Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Mourning Dove, Pam Laing
Photo © Pam Laing

Photo: Pam Laing
Breeding evidence - Mourning Dove
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Mourning Dove
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Mourning Dove
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Mourning Dove
Zenaida macroura
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 1230 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
36 92 203 121
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -2.67 (-3.97 - -1.5)Medium
Canada1970 - 2012 0.887 (0.294 - 1.36)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
 0.01 0.130.1 0.09
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
   0.010.09  
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.120.04 0.13  0.13

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.010.080.08
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.12 0.15
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.12   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.16 0.070.07

Characteristics and Range One of North America's most common and best-known birds, the Mourning Dove is resident across large parts of its North and Central American range, but populations at more northerly latitudes (including much of British Columbia) migrate south short distances to avoid the cold winters. Its soft, mournful song is a part of the soundscape of summers in backyards across the United States and southern Canada; it is widely recognised by authors and song-writers, and is one of the most heavily hunted of all the world's birds (Otis et al. 2008). Mourning Doves are short-lived (the average adult lifespan is just one year), but can breed several times each year, a strategy which allows the population to sustain managed hunting without detriment.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat Several local changes in distribution are apparent in the two decades since The Birds of British Columbia was published in 1990. Atlas surveys recorded no observations in coastal regions or the Coast Mountains north of central Vancouver Island where there are local clusters of historical records. There were no or very few Atlas records from the Cascade Mountains, the north Thompson drainage and the Cariboo Plateau where this dove was previously more widespread, but Atlas surveys found it more widely distributed across the Chilcotin Plateau than depicted in Campbell et al. (1990).

The Mourning Dove is most common in the Southern Interior ecoprovince, where Ponderosa Pine and Interior Douglas-fir biogeoclimatic zones support the highest abundance, between 250 and 750 m elevation. The centre of abundance when The Birds of British Columbia was published was the Okanagan Valley. Atlas Probability of Observation modelling suggests the lower Thompson and middle Fraser valley floors may also be important, and the Atlas extended the known breeding season elevation use in British Columbia from 880 m up to 1,230 m.

Mourning Doves are habitat generalists that use a variety of human-modified and natural habitats, including mature gardens in urban and suburban environments, agricultural landscapes of all types from orchards to rural rangeland, and native open woodlands with grassy understoreys and deciduous riparian groves. Local populations may be sustained year-round by regular supplementary feeding with grains, especially at cattle feedlots and also backyard feeders.

Conservation and Recommendations Mourning Dove populations are generally faring well continentally, but in British Columbia a long-term decline is apparent from Breeding Bird Survey data, which is borne out by comparing Atlas findings with The Birds of British Columbia. The Atlas network did not find Mourning Doves in several areas that have recently been colonised by the invasive Eurasian Collared-Dove. This possible link deserves further investigation, because it has been suggested that Eurasian Collared-Doves exert foraging dominance over Mourning Doves in habitats where they overlap (Poling and Hayslette 2006).

Acknowledgements Rob Butler kindly provided comments that improved this account.

Peter J. A. Davidson

Recommended citation: Davidson, P.J.A. 2015. Mourning Dove in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=MODO&lang=en [10 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Tourterelle triste, Pam Laing
Photo © Pam Laing

Photo: Pam Laing
Indices de nidification - Tourterelle triste
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Tourterelle triste
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Tourterelle triste
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Tourterelle triste
Zenaida macroura

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 1230 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
36 92 203 121
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -2.67 (-3.97 - -1.5)Medium
Canada1970 - 2012 0.887 (0.294 - 1.36)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
 0.01 0.130.1 0.09
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
   0.010.09  
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.120.04 0.13  0.13

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.010.080.08
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.12 0.15
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.12   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.16 0.070.07

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition L'un des oiseaux les plus communs et les mieux connus de l'Amérique du Nord, la tourterelle triste est un résident permanent de grandes parties de son étendue d'Amérique du Nord et Centrale, mais les populations plus nordiques, comme celles de la majorité de la Colombie-Britannique, migrent de courtes distances vers le sud afin d'éviter les hivers froids. Son chant doux et triste fait partie de la trame sonore des étés dans les cours arrière des États-Unis et du sud du Canada : on la reconnaît facilement par les auteurs et les compositeurs et elle est l'un des oiseaux les plus chassés au monde (Otis et coll. 2008). Les tourterelles tristes ont une courte espérance de vie (la durée de vie moyenne d'un adulte est seulement un an), mais elles peuvent se reproduire de nombreuses fois par année, une stratégie de reproduction qui lui permet de maintenir ses populations malgré la chasse contrôlée.

Répartition, abondance et habitat Il y a eu quelques changements locaux apparents en ce qui concerne la distribution au cours des deux décennies qui ont suivi la publication de The Birds of British Columbia en 1990. Les relevés de l'Atlas n'ont enregistré aucune observation dans les régions côtières ou dans la chaîne Côtière au nord de la partie centrale de l'île de Vancouver où il y a quelques grappes locales de relevés historiques. Il n'y a pas eu de relevés de l'Atlas, ou très peu, dans la chaîne des Cascades, dans le nord du bassin de drainage de la Thompson et sur le plateau Cariboo où la Tourterelle triste était autrefois plus répandue; cependant, les relevés de l'Atlas ont indiqué que l'espèce était plus largement répandue dans le plateau Chilcotin que ce qu'avaient noté Campbell et coll. (1990).

La Tourterelle triste est surtout observée dans l'écoprovince Intérieur sud, où les zones biogéoclimatiques du pin ponderosa et du Douglas taxifolié de l'intérieur affichent la plus forte abondance, de 250 à 750 m d'altitude. Lorsque l'ouvrage The Birds of British Columbia a été publié, le centre d'abondance se trouvait dans la vallée de l'Okanagan. Le modèle des probabilités d'observation de l'Atlas donne à penser que le cours inférieur de la Thompson et les fonds de la vallée du moyen Fraser pourraient aussi être des régions importantes. L'Atlas a par ailleurs élargi la plage d'altitudes connue utilisée par l'espèce durant la saison de reproduction en Colombie-Britannique, allant de 880 m à 1 230 m d'altitude.

La Tourterelle triste est une espèce généraliste en matière d'habitat et utilise une variété d'habitats naturels ou modifiés par l'homme, y compris des jardins matures dans des environnements urbains et suburbains, des paysages agricoles de tout genre, don't des vergers ou des parcours ruraux, et des forêts naturelles ouvertes accompagnées de sous-étages herbeux et de bosquets de feuillus riverains. Ses populations locales peuvent être maintenues toute l'année grâce à une alimentation complémentaire régulière composée de grains, provenant en particulier de parcs d'engraissement des bovins, mais également de mangeoires d'arrière-cour.

Conservation et recommandations Les populations de tourterelles tristes sont généralement en bon état à l'échelle du continent, mais, en Colombie-Britannique, les données du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs indiquent un déclin à long terme, ce que montre aussi la comparaison des observations de l'Atlas avec celles présentées dans The Birds of British Columbia. Le réseau de l'Atlas n'a pas réussi à retrouver des populations de tourterelles tristes à de nombreux sites qui ont récemment été colonisés par la tourterelle turque envahissante. Ce lien possible demande des recherches plus approfondies puisqu'il a été postulé que les tourterelles turques exercent une dominance sur la tourterelle triste dans les aires d'alimentation des régions où leurs territoires se chevauchent (Poling et Hayslette 2006).

Remerciements Rob Butler a chaleureusement fourni des commentaires qui ont amélioré cette description.

Peter J. A. Davidson

Citation recommandée: Davidson, P.J.A. 2015. Tourterelle triste dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=MODO&lang=fr [03 déc. 2022]

Birds Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Birds Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@birdscanada.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley