est une présence familière sur les eaux des rivières, des lacs et des côtes. Cette espèce répandue de harle, la plus importante en nombre, niche dans les habitats boisés tempérés de tout l'hémisphère nord (Johnsgard 2010). En Amérique du Nord, il se reproduit dans la forêt boréale, les forêts montagnardes et les espaces verts peuplés de trembles, de la limite des arbres au sud des Grands Lacs (Pearce et coll. 2015). Migrateur de courte distance, il hiverne, tant en eau douce qu'en eau salée, du sud de son aire de reproduction au nord du Mexique et à la côte médio-atlantique.

Répartition, abondance et habitat Le Grand Harle vit toute l'année en Colombie-Britannique là où les lacs et les rivières ne gèlent pas durant l'hiver, particulièrement les régions côtières et au centre et au sud de l'intérieur. Il est cependant absent des régions très montagneuses (Campbell et coll. 1990). Il se retrouve à diverses altitudes, mais il niche surtout à moins de 750 m environ.

Les plus grandes régions offrant la probabilité d'observation la plus élevée sont l'écoprovince des côtes et des montagnes et celle de la dépression de Géorgie, y compris l'archipel Haida Gwaii. Les données des dénombrements ponctuels pour l'Atlas montrent que ces écoprovinces - de même que celle du sud intérieur et celle des montagnes du sud de l'intérieur - comptent l'essentiel de la population provinciale, et l'abondance la plus élevée se trouve aux altitudes inférieures à 500 m environ. La taille de la population en Amérique du Nord et les tendances qui y sont associées sont mal connues (les relevés aériens des oiseaux nicheurs ne font pas souvent la différence entre les Grands Harles et les harles huppés, et de grandes parties de leur répartition ne sont pas l'objet de relevés).

Les rivières et les lacs de bonne dimension bordés de forêts de conifères ou de forêts mixtes suffisamment matures pour que les arbres présentent des cavités appropriées sont l'habitat de nidification préféré de l'espèce. Selon les dénombrements ponctuels effectués pour l'Atlas, la plupart des observations et l'abondance la plus élevée se trouvent dans les zones biogéoclimatiques peuplées surtout de conifères. Le Grand Harle niche dans les cavités appropriées dans les arbres morts ou vivants ainsi que dans les fissures rocheuses ou les falaises de limon.

Conservation et recommandations Le manque de cavités de nidification est sans doute le facteur le plus important qui limite les populations du Grand Harle; sur ce plan, les exploitations forestières peuvent avoir un effet nocif, car elles éliminent les grands arbres qui conviennent à la nidification. Des niveaux élevés de contaminants industriels ont été signalés dans les populations côtières du Grand Harle en Colombie-Britannique (Elliott et Martin 1989), et il se peut que ces contaminants nuisent à la santé de l'espèce (Pearce et coll. 2015).

Art Martell

Citation recommandée: Martell, A. 2015. Grand Harle dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=COME&lang=fr [03 juin 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley