Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Northern Shrike, Jared Hobbs
Photo © Jared Hobbs

Photo: Jared Hobbs
Breeding evidence - Northern Shrike
Breeding evidence

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Northern Shrike
Lanius excubitor

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
68 - 1668 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
7 3 9 4
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
BBS trends are not available for this species

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.10.02     
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.10.02     
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
       

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.02  
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
 0.1  

Characteristics and Range The circumpolar Northern Shrike has a North American breeding range that spans the northern boreal and taiga from coast to coast, but it is much more often observed on its wintering range across southern Canada and the northern United States. It is an exciting winter visitor in open, low-elevation habitats in central and southern British Columbia. Birdwatchers hope to catch a sight of this tame songbird, whose Latin binomial means "butcher watchman", because it is a furtive hunter that impales its prey on convenient spines (its larder) for later consumption. Despite its predatory nature, it is a songbird, and family groups emit bizarre sounds while caring for noisy fledglings. Its melodious and erratic song can locally fill the remote mountains of northern British Columbia where few birders are lucky enough to venture.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Northern Shrike seems to reach the southern extent of its breeding range in the Northern Boreal Mountains Ecoprovince, which was the case when the The Birds of British Columbia was published in 1997. Atlas records east of the Rocky Mountains and in the upper Skeena drainage were of birds observed in potential breeding habitat: muskeg and high elevation scrub respectively. It was difficult to determine if these were late migrants or if they represent the outer limits of the breeding range. Campbell et al. (1997) noted that records have come from the Peace River lowlands in all seasons, so perhaps the Northern Shrike breeds in the muskeg habitats east of the Rocky Mountains as it does further north. It probably breeds, in low abundance, in a wider range of the Northern Boreal Mountains than illustrated by the Atlas, but due to the remote and inaccessible location of its alpine/subalpine habitat in northern British Columbia, it is rarely encountered.

Its highest abundance in British Columbia is likely in the Haines Triangle in the far northwest where there is a cluster of 10-km square records. The cluster of records here represents a previously known breeding area where alpine habitat is easily accessible and much sought after by birdwatchers. Not enough data were available to model a Probability of Observation. The easternmost and lowest elevation (450 m) records came from the Taiga Plains. The western records came from mountainous habitats as high as 1,670 m west of the northern Rocky Mountains, substantially higher than noted in Campbell et al. (1997).

The bulk of the records in northern British Columbia are situated around the Spruce-Willow-Birch and Boreal Altai Fescue Alpine biogeoclimatic zones around treeline krummholz and open meadows.

Conservation and Recommendations The Northern Shrike was not well sampled by the Atlas, nor is it well sampled by the Breeding Bird Survey because most routes lie south of the species' known breeding range in northern Canada and Alaska. Christmas Bird Counts are presently the best way to understand populations and assess status; those data indicate a possible long-term decline in winter numbers in eastern North America and no change in the central and western winter range (Cade and Atkinson 2002).

Christopher Di Corrado

Recommended citation: Di Corrado, C. 2015. Northern Shrike in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=NOSH&lang=en [13 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Pie-grièche grise, Jared Hobbs
Photo © Jared Hobbs

Photo: Jared Hobbs
Indices de nidification - Pie-grièche grise
Indices de nidification

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Pie-grièche grise
Lanius excubitor

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
68 - 1668 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
7 3 9 4
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Les tendances BBS ne sont pas disponibles pour cette espèce

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.10.02     
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.10.02     
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
       

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.02  
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
 0.1  

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition La pie-grièche grise circumpolaire possède une grande aire de reproduction qui s'étend dans la forêt boréale et la taïga d'un océan à l'autre, mais elle est le plus souvent observée dans son territoire d'hivernage à travers le sud du Canada et le nord des États-Unis. Il est un excitant visiteur d'hiver dans les habitats ouverts de faibles altitudes du centre et du sud de la Colombie-Britannique. Les observateurs d'oiseaux espèrent apercevoir cet oiseau chanteur apprivoisé, dont le nom latin veut dire « bourreau sentinelle » puisqu'il est un chasseur furtif qui empale ses proies sur des pointes bien placées (son garde-manger) afin de les manger plus tard. Malgré sa nature prédatrice, il est un oiseau chanteur et les groupes familiaux émettent des sons bizarres lorsqu'ils prennent soin de jeunes oiseaux. Son chant mélodieux et irrégulier peut emplir les montagnes éloignées du nord de la Colombie-Britannique où peu d'observateurs d'oiseaux ont la capacité de s'y aventurer.

Répartition, abondance et habitat La Pie-grièche grise semble atteindre la limite sud de son aire de répartition dans l'écoprovince Montagnes boréales du Nord, ce qui était le cas lorsque l'ouvrage The Birds of British Columbia a été publié en 1997. Les relevés de l'Atlas effectués à l'est des Rocheuses et dans le bassin de drainage du cours supérieur de la Skeena concernaient des oiseaux observés dans un habitat de reproduction potentiel : fondrières et broussailles de haute altitude respectivement. Il a été difficile de déterminer s'il s'agissait de migrants tardifs ou si ces oiseaux marquaient les limites externes de l'aire de reproduction. Campbell et coll. (1997) ont noté que les relevés provenaient des basses terres de la rivière de la Paix au cours de toutes les saisons, il est donc possible que la Pie-grièche grise niche dans des habitats de fondrières à l'est des Rocheuses comme elle le fait plus au nord. L'espèce niche probablement, en faible abondance, dans une aire plus vaste des Montagnes du nord boréales que ce qui a été illustré par l'Atlas; toutefois, en raison de l'isolement et de l'inaccessibilité des lieux de son habitat alpin et subalpin en Colombie-Britannique du Nord, on l'observe rarement.

Sa plus forte abondance en Colombie-Britannique se trouve probablement dans le triangle Haines, dans l'extrême nord-ouest, où l'on a effectué une grappe de relevés de 10 km carrés. La grappe des relevés ici représente l'aire de reproduction déjà connue où l'habitat alpin est facilement accessible et beaucoup plus recherché par les observateurs d'oiseaux. Il n'y avait pas assez de données disponibles pour modéliser une probabilité d'observation. Les relevés effectués le plus à l'est et à l'altitude la plus basse (450 m) provenaient des Plaines de la Taïga. Les relevés effectués à l'ouest provenaient d'habitats montagneux à des altitudes aussi élevées que 1 670 m, à l'ouest des Rocheuses du nord; des altitudes beaucoup plus élevées que celles notées dans Campbell et coll. (1997).

La majeure partie des relevés du nord de la Colombie-Britannique ont été effectués autour des zones biogéoclimatiques de l'épicéa, du saule et du bouleau et boréale alpine à fétuque de l'Altaï près de la limite de forêts de lutins et de prairies ouvertes.

Conservation et recommandations La pie-grièche n'a pas été bien étudiée par l'Atlas ni par le Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs puisque la majorité des itinéraires se trouvent au sud de l'aire de reproduction connue du nord du Canada et de l'Alaska. Le Recensement des oiseaux de Noël est actuellement la meilleure façon de connaître les populations et d'évaluer la situation de l'espèce; ces données indiquent la possibilité d'un déclin à long terme des effectifs hivernaux dans l'est de l'Amérique du Nord, et aucun changement dans le centre et l'ouest de l'aire d'hivernage (Cade et Atkinson 2002).

Christopher Di Corrado

Citation recommandée: Di Corrado, C. 2015. Pie-grièche grise dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=NOSH&lang=fr [07 août 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley