Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Greater Scaup, Laure Wilson Neish
Photo © Laure Wilson Neish

Photo: Laure Wilson Neish
Breeding evidence - Greater Scaup
Breeding evidence

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Greater Scaup
Aythya marila

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 1455 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
0 4 2 5
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Canada1980 - 2012 4.76 (-17.4 - 34.1)Low

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.08      
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.08      
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
       

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
   0.08

Characteristics and Range The Greater Scaup has a Holarctic distribution, with most breeding in North America confined to high latitudes in Alaska and northern Canada. It is well known as an abundant winter visitor to coastal British Columbia, and a common migrant and locally common winter visitor in the interior. Breeding has not been confirmed in this province, but there is tantalizing evidence that it might breed in the far northwest. Confusion with the Lesser Scaup, which is far more common in North America (including in British Columbia), has reduced the reliability of population data and trends, and even breeding records of the Greater Scaup (Kessel et al. 2002, Barclay 2012).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat Sightings of Greater Scaup during the breeding season are scattered across the province, but breeding has not been confirmed to date (Campbell et al. 1990, Kessel et al. 2002, British Columbia Conservation Data Centre 2014). Evidence of likely breeding from Atlas data is confined to the Northern Boreal Mountains Ecoprovince in the far northwest, where probable breeding (pairs in suitable habitat or displaying) was reported in four locations in the Atlin to Dease Lake region. Other records of possible breeding in these regions are less convincing and merely involved birds in suitable habitat.

If this species does breed in British Columbia it seems certain that the breeding population is small, likely under 50 pairs. The North American populations of both scaup species (they are censused together, but most are Lesser Scaup) generally show long term declines (1970-2005) but some increases since 2005 (Barclay 2012, Canadian Wildlife Service Waterfowl Committee 2013).

Greater Scaup typically nest in tundra-like, largely treeless vegetation, in grassy edges of relatively shallow (1-2 m) lakes and ponds or sheltered bays of larger lakes (Kessel et al. 2002). In British Columbia such habitat is most likely to be found in alpine areas in the Northwestern Interior Forest Bird Conservation Region.

Conservation and Recommendations The species is not thought to be a conservation concern in British Columbia. Barclay (2012) cites major declines in North America as a reason to consider reviewing its conservation status. High female mortality is a significant reason for declining populations, and other likely factors at estuarine wintering grounds include pollution, human disturbance, and declining food (Kessel et al. 2002, Barclay 2012).

It would be exciting to add this species as a confirmed breeder in the province, and birders, biologists and naturalists visiting the northwest corner of British Columbia are encouraged to search for evidence of breeding by Greater Scaup.

Alan E. Burger

Recommended citation: Burger, A.E. 2015. Greater Scaup in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=GRSC&lang=en [10 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Fuligule milouinan, Laure Wilson Neish
Photo © Laure Wilson Neish

Photo: Laure Wilson Neish
Indices de nidification - Fuligule milouinan
Indices de nidification

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Fuligule milouinan
Aythya marila

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 1455 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
0 4 2 5
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Canada1980 - 2012 4.76 (-17.4 - 34.1)Low

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.08      
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.08      
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
       

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
   0.08

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le Fuligule milouinan est une espèce holarctique dont la reproduction en Amérique du Nord se limite en majeure partie aux hautes latitudes en Alaska et dans le nord du Canada. Il est bien connu comme visiteur hivernal abondant sur la côte de la Colombie-Britannique, et comme oiseau migrateur commun et visiteur hivernal localement commun dans l'intérieur de la province. On n'a pas confirmé qu'il se reproduit dans la province, mais il existe des preuves séduisantes qui permettent de penser qu'il pourrait se reproduire dans l'extrême nord-ouest. Comme on le confond avec le Petit Fuligule, qui est bien plus commun en Amérique du Nord (y compris en Colombie-Britannique), la fiabilité des données et des tendances de population s'en est trouvée réduite, de même que celle des mentions de nidification du Fuligule milouinan (Kessel et coll. 2002, Barclay 2012).

Répartition, abondance et habitat Pendant la saison de reproduction, les observations de Fuligule milouinan sont éparpillées dans toute la province, mais la reproduction n'a pas été confirmée à ce jour (Campbell et coll. 1990, Kessel et coll. 2002, ministère de l'Environnement de la Colombie-Britannique 2014). La preuve d'une reproduction probable à partir des données de l'Atlas se limitait à l'écoprovince Montagnes boréales du nord dans l'extrême nord-ouest, où l'on a signalé une reproduction probable (couples dans des habitats propices ou faisant des parades) à quatre endroits dans la région d'Atlin au lac Dease. D'autres relevés de reproduction éventuelle dans ces régions étaient moins convaincants et signalaient seulement la présence d'oiseaux dans un habitat propice.

Si cette espèce se reproduit effectivement en Colombie-Britannique, il semble certain que la population nicheuse est faible, probablement inférieure à 50 couples. Les populations nord-américaines des deux espèces de Fuligule (elles sont recensées ensemble, mais la plupart sont de petits Fuligule) indiquent généralement des déclins à long terme (1970-2005), mais quelques augmentations depuis 2005 (Barclay 2012, Comité sur la sauvagine du Service canadien de la faune 2013).

Le Fuligule milouinan niche habituellement dans une végétation de type toundra, en grande partie sans arbres, au bord herbeux de lacs ou d'étangs relativement peu profonds (1 à 2 m) ou dans les baies abritées de grands lacs (Kessel et coll. 2002). En Colombie-Britannique, on trouve le plus probablement ce type d'habitat dans des régions alpines dans la région de conservation des oiseaux de la forêt intérieure du nord-ouest.

Conservation et recommandations On ne pense pas que cette espèce soit une préoccupation en matière de conservation en Colombie-Britannique. Barclay (2012) cite d'importantes baisses en Amérique du Nord comme une raison d'envisager une révision de son état de conservation. Une forte mortalité des femelles est une raison importante de la diminution des populations, et d'autres facteurs probables sur les terrains d'hivernage estuariens comprennent la pollution, les perturbations par l'homme et la diminution de nourriture (Kessel et coll. 2002, Barclay 2012).

Il serait passionnant d'ajouter cette espèce comme nicheur confirmé en Colombie-Britannique et les ornithologues amateurs, les biologistes et les naturalistes qui visitent le coin nord-ouest de la province sont encouragés à chercher des preuves de nidification du Fuligule milouinan.

Alan E. Burger

Citation recommandée: Burger, A.E. 2015. Fuligule milouinan dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=GRSC&lang=fr [07 août 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley