Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Common Nighthawk, Christopher Di Corrado
Photo © Christopher Di Corrado

Photo: Christopher Di Corrado
Breeding evidence - Common Nighthawk
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Common Nighthawk
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Common Nighthawk
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Common Nighthawk
Chordeiles minor
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
1 - 1397 m
Conserv. status:
COSEWIC: Threatened
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
59 152 383 47
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -2.68 (-4.16 - -1.14)Medium
Canada1973 - 2012 -3.58 (-5.33 - -2.1)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.080.02 0.060.08 0.06
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.08  0.020.02  
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.080.08 0.06  0.15

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.020.10.01
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.11 0.08
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.06 0.12 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.05 0.070.06

Characteristics and Range The Common Nighthawk is the most widespread nightjar in North America, with its breeding range extending across the continent from the Boreal Forest south to Central America (Brigham et al. 2011). It winters in the lowlands of central South America. It is a crepuscular aerial insectivore that forages by pursuing insects on the wing, sometimes in large flocks, across a wide variety of habitats, including wetlands, forests, and even well-lit streets (Brigham et al. 2011, Brigham and Fenton 1991). It is one of the latest spring migrants to British Columbia, often arriving in early June. Males perform aerial displays with shallow dives that create a "boom" sound as air rushes through their primaries (Campbell et al. 1990).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Common Nighthawk is a breeding visitor across most of British Columbia, absent only from the outer central coast, Haida Gwaii, and alpine areas. Most Atlas detections are concentrated within the southern half of the province, along the east side of Vancouver Island and southwest mainland coast, and in southern interior valleys. Fewer records came from the central and northern portions of the province, with the exception of the Peace River valley, which supports a dense cluster. This distribution is largely unchanged since the late 1980s (Campbell et al. 1990).

The most extensive, high Probability of Observation values are in the valley systems of the Southern Interior, Central Interior and Southern Interior Mountains ecoprovinces, where highest abundances were also recorded on the small sample of point counts. Campbell et al. (1990) noted its centre of abundance to cover this portion of the province, plus Vancouver Island. During the Atlas, the likelihood of finding the species was lower in the Georgia Depression and Boreal Plains ecoprovinces despite these areas supporting dense clusters of records. Across the southern interior, the highest Pobs and abundance values overlap with Interior Douglas-fir, Ponderosa Pine and Bunchgrass biogeoclimatic zones, principally between 400 and 1000 m elevation.

Common Nighthawks require open areas for nesting habitat, which may include grasslands, rock outcrops, burns, recently logged areas, gravel roads, and coastal sand dunes (Brigham et al. 2011, COSEWIC 2007). Gravel roof tops in urban areas were formerly used as nesting sites, however, availability of this habitat has declined rapidly as housing practices have changed and the species is now absent from many urban areas (Brigham et al. 2011).

Conservation and Recommendations Formally common across much of British Columbia (Campbell et al. 2006) and Canada, the Common Nighthawk is listed as Threatened in Canada under the Species at Risk Act, due to declines of up to 80% on the Breeding Bird Survey between 1968 and 2005 (COSEWIC 2007). The Breeding Bird Survey, however, provides only moderately reliable population indices because of the temporal mismatch between survey period and display period, and the lack of coverage across more remote areas (Rich et al. 2004). Monitoring programs tailored to this species and Common Poorwill have recently been established to better assess status and distribution (Noble and Knight 2015). Additional work is still required to investigate potential causes of the declines, particularly to determine the roles that pesticides or habitat destruction may have (Brigham et al. 2011, COSEWIC 2007).

Mike Boyd

Recommended citation: Boyd, M. 2015. Common Nighthawk in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=CONI&lang=en [16 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Engoulevent d'Amérique, Christopher Di Corrado
Photo © Christopher Di Corrado

Photo: Christopher Di Corrado
Indices de nidification - Engoulevent d'Amérique
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Engoulevent d'Amérique
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Engoulevent d'Amérique
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Engoulevent d'Amérique
Chordeiles minor

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
1 - 1397 m
Statut de conserv.:
COSEWIC: Threatened
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
59 152 383 47
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -2.68 (-4.16 - -1.14)Medium
Canada1973 - 2012 -3.58 (-5.33 - -2.1)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.080.02 0.060.08 0.06
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.08  0.020.02  
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.080.08 0.06  0.15

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.020.10.01
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.11 0.08
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.06 0.12 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.05 0.070.06

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition L'engoulevent d'Amérique est l'engoulevent le plus répandu en Amérique du Nord, puisque son étendue de reproduction s'étend partout au continent de la forêt boréale vers le sud en Amérique centrale (Brigham et coll. 2011). Il hiverne dans les basses terres de l'Amérique du Sud centrale. Il est un insectivore crépusculaire qui s'alimente en chassant des insectes en vol, parfois en grandes volées dans une grande variété d'habitats, comme les basses terres, les forêts et même les rues bien illuminées (Brigham et coll. 2011, Brigham et Fenton 1991). Il est l'un des migrateurs de printemps les plus récents en Colombie-Britannique, arrivant souvent tôt en juin. Les mâles effectuent des ballets aériens à piqués légers qui créent un « bang » sonore lorsque l'air passe à travers ses plumes primaires (Campbell et coll. 1990).

Répartition, abondance et habitat L'Engoulevent d'Amérique est un visiteur reproducteur dans presque tout l'ensemble de la Colombie-Britannique, n'étant absent que sur la côte centrale extérieure, les îles Haida Gwaii et les régions alpines. La plupart des détections de l'Atlas sont concentrées dans la moitié sud de la province, le long de la côte est de l'île de Vancouver et la côte sud-ouest de la partie continentale, et dans les vallées intérieures du sud. Moins d'enregistrements ont été faits dans les parties centrales et septentrionales de la province, à l'exception de la vallée de la rivière de la Paix, qui soutient une grappe dense. Cette répartition demeure sensiblement inchangée depuis la fin des années 1980 (Campbell et coll. 1990).

On retrouve les plus grandes valeurs de probabilité d'observation dans les vallées des écoprovinces Intérieur sud, Intérieur centre et Montagnes intérieures du sud, où les plus fortes abondances ont également été enregistrées dans le petit échantillon de dénombrements par point. Campbell et coll. (1990) ont noté que son centre d'abondance recouvrait cette partie de la province, en plus de l'île de Vancouver. Au cours de la période de l'Atlas, la probabilité de trouver l'espèce était plus faible dans les écoprovinces Dépression de Georgia et Plaines boréales, malgré le fait que ces régions comportent des groupes d'enregistrements denses. Dans tout l'Intérieur sud, les valeurs de Pobs et d'abondance les plus élevées coïncident avec les zones biogéoclimatiques du Douglas taxifolié de l'intérieur, du pin ponderosa et de la prairie, principalement à des altitudes de 400 à 1000 m.

L'Engoulevent d'Amérique a besoin d'aires ouvertes pour son habitat de nidification, lesquelles peuvent inclure des prairies, des affleurements rocheux, des brûlis, des zones récemment coupées, des routes de gravier et des dunes de sable côtières (Brigham et coll. 2011, COSEWIC 2007). L'espèce utilisait autrefois des toits de gravier dans les zones urbaines comme site de nidification; toutefois, la disponibilité de ce type d'habitat a rapidement diminué avec le changement des pratiques de construction résidentielle et l'espèce est maintenant absente dans de nombreuses régions urbaines (Brigham et coll. 2011).

Conservation et recommandations Officiellement commun dans la majorité de la Colombie-Britannique (Campbell et coll. 2006) et du Canada, l'engoulement d'Amérique est considéré comme menacé au Canada en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril en raison d'un déclin de jusqu'à 80 % dans le Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs entre 1968 et 2005 (COSEPAC 2007). Le Relevé sur les oiseaux nicheurs, toutefois, fournit seulement des index de population modérément fiables en raison du décalage temporel entre la période de l'étude et la période de l'affichage des données et le manque de portée dans les régions plus éloignées (Rich et coll. 2004). Les programmes de surveillance pour cette espèce et l'engoulevent de Nuttall ont récemment été créés afin de mieux évaluer le statut et la répartition (Noble et Knight 2015). De plus grands travaux sont encore nécessaires afin d'enquêter les causes potentielles des déclins, particulièrement afin de déterminer les rôles que pourraient avoir les pesticides ou la destruction d'habitats (Brigham et coll. 2011, COSEPAC 2007).

Mike Boyd

Citation recommandée: Boyd, M. 2015. Engoulevent d'Amérique dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=CONI&lang=fr [23 janv. 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley