Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Glaucous-winged Gull, Ian Routley
Photo © Ian Routley

Photo: Ian Routley
Breeding evidence - Glaucous-winged Gull
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Glaucous-winged Gull
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Glaucous-winged Gull
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Glaucous-winged Gull
Larus glaucescens
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 887 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
5
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
87 15 110 108
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 0.736 (-2.61 - 3.86)Medium
Canada1970 - 2012 0.736 (-2.61 - 3.86)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
      0.43
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
    0.55  
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
      0.18

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
   0.68
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.23  
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Characteristics and Range The Glaucous-winged Gull is a large white-headed gull endemic to the northwestern coast of North America. As year-round residents, they are widespread and common from the Bering Sea to the Columbia River in northern Oregon; some winter as far south as Baja California. Adults have a white head, neck, breast, and tail with a uniform light grey mantle and wingtips. This gull is a familiar sight in many coastal cities and towns along the northeast Pacific Coast. Glaucous-winged Gulls hybridize with Western, Herring, and to the north of British Columbia, Glaucous Gulls (L. hyperboreus) (Williamson et al. 1963, Merilees 1974, Bell 1996). Resulting hybrids have quite a variable appearance and can be challenging to identify.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat Glaucous-winged Gulls are widespread breeders along the entire coast of British Columbia. Breeding Glaucous-winged Gulls are generally absent from the interior, except for one location in the Southern Interior Ecoprovince, where a few pairs of Glaucous-winged Gulls have nested annually on Grant Island (Whiskey Island) in Okanagan Lake since at least 2003 (Cecile 2015). Compared with information published in The Birds of British Columbia in 1990, no major shifts in distribution are apparent from the Atlas.

This gull breeds singly, and in small and large colonies on offshore islands. The Probability of Observation model closely matches the distribution, indicating that rocky coastlines with numerous islets and mainland inlets are the most important breeding areas. Approximately 75 colonies were reported during the Atlas with 11 of those colonies having more than 30 active nests. The two largest colonies are in the Strait of Georgia: Mandarte Island had 1,892 nests in 2009, and Mitlenatch Island had 1,152 nests in 2010 (Blight 2014); the third largest colony is on the north coast, on Dundas Island, where about 400 nests were counted in 2010. Some island colonies used by Glaucous-winged Gulls are remote and difficult to access, especially on the central coast and around Haida Gwaii, therefore not all known colonies were surveyed during the Atlas.

Glaucous-winged Gulls typically choose natural sites to nest, but in some areas including southeastern Vancouver Island and the Fraser River delta, they have begun nesting on breakwaters, and on the roofs of waterfront buildings. Generally an inshore water species, Glaucous-winged Gulls can be found in nearly every habitat type in coastal British Columbia, from pelagic offshore waters to beaches and rocky coastlines, mudflats, estuaries, and the deltas of rivers and streams.

Conservation and Recommendations Based on a review of historical breeding data, numbers of nesting Glaucous-winged Gulls in the southern Strait of Georgia peaked during the 1980s and have been declining steadily since then (Blight et al. 2015). Winter survey data from several monitoring programs in the Salish Sea also indicate ongoing, long-term declines (Crewe et al. 2012, Anderson et al. 2009, Bower 2009). Studies have documented a significant decline in egg size and clutch size for Glaucous-winged Gulls, which may reflect changes in the availability of high quality marine prey (Blight 2011). The decreases may also be linked to greater disturbance and predation by increasing numbers of Bald Eagles, habitat impacts, or other factors. Many Glaucous-winged Gull breeding colonies in British Columbia are within protected areas (e.g., Mitlenatch Island Ecological Reserve).

Acknowledgements Louise Blight generously provided colony data, additional reference material, and reviewed a draft of this account.

Karen L. Barry

Recommended citation: Barry, K.L. 2015. Glaucous-winged Gull in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=GWGU&lang=en [16 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Goéland à ailes grises, Ian Routley
Photo © Ian Routley

Photo: Ian Routley
Indices de nidification - Goéland à ailes grises
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Goéland à ailes grises
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Goéland à ailes grises
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Goéland à ailes grises
Larus glaucescens

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 887 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
5
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
87 15 110 108
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 0.736 (-2.61 - 3.86)Medium
Canada1970 - 2012 0.736 (-2.61 - 3.86)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
      0.43
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
    0.55  
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
      0.18

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
   0.68
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.23  
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le Goéland à ailes grises est un grand goéland à tête blanche endémique dans le littoral nord-ouest de l'Amérique du Nord. Il s'agit d'un résident à l'année, et il est répandu et courant depuis la mer de Béring jusqu'au fleuve Columbia dans le nord de l'Oregon; certains hivernent au sud jusqu'à la Basse-Californie. Chez les adultes, la tête, la gorge, la poitrine et la queue sont blanches, et le corps et le bout des ailes sont d'un gris pâle et uniforme. Ces goélands font partie du paysage dans de nombreuses villes côtières le long du littoral nord-est du Pacifique. Le Goéland à ailes grises s'hybride avec le Goéland d'Audubon et le Goéland argenté, mais aussi avec le Goéland bourgmestre (L. hyperboreus) dans le nord de la Colombie-Britannique (Williamson et coll. 1963, Merilees 1974, Bell 1996). Les hybrides ainsi créés ont une apparence assez variable et peuvent être difficiles à identifier.

Répartition, abondance et habitat Le Goéland à ailes grises est un oiseau nicheur répandu tout le long du littoral de la Colombie-Britannique. Le Goéland à ailes grises en nidification ne se trouve généralement pas dans la région intérieure, sauf à un endroit dans l'écoprovince de l'Intérieur sud, sur l'île Grant (île Whiskey) dans le lac Okanagan, où quelques couples de Goélands à ailes grises nichent chaque année au moins depuis 2003 (Cecile 2015). Par rapport aux renseignements publiés dans The Birds of British Columbia en 1990, l'Atlas ne révèle aucun changement majeur dans la répartition de l'espèce.

Cette espèce de goéland niche seule et en petites ou en grandes colonies sur des îles situées au large. Le modèle de probabilité d'observation correspond bien à sa répartition, ce qui indique que les littoraux rocheux avec ses nombreux îlots et pointes sont les aires de nidification les plus importantes. Approximativement 75 colonies ont été recensées pendant l'Atlas, dont 11 étaient composées de plus de 30 nids actifs. Les deux colonies les plus importantes se situent dans le détroit de Géorgie : l'île Mandarte comptait 1 892 nids en 2009 et l'île Mitlenatch comptait 1 152 nids en 2010 (Blight 2014); la troisième colonie d'importance est située dans le nord du littoral, sur l'île Dundas, où 400 nids ont été dénombrés en 2010. Certaines colonies insulaires occupées par les Goélands à ailes grises sont isolées et difficiles d'accès, particulièrement celles situées au centre du littoral et à proximité de l'archipel Haidai Gwaii; ainsi, ce ne sont pas toutes les colonies qui ont été recensées pendant les travaux de l'Atlas.

Le Goéland à ailes grises choisit habituellement des sites naturels pour nicher, mais dans certaines régions comme dans le sud-est de l'île de Vancouver et dans le delta du Fraser, il a commencé à nicher sur des brise-lames et sur le toit des bâtiments en bord de mer. Le Goéland à ailes grises, une espèce vivant habituellement dans les eaux côtières, se retrouve dans presque tous les types de milieux du littoral de la Colombie-Britannique, tant dans les eaux pélagiques que sur les plages, dans les littoraux rocheux, dans les vasières, les estuaires et les deltas de rivières et de ruisseaux.

Conservation et recommandations D'après un examen des données de nidification antérieures, le nombre de Goélands à ailes grises nichant au sud du détroit de Géorgie a atteint son point culminant durant les années 1980 et connaît une baisse constante depuis (Blight et coll. 2015). Les données du relevé d'hiver provenant de plusieurs programmes de surveillance dans la mer des Salish indiquent également des baisses continues à long terme (Crewe et coll. 2012, Anderson et coll. 2009, Bower 2009). Les études ont révélé qu'il y avait une diminution importante de la taille des oeufs et de la grosseur des nichées chez les Goélands à ailes grises, ce qui pourrait indiquer un changement dans la disponibilité des proies marines de qualité (Blight 2011). Cette baisse pourrait également être liée à une augmentation des perturbations et de la prédation créée par l'augmentation du nombre de Pygargues à tête blanche, aux effets sur l'habitat ou à d'autres facteurs. De nombreuses colonies de nidification de Goélands à ailes grises en Colombie-Britannique se trouvent dans des aires protégées (p. ex., la Réserve écologique de l'île Mitlenatch).

Remerciements Mme Louise Blight a généreusement fourni des données sur les colonies, des documents de référence supplémentaires et a examiné l'ébauche de la présente description.

Karen L. Barry

Citation recommandée: Barry, K.L. 2015. Goéland à ailes grises dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=GWGU&lang=fr [28 mai 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley