Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
House Sparrow, Glen Bodie
Photo © Glen Bodie

Photo: Glen Bodie
Breeding evidence - House Sparrow
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - House Sparrow
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - House Sparrow
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

House Sparrow
Passer domesticus
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 901 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
N/A
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
188 45 123 132
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -0.423 (-2.68 - 1.22)Medium
Canada1970 - 2012 -3.87 (-4.46 - -3.11)High

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
 0.19 0.260.13 0.7
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
   0.190.72 0.12
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.150.3 0.26  0.22

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.190.180.88
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.52 0.17
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.33   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.33  0.1

Characteristics and Range This old-world sparrow is one of the most familiar urban birds. The House Sparrow was introduced to North America around 1850 but is now resident in populated areas throughout the continent, south of the Boreal Forest (Lowther and Cink 2006). Native and resident across northern Eurasia south to northern Africa and south-east Asia, its adaptability and preference for human habitats have given this species a nearly worldwide distribution.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The House Sparrow likely arrived in British Columbia in the 1890s (Campbell et al. 2001) and is now an increasingly widespread resident in settlement and farmland areas across southern British Columbia, distributed more locally in the interior, and absent only from northwestern British Columbia and Haida Gwaii. Generally, Atlas surveys show the distribution to be similar to that reported in The Birds of British Columbia but expand the confirmed breeding range northward in the Coast and Mountains Ecoprovince (northern Vancouver Island and northern mainland coast).

The highest Probabilities of Observation and abundance are at low elevations in the Georgia Depression Ecoprovince, as noted by Campbell et al. (2001). Secondary high Pobs and abundance values occur in the Okanagan, Thompson and Fraser valley floors in the Southern Interior and locally in the Boreal Plains ecoprovinces; however, abundance in these areas is less than half that found in the Georgia Depression.

The House Sparrow is a cavity nester and is strongly associated with human-modified environments and microhabitats.

Conservation and Recommendations Populations of the House Sparrow in British Columbia are relatively stable (Environment Canada 2014) but in Canada have undergone a significant decline since 1970 (Environment Canada 2011); the declines are worldwide, and are likely related to changes in farming practices and transportation (Lowther and Cink 2006). In British Columbia, the House Sparrow is an invasive species which breeds early and often outcompetes native cavity nesters by usurping potential nest cavities and establishing nests prior to the native birds' arrival. It is difficult to discourage but the best strategies are, where possible, to restrict the entrance size in nest boxes to permit use by native species but exclude the House Sparrow, or to place nest boxes intended for other species >100 m distance from preferred House Sparrow habitat such as farmsteads.

Art Martell

Recommended citation: Martell, A. 2015. House Sparrow in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=HOSP&lang=en [10 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Moineau domestique, Glen Bodie
Photo © Glen Bodie

Photo: Glen Bodie
Indices de nidification - Moineau domestique
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Moineau domestique
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Moineau domestique
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Moineau domestique
Passer domesticus

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 901 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
N/A
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
188 45 123 132
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -0.423 (-2.68 - 1.22)Medium
Canada1970 - 2012 -3.87 (-4.46 - -3.11)High

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
 0.19 0.260.13 0.7
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
   0.190.72 0.12
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.150.3 0.26  0.22

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.190.180.88
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.52 0.17
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.33   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.33  0.1

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Ce passereau de l'ancien monde est l'un des oiseaux urbains les plus familiers. Le Moineau domestique, introduit en Amérique du Nord vers 1850, est maintenant un résident permanent des zones fortement peuplées du continent, au sud de la forêt boréale (Lowther et Cink 2006). Natif et résident de l'Eurasie (présent du nord de l'Europe au sud-est de l'Asie et à l'Afrique du Nord), son adaptabilité et sa préférence pour les habitats humains lui ont permis de se répandre presque dans le monde entier.

Répartition, abondance et habitat Le Moineau domestique est probablement arrivé en Colombie-Britannique dans les années 1890 (Campbell et coll. 2001). Il est maintenant un résident de plus en plus répandu dans les régions peuplées et agricoles du sud de la Colombie-Britannique. Sa distribution est plus locale à l'intérieur de la province, et les seules régions où il est absent sont le nord-ouest de la province et l'archipel Haida Gwaii. Les relevés de l'Atlas ont généralement montré une distribution similaire à celle indiquée dans The Birds of British Columbia, mais présentent une expansion de l'aire de reproduction vers le nord dans l'écoprovince des côtes et des montagnes (au nord de l'île de Vancouver et au nord de la côte continentale).

Les probabilités d'observation les plus élevées et l'abondance se situent à de faibles altitudes dans l'écoprovince de la dépression de Géorgie, comme il est mentionné dans Campbell et coll. (2001). Au deuxième rang des taux de probabilité d'observation et d'abondance, on trouve le fond des vallées de l'Okanagan, du Thompson et du Fraser, dans l'écoprovince du sud intérieur et, localement, l'écoprovince des plaines boréales. Toutefois, dans ces régions, l'espèce est moitié moins abondante que dans la dépression de Géorgie.

Le Moineau domestique est un oiseau qui niche dans les cavités et qui est fortement lié aux milieux modifiés par l'homme et aux microhabitats.

Conservation et recommandations Les populations de Moineau domestique en Colombie-Britannique sont relativement stables (Environnement Canada 2014), mais elles ont connu un déclin considérable au Canada depuis 1970 (Environnement Canada 2011). Ces baisses sont généralisées sur la planète et sont probablement attribuables aux changements dans les pratiques agricoles et dans le transport (Lowther et Cink 2006). En Colombie-Britannique, le Moineau domestique est une espèce envahissante qui se reproduit tôt et qui expulse souvent les espèces indigènes qui nichent dans des cavités en usurpant les cavités possibles et en y aménageant leur nid avant l'arrivée des oiseaux indigènes. Il s'agit là d'une habitude difficile à décourager, mais les meilleures stratégies consistent, dans la mesure du possible, à restreindre la taille de l'entrée dans les nichoirs de manière à permettre leur utilisation par les espèces indigènes tout en excluant le Moineau domestique, ou à placer des nichoirs destinés à d'autres espèces à plus de 100 mètres de l'habitat préféré du Moineau domestique, comme les fermes.

Art Martell

Citation recommandée: Martell, A. 2015. Moineau domestique dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=HOSP&lang=fr [02 juin 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley