Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
House Finch, Chris Charlesworth
Photo © Chris Charlesworth

Photo: Chris Charlesworth
Breeding evidence - House Finch
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - House Finch
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - House Finch
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

House Finch
Haemorhous mexicanus
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 1369 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
7
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
190 75 160 205
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 2.28 (0.553 - 3.9)High
Canada1973 - 2012 2.47 (0.829 - 4.07)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
   0.260.16 0.4
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
    0.43 0.06
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.180.11 0.26  0.06

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
  0.250.44
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.37 0.19
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.26  0.07
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.26  0.07

Characteristics and Range Originally a bird of the southwestern deserts and dry woodlands, this familiar finch has adapted well to the farms and gardens that have replaced forests across the continent. During the 20th Century it greatly increased its range in North America. In the east, range expansion was triggered by the release of a few individuals in New York City in 1939 (Badyaev et al. 2012). In British Columbia, this species arrived as a result of natural range expansion during the 1930s, and it has overwintered here since 1955 (Campbell et al. 2001). It is now a year-round resident across most of North America south of the Boreal Forest.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The House Finch is restricted to southern British Columbia, where it is concentrated in and around urban areas and clustered adjacent to human habitations elsewhere. Comparison of the Atlas with The Birds of British Columbia suggests that the overall range of this species has not expanded since the late 1990s, although its local range around some settlements does appear to have increased, most notably in the Southern Rocky Mountain Trench.

This finch is most readily seen, and most abundant, in the Georgia Depression Ecoprovince: Campbell et al. (2001) reported that the highest numbers of this bird occur here, and this was confirmed by the Atlas. This species is also common in the Okanagan Valley and in the southern Shuswap area. In both coastal and interior locations, it is most abundant at relatively low elevations, and abundance declines abruptly with increasing elevation above 500 m. Point count data suggest that House Finch is most common in the Coastal Douglas-fir and Coastal Western Hemlock biogeoclimatic zones near the coast, followed by the Bunchgrass, Interior Douglas-fir and Ponderosa Pine zones in the interior. However, the distribution and abundance of House Finch in these areas is likely very uneven and strongly controlled by the pattern of human settlement.

Preferred breeding habitat is closely linked to human landscapes, as noted above. In cities, residential areas with trees and shrubs are preferred, including parks, golf courses, gardens, cemeteries, nearby agricultural areas and, in dry areas, in irrigated orchards and vineyards. Campbell et al. (2001) reported that most nests recorded were in evergreen trees and shrubs, while the proportion of nests supported by houses, barns, or other structures was relatively low (11%), although such nests are probably over-represented in the record because they are easier to find.

Conservation and Recommendations The provincial status is "secure"; Breeding Bird Survey results suggest an increasing population trend. However, the House Finch is susceptible to epidemics of 'eye disease' (mycoplasmal conjunctivitis) caused by the bacterium Mycoplasma gallisepticum, which reached British Columbia in 2004 (Badyaev et al. 2012). This species is also relatively susceptible to avian pox. Both diseases are contagious amongst members of a flock and could result in substantial population decline. Feeders and water containers should be cleaned regularly to reduce transmission.

J. M. Ryder

Recommended citation: Ryder, J.M. 2015. House Finch in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=HOFI&lang=en [16 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Roselin familier, Chris Charlesworth
Photo © Chris Charlesworth

Photo: Chris Charlesworth
Indices de nidification - Roselin familier
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Roselin familier
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Roselin familier
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Roselin familier
Haemorhous mexicanus

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 1369 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
7
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
190 75 160 205
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 2.28 (0.553 - 3.9)High
Canada1973 - 2012 2.47 (0.829 - 4.07)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
   0.260.16 0.4
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
    0.43 0.06
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.180.11 0.26  0.06

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
  0.250.44
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.37 0.19
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.26  0.07
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.26  0.07

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Un oiseau originaire des déserts et des régions boisées sèche du sud-ouest, le roselin familier s'est bien adapté aux fermes et aux jardins qui ont remplacé les forêts sur tout le continent. Au cours du 20e siècle, il a beaucoup agrandi son territoire en Amérique du Nord. Dans l'est, l'agrandissement de son territoire a été déclenché par la mise en liberté de quelques individus à New York en 1939 (Badyaev et coll. 2012). En Colombie-Britannique, cette espèce est arrivée comme le résultat de l'agrandissement naturel de son territoire au cours des années 1930 et il hiverne ici depuis 1955 (Campbell et coll. 2001). Il est maintenant un résident permanent dans la majorité de l'Amérique du Nord au sud de la forêt boréale.

Répartition, abondance et habitat Le Roselin familier n'est observé que dans le sud de la Colombie-Britannique, se concentrant dans les zones urbaines et autour de ces dernières et se regroupant à côté d'habitations humaines ailleurs. Une comparaison entre l'Atlas et The Birds of British Columbia laisse à penser que l'aire globale de cette espèce ne s'est pas élargie depuis la fin des années 1990, bien que son aire locale autour de certains établissements semble bien avoir augmenté et plus particulièrement dans le sillon des Rocheuses du sud.

Ce roselin est plus facilement observé et le plus abondant dans l'écoprovince Dépression de Georgia : Campbell et coll. (2001) ont indiqué que c'est à cet endroit que l'on retrouve le plus grand nombre de cet oiseau et cela a été confirmé par l'Atlas. Cette espèce est aussi commune dans la vallée de l'Okanagan et dans la région sud de Shuswap. Dans les régions côtières et intérieures, il est le plus abondant à des altitudes relativement faibles et son abondance diminue brusquement lorsque l'altitude augmente au-delà de 500 m. Les données des dénombrements par point donnent à penser que le Roselin familier est le plus commun dans les zones biogéoclimatiques du douglas taxifolié et de la pruche de l'Ouest de la région côtière, puis dans les zones de la prairie, du douglas taxifolié de l'intérieur et du pin ponderosa dans l'intérieur. Toutefois, la distribution et l'abondance du Roselin familier dans ces régions sont probablement très inégales et fortement influencées par le mode de vie des établissements humains.

L'habitat de reproduction privilégié est étroitement lié aux paysages humains, comme indiqué ci-dessus. Dans les villes, il privilégie les zones résidentielles plantées d'arbres et d'arbustes, notamment les parcs, les terrains de golf, les jardins, les cimetières, les zones agricoles voisines et, dans des régions sèches, les vergers et vignobles irrigués. Campbell et coll. (2001) ont indiqué que la plupart des nids observés se trouvaient dans des arbres et arbustes à feuillage persistant, tandis que la proportion des nids construits sur des maisons, des granges ou d'autres structures était relativement faible (11 %), bien que de tels nids soient probablement surreprésentés dans les relevés parce qu'ils sont plus faciles à trouver.

Conservation et recommandations Le statut provincial est « sécure » et les données du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs sous-entendent une tendance de population à la hausse. Toutefois, le roselin familier est sensible aux épidémies de maladies des yeux, comme la conjonctivite mycoplasmique causée par la bactérie Mycoplasma gallisepticum, qui ont atteint la Colombie-Britannqiue en 2004 (Badyaev et coll. 2012). Cette espèce est aussi relativement sensible à la variole aviaire. Les deux maladies sont contagieuses au sein des membres d'une volée et pourraient causer un déclin de la population considérable. Les mangeoires à oiseaux et les abreuvoirs devraient être nettoyés régulièrement afin de réduire les chances de transmission.

J. M. Ryder

Citation recommandée: Ryder, J.M. 2015. Roselin familier dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=HOFI&lang=fr [02 avr. 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley