Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Lincoln's Sparrow, Laure Wilson Neish
Photo © Laure Wilson Neish

Photo: Laure Wilson Neish
Breeding evidence - Lincoln's Sparrow
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Lincoln's Sparrow
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Lincoln's Sparrow
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Lincoln's Sparrow
Melospiza lincolnii
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 1945 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
289 368 1033 935
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -0.659 (-2.85 - 1.27)Low
Canada1973 - 2012 -0.237 (-1.41 - 0.801)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.230.35 0.130.21 0.17
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.230.29 0.37  0.23
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.110.25 0.12  0.17

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
0.410.310.07 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
0.070.180.130.13
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.14 0.110.18
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.150.310.220.25

Characteristics and Range This small sparrow, an attractive but typically hard-to-see bird of the undergrowth, is distinguished by fine black streaks on its buffy upper breast and a conspicuous buffy "moustache". Usually described as elusive or secretive, a skulker, its loud, distinctive song announces its presence during the breeding season. Its breeding range extends from Pacific to Atlantic coasts, roughly coincident with the Boreal Forest and, in the west, continues south along the Rocky Mountains and Sierra Nevada. Its winter range includes a narrow coastal strip extending from southwestern British Columbia to Baja, much of the southwestern United States, and Mexico.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Lincoln's Sparrow breeds throughout most of interior British Columbia, with records concentrated in the northeast (the Peace River and Fort Nelson River lowlands) and the north-central interior (Nechako Plateau). It is sparsely distributed in some coastal areas, but absent as a breeder from most of Vancouver Island and the Georgia Depression Ecoprovince.

Point count data and the Probability of Observation model confirm that this species is most abundant and most easily found in forests of the Boreal and Taiga Plains ecoprovinces. There is a secondary area of abundance in the Central Interior Ecoprovince, and generally high but locally variable abundance and PObs in the Sub-Boreal Interior and Northern Boreal Mountains ecoprovinces. This contrasts somewhat with Campbell et al. (2001) who found the highest summer numbers of Lincoln's Sparrow in northern Haida Gwaii and the Sub-Boreal Interior Ecoprovince. The Lincoln's Sparrow is also widespread in the Southern Interior Mountains and Southern Interior ecoprovinces. Comparison of Atlas results with The Birds of British Columbia suggests that, in general, the overall distribution of this species has remained more or less constant since the late 1990s. Lincoln's Sparrow breeds across a wide elevation range; it is most numerous at the relatively low elevations (250-1,000 m) that include much of the Taiga and Boreal Plains ecoprovinces.

Breeding habitat is predominantly within boreal, montane, and subalpine biogeoclimatic zones. The bird nests in moist and dense shrub thickets, especially willow (Salix) and alder (Alnus) species, Water Birch (Betula occidentalis), Lodgepole Pine (Pinus contorta), and spruce (Picea) species associated with wetlands, swamps, bogs, riparian flats, and beaver ponds with openings of sedges, moss or grass. It also nests in damp clear-cuts and on avalanche slopes. In the drier parts of the province, such as southern interior, Lincoln's Sparrow is found at elevations well above the valley floors (Cannings et al. 1987).

Conservation and Recommendations Breeding Bird Surveys suggest that Lincoln's Sparrow populations are stable, although reliability is relatively low because the data show considerable annual variation and relatively few survey routes in British Columbia report this species. Disturbance by humans (e.g., recreational activities) near nesting sites may be detrimental (Ammon 1995).

J. M. Ryder

Recommended citation: Ryder, J.M. 2015. Lincoln's Sparrow in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=LISP&lang=en [10 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Bruant de Lincoln, Laure Wilson Neish
Photo © Laure Wilson Neish

Photo: Laure Wilson Neish
Indices de nidification - Bruant de Lincoln
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Bruant de Lincoln
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Bruant de Lincoln
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Bruant de Lincoln
Melospiza lincolnii

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 1945 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
289 368 1033 935
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -0.659 (-2.85 - 1.27)Low
Canada1973 - 2012 -0.237 (-1.41 - 0.801)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.230.35 0.130.21 0.17
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.230.29 0.37  0.23
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.110.25 0.12  0.17

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
0.410.310.07 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
0.070.180.130.13
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.14 0.110.18
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.150.310.220.25

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Ce petit bruant, un oiseau attrayant, mais normalement difficile à apercevoir dans les sous-bois, se distingue par de fines stries noires sur la partie supérieure de sa poitrine et une « moustache » visible. Habituellement décrite comme fuyante, discrète ou furtive, son chant fort et distinct annonce sa présence au cours de la saison de reproduction. Son aire de reproduction s'étend d'un océan à l'autre environ au niveau de la forêt boréale et, dans l'ouest, s'étend aussi vers le sud le long des montagnes Rocheuses et de la Sierra Nevada. Il hiverne dans une bande côtière étroite s'étendant du sud-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique à la Basse-Californie ainsi que dans la majorité du sud-ouest des États-Unis et au Mexique.

Répartition, abondance et habitat Le Bruant de Lincoln niche dans la majeure partie de l'intérieur de la Colombie-Britannique, et ses relevés se concentrent dans le nord-est (les basses terres des rivières de la Paix et Fort Nelson) et dans l'intérieur nord et centre (plateau de la Nechako). L'espèce est répartie de façon éparse dans certaines régions côtières, mais elle est absente en tant qu'oiseau nicheur dans la majeure partie de l'île de Vancouver et de l'écoprovince Dépression de Georgia.

Les données des dénombrements par point et le modèle des probabilités d'observation confirment que cette espèce est la plus abondante et qu'il est le plus probable de la trouver dans les forêts des écoprovinces Plaines boréales et Plaines de la Taïga. Il y a une zone d'abondance secondaire dans l'écoprovince Intérieur centre et une abondance et des Pobs généralement élevées, mais localement variables dans les écoprovinces Intérieur subboréal et Montagnes boréales du nord. Cela contraste quelque peu avec Campbell et coll. (2001) qui ont conclu que les nombres les plus élevés du Bruant de Lincoln en Colombie-Britannique au cours de l'été se trouvaient dans le nord de l'archipel Haida Gwaii et dans l'écoprovince Intérieur subboréal. Le Bruant de Lincoln est aussi répandu dans les écoprovinces Montagnes intérieures du sud et Intérieur sud. Une comparaison des résultats de l'Atlas avec les données de l'ouvrage The Birds of British Columbia donne à penser que, en général, la répartition globale de cette espèce est restée plus ou moins constante depuis la fin des années 1990. Le Bruant de Lincoln niche dans une vaste plage d'altitudes; il est le plus abondant à des altitudes relativement basses (de 250 à 1 000 m), ce qui inclut une grande part des écoprovinces Plaines de la Taïga et Plaines boréales.

L'habitat de reproduction se trouve principalement dans les zones biogéoclimatiques boréales, alpestres et subalpines. L'oiseau niche dans des bosquets d'arbustes denses et humides (composés particulièrement de saules Salix et d'aulnes Alnus, de bouleaux fontinaux Betula occidentalis, de pins tordus latifoliés Pinus contorta, et d'épicéas Picea ) associés à des zones humides, des marécages, des tourbières, des zones plates riveraines, des étangs de castors comportant des ouvertures de carex, de mousse ou d'herbe. L'oiseau niche également dans des zones de coupe à blanc humides et dans des couloirs d'avalanche. Dans les parties les plus sèches de la province, comme l'intérieur sud, le Bruant de Lincoln est observé à des altitudes bien au-delà des fonds de vallée (Cannings et coll. 1987).

Conservation et recommandations Les données du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs sous-entendent que les populations de bruant de Lincoln sont stables, bien que ces données soient peu fiables puisque les données démontrent des variations annuelles considérables et relativement peu d'itinéraires observés en Colombie-Britannique déclarent cette espèce. Les perturbations humaines (p. ex. : les activités récréatives) près des sites de nidification peuvent nuire (Ammon 1995).

J. M. Ryder

Citation recommandée: Ryder, J.M. 2015. Bruant de Lincoln dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=LISP&lang=fr [02 juin 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley