Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Least Sandpiper, Cameron Eckhert
Photo © Cameron Eckhert

Photo: Cameron Eckhert
Breeding evidence - Least Sandpiper
Breeding evidence

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Least Sandpiper
Calidris minutilla

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
691 - 1794 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
7
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
7 10 13 10
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Canada1996 - 2012 -1.58 (-13.7 - 21.1)Low

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.22      
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.22      
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
       

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
0.07   
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
 0.28  

Characteristics and Range The Least Sandpiper has the broadest and southernmost breeding distribution of all the Nearctic Calidris sandpipers (Nebel and Cooper 2008). It mainly nests across northern North America in the subarctic and northern boreal and in coastal and dune systems at the southern extreme of its range on the Pacific and Atlantic coasts (Nebel and Cooper 2008). British Columbian birdwatchers may not immediately think of it as a nesting species in the province; it is encountered by most observers in the province at stopover sites on its long-distance migration from the arctic and subarctic to southern North, Central and South America. Migrants are usually loosely associated with their more numerous congener, the Western Sandpiper (C. mauri).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The principal breeding range of the Least Sandpiper in British Columbia is alpine tundra in the Northwestern Boreal Mountains Ecoprovince, from the far north-western tundra and sedge-shrub meadows of the Chilkat Pass to the Spatzizi Plateau, and an isolated part of Graham Island, Haida Gwaii. Atlas expeditions confirmed breeding further south than noted when The Birds of British Columbia was published in 1990, reaching the southernmost extent of its western breeding range in the Central Interior Ecoprovince, where it is likely a localized breeder. The easternmost and highest elevation records (up to 1,630 m) were from the Omineca Mountains. The westernmost and lowest elevation (down to 900 m) records came from the Chilkat Pass area.

There were insufficient data to model the Probability of Observation. Atlas survey effort was limited in alpine tundra and high elevation wet meadows in central and northern British Columbia. Extensive, suitable habitat potentially exists across this range, and therefore it could be more widespread than the scattered spread of Atlas records indicates. Atlas records of Least Sandpiper came from shrub upland, alpine tundra and wet meadow habitats. The small, disjunct nesting population on the north shores of Graham Island, Haida Gwaii nests near sea level in damp open areas between Delkatla and Skonun Point.

Conservation and Recommendations Prior to tidal restoration to Delkatla Wildlife Sanctuary, Haida Gwaii, in 1995, the area was home to one of the larger southerly nesting populations in North America with over 100 nesting pairs (Nebel and Cooper 2008). Since tidal inundation however, numbers have undergone a sharp decline. Conservation of remaining suitable habitat on Graham Island, Haida Gwaii is important to protect this population. Climate change projections for British Columbia suggest a substantial decrease in alpine habitats favoured by Least Sandpiper over the next century (Hamann and Wang 2006); long-term changes throughout the breeding and wintering grounds may place this and other arctic shorebirds under considerable pressure, which could negate any short-term benefit of possible increases in both survival and productivity under a milder climate (Meltofte et al. 2007). Further surveys at appropriate elevations in British Columbia's shrub upland and tundra habitats would improve knowledge of the Least Sandpiper's provincial range.

Acknowledgements Margo Hearne and Peter Hamel provided valuable information on the population on Haida Gwaii.

Christopher Di Corrado

Recommended citation: Di Corrado, C. 2015. Least Sandpiper in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=LESA&lang=en [13 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Bécasseau minuscule, Cameron Eckhert
Photo © Cameron Eckhert

Photo: Cameron Eckhert
Indices de nidification - Bécasseau minuscule
Indices de nidification

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Bécasseau minuscule
Calidris minutilla

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
691 - 1794 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
7
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
7 10 13 10
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Canada1996 - 2012 -1.58 (-13.7 - 21.1)Low

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.22      
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.22      
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
       

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
0.07   
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
 0.28  

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le bécasseau minuscule possède la répartition de reproduction la plus large et la plus au sud de tous les bécasseaux Calidris néarctiques (Nebel et Cooper 2008). Ses sites de nidifications se retrouvent principalement à travers le nord de l'Amérique du Nord dans les systèmes subarctiques, boréaux nordiques, côtiers et dunaires des côtes Pacifique et Atlantique à l'extrémité sud de son étendue (Nebel et Cooper 2008). Il se peut que les observateurs d'oiseaux de la Colombie-Britannique ne songent pas immédiatement à cet oiseau comme l'une des espèces d'oiseaux nicheurs de la province puisqu'on le retrouve à des sites d'arrêt de vol lors de sa migration de longue distance des régions arctiques et subarctiques vers le sud de l'Amérique du Nord, l'Amérique du Sud et l'Amérique Centrale. Les migrateurs sont normalement vaguement associés à son congénère plus nombreux, le bécasseau d'Alaska (C. mauri).

Répartition, abondance et habitat L'aire de reproduction principale du Bécasseau minuscule en Colombie-Britannique comprend la toundra alpine dans l'écoprovince Montagnes boréales du nord-ouest, depuis la toundra de l'extrême nord-ouest et les prairies parsemées de cypéracées et d'arbrisseaux du col Chilkat jusqu'au plateau de Spatzizi, et une partie isolée de l'île Graham de l'archipel Haida Gwaii. Les expéditions de l'Atlas ont permis de confirmer sa reproduction plus au sud que ce qui avait été indiqué dans The Birds of British Columbia publié en 1990, atteignant le point le plus au sud de son aire de reproduction ouest dans l'écoprovince Intérieur centre, où il est probablement un oiseau nicheur localisé. Les relevés les plus à l'est et aux plus hautes altitudes (jusqu'à 1 630 m) ont été effectués dans les montagnes Omineca. Les relevés les plus à l'ouest et aux plus basses altitudes (jusqu'à 900 m) ont été effectués dans la région du col Chilkat.

Il n'y avait pas assez de données pour élaborer un modèle des probabilités d'observation. Les efforts de relevé de l'Atlas ont été limités dans la toundra alpine et dans les prairies humides de haute altitude dans le centre et le nord de la Colombie-Britannique. Un habitat vaste et convenable pourrait exister dans cette aire, et par conséquent, l'espèce pourrait être plus répandue que ce qu'indique la répartition éparse des relevés de l'Atlas. Les relevés de l'Atlas du Bécasseau minuscule ont été effectués dans les habitats de hautes terres d'arbustes, de la toundra alpine et des prairies humides. La petite population nicheuse isolée sur les rives nord de l'île Graham, de Haida Gwaii niche près du niveau de la mer dans des zones humides ouvertes situées entre Delkatla et la pointe Skonun.

Conservation et recommandations Avant la restauration des marées au refuge faunique de Delkatla de l'archipel Haida Gwaii en 1995, la région abritait l'une des plus grandes populations d'oiseaux nicheurs en Amérique du Nord, comptant plus de 100 paires de reproducteurs (Nebel et Cooper 2008). Toutefois, depuis l'inondation par les marées, ce nombre est tombé en pente aiguë. La conservation des habitats convenables restants sur l'île Graham de l'archipel Haida Gwaii, il est impératif de protéger cette population. Les projections concernant les changements climatiques pour la Colombie-Britannique sous-entendent une perte importante des habitats alpins favorisés par le bécasseau minuscule au cours du siècle à venir (Hamann et Wang 2006). Les changements à long terme dans l'ensemble des sites de reproduction et d'hivernage pourraient exercer de grandes pressions sur cet oiseau et d'autres espèces d'oiseau de rivage arctiques, ce qui pourrait annuler tous les effets bénéfiques à court terme de l'augmentation possible de la survie et de la reproduction dans un climat plus doux (Meltofte et coll. 2007). Des études plus approfondies à des altitudes appropriées dans les habitats des terres hautes arbustières et de la toundra de la Colombie-Britannique amélioreraient les connaissances du territoire provincial du bécasseau minuscule.

Remerciements Margot Hearne et Peter Hamel ont fourni des renseignements précieux concernant les populations de l'archipel Haida Gwaii.

Christopher Di Corrado

Citation recommandée: Di Corrado, C. 2015. Bécasseau minuscule dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=LESA&lang=fr [10 avr. 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley