Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Le Conte's Sparrow, Christian Artuso
Photo © Christian Artuso

Photo: Christian Artuso
Breeding evidence - Le Conte's Sparrow
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Le Conte's Sparrow
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Le Conte's Sparrow
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Le Conte's Sparrow
Ammodramus leconteii
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
340 - 868 m
Conserv. status:
BCRISC: Blue
Global importance
of B.C. population:
7
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
4 22 72 38
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Canada1970 - 2012 -1.58 (-3.19 - 0.086)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
 0.05     
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
 0.08 0.04   
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
       

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.05  
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Characteristics and Range Its mouse-like behaviour and thin, insect-like song combine to make the Le Conte's Sparrow an easily overlooked species. When luck and patience combine to allow a detailed view of this elusive sparrow, it's relatively colourful plumage comes as a surprise. The Le Conte's Sparrow breeds mainly in northern prairie and central boreal grasslands, reaching the western limit of its range in northeastern British Columbia. It is also found in small, widely separated pockets farther to the east of this main range, and winters primarily in the United States Southern Coastal Plains, centred on the lower Mississippi Valley and Gulf Coast (Lowther 2005).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat Within British Columbia, the Le Conte's Sparrow is found almost exclusively in the northeast, with a few isolated records from the upper Fraser, Thompson and Columbia valleys in the Southern Rocky Mountain Trench. This is consistent with the range described when The Birds of British Columbia was published in 2001, although the Atlas has filled gaps within this range. Due to its secretive habits, the Le Conte's Sparrow may have been overlooked in some squares where it was present. However, the general distribution pattern presented in the Atlas is likely accurate.

The Probability of Observation for Le Conte's Sparrow is highest in the eastern Taiga Plains Ecoprovince. Point count data indicate that local abundance is higher here than in the Boreal Plains Ecoprovince. This area of higher local abundance in far northeastern British Columbia expands on Campbell et al. (2001), who considered it to be most numerous in the Boreal Plains Ecoprovince based on data available at the time. During the Atlas surveys, most Le Conte's Sparrows were found between 350 and 850 m elevation, with highest abundance recorded below 500 m.

The Le Conte's Sparrow is most often found near sedge meadows and similar open, damp habitats. Occasionally it may be found in upland sites such as hayfields, and it is known to respond quite dramatically to local conditions, being much more common in wetter years when it uses sites typically avoided under normal conditions (Phinney 1998, Lowther 2005).

Conservation and Recommendations Atlas work indicates the Le Conte's Sparrow is more widespread and abundant than was previously believed, and in 2015 its conservation status was re-assessed by the British Columbia Conservation Data Centre, and the species was moved from the British Columbia Blue List (Vulnerable) to the Yellow List (not at risk). Long-term Breeding Bird Survey results suggest a slight population decline for Canada and for the Boreal and Taiga Plains Bird Conservation Region. Large wetlands on public land are generally protected from industrial development by regulation, but habitat on private land can be susceptible to wetland draining, mowing, and higher levels of grazing.

Mark Phinney

Recommended citation: Phinney, M. 2015. Le Conte's Sparrow in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=LCSP&lang=en [11 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Bruant de Le Conte, Christian Artuso
Photo © Christian Artuso

Photo: Christian Artuso
Indices de nidification - Bruant de Le Conte
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Bruant de Le Conte
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Bruant de Le Conte
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Bruant de Le Conte
Ammodramus leconteii

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
340 - 868 m
Statut de conserv.:
BCRISC: Blue
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
7
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
4 22 72 38
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Canada1970 - 2012 -1.58 (-3.19 - 0.086)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
 0.05     
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
 0.08 0.04   
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
       

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.05  
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Son caractère ressemblant à celui d'une souris et son chant rappelant les stridulations d'un insecte sont combinés afin de faire du bruant de Le Conte une espèce facile à manquer. Lorsque la chance et la patience sont combinées afin de permettre d'apercevoir une vue détaillée de ce bruant discret, son plumage relativement coloré est très surprenant. Le bruant de Le Conte se reproduit principalement dans les prairies nordiques et boréales centrales, atteignant l'extrémité ouest de leur aire de reproduction dans le nord-est de la Colombie-Britannique. On le retrouve aussi en petites populations très isolées plus loin à l'est de son étendue principal et il hiverne principalement dans les plaines côtières du sud des États-Unis, centré dans la vallée inférieure du Mississippi et la côte du golfe du Mexique (Lowther 2005).

Répartition, abondance et habitat En Colombie-Britannique, le Bruant de Le Conte se trouve presque exclusivement dans le nord-est, avec quelques relevés isolés effectués dans le cours supérieur du Fraser et dans les vallées Thompson et Columbia dans le sillon des Rocheuses. Ces données sont cohérentes avec l'aire décrite dans l'ouvrage The Birds of British Columbia publié en 2001, bien que l'Atlas a comblé des lacunes dans cette gamme. En raison de sa nature secrète, il est possible que le Bruant de Le Conte soit passé inaperçu dans certains carrés où il était présent. Toutefois, la tendance de répartition générale présentée dans l'Atlas est probablement exacte.

La probabilité d'observation du Bruant de Le Conte est plus élevée dans l'écoprovince Plaines de la Taïga. Les données de dénombrement ponctuel confirment que l'abondance locale est plus élevée ici que dans l'écoprovince Plaines boréales. Cette région d'abondance locale plus élevée dans l'extrême nord-est de la Colombie-Britannique est élargie dans Campbell et coll. (2001), qui estimaient, selon les données disponibles à l'époque, que l'espèce se trouvait en plus grand nombre dans l'écoprovince Plaines boréales. Au cours des relevés de l'Atlas, la plupart des bruants ont été observés à des altitudes situées entre 350 et 850 m, et la plus forte abondance a été enregistrée sous 500 m.

Le Bruant de Le Conte se trouve le plus souvent près de cariçaies et d'habitats humides et ouverts similaires. On le trouve occasionnellement dans des sites de hautes terres tels que des prairies de fauche, et on sait qu'il réagit de façon assez dramatique aux conditions locales, étant beaucoup plus commun durant les années « humides » lorsqu'il utilise des sites qu'il évite généralement dans des conditions normales (Phinney 1998, Lowther 2005).

Conservation et recommandations Le travail de l'Atlas indique le Bruant de Le Conte est plus répandue et abondante qu'on ne le croyait auparavant, et en 2015 son état de conservation a été réévalué par le British Columbia Conservation Data Centre, et l'espèce a été déplacé de la liste bleu de la Colombie-Britannique (vulnérable) à la liste jaune (non à risque). Les données à long terme du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs sous-entendent un petit déclin au Canada pour cet oiseau dans les régions de conservation des oiseaux des plaines boréales et de la taïga. Les grandes terres humides des terres publiques sont généralement protégées contre les développements industriels par des règlements, mais les habitats se trouvant sur les terrains privés peuvent être vulnérables au drainage, à la tonte et à de plus grands niveaux de pâturage.

Mark Phinney

Citation recommandée: Phinney, M. 2015. Bruant de Le Conte dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=LCSP&lang=fr [12 août 2022]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley