Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Nelson's Sparrow, Christian Artuso
Photo © Christian Artuso

Photo: Christian Artuso
Breeding evidence - Nelson's Sparrow
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Nelson's Sparrow
Probability of observation

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Nelson's Sparrow
Ammodramus nelsoni
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
346 - 847 m
Conserv. status:
BCRISC: Red
Global importance
of B.C. population:
7
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
1 5 16 3
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Canada1970 - 2012 1.31 (-3.02 - 3.78)Low

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
 0.04     
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
 0.04     
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
       

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.04  
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Characteristics and Range Unusual among North American sparrows, the Nelson's Sparrow is not territorial and does not form pair bonds (Shriver et al. 2011). This secretive but rather colourful sparrow has undergone two name changes in recent decades. Prior to 1995 it was known as the Sharp-tailed Sparrow, then Nelson's Sharp-tailed Sparrow until 2009, when it became Nelson's Sparrow (Monroe et al. 1995, Chesser et al. 2009). Three subspecies breed in three disjunct areas across North America: along the Atlantic coast and St. Lawrence River valley; along the shores of James and southern Hudson's Bays; and across the northern Great Plains and southern Boreal Forest in the continental interior, reaching the northwestern limit of its range in British Columbia. The species winters in coastal marshes of the southeastern United States.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The British Columbian breeding range of the Nelson's Sparrow is restricted to lowland areas of the Boreal Plains and Taiga Plains ecoprovinces. This represents a significant range expansion since The Birds of British Columbia was published in 2001, when there were no records from the Taiga Plains. It is probable that these new records are the result of increased survey effort, rather than a recent colonization of the area. The Nelson's Sparrow may still be under-recorded, because its breeding habitat is notoriously difficult to access, and it sings more in the evening than by day.

The modelled Probability of Observation, based on very few data, is highest in the eastern Taiga Plains, where provincial, automated recording surveys targeted the very specific, patchily-distributed wetland habitat favoured by Nelson's Sparrow. The model may therefore be extrapolating inflated PObs values in this region. The dedicated Taiga Plains surveys did, however, detect Nelson's Sparrow in every patch of suitable habitat sampled, suggesting that it could be locally numerous.

In British Columbia, the species is found almost exclusively in damp sedge (Carex) meadows, typically avoiding cattails (Typha latifolia), bulrushes (Scirpus species), similar marsh vegetation, and shrubby wetlands. Its habitat requirements appear to be more specific than those of the Le Conte's Sparrow, with which it is sometimes found. The apparent reliance on sedge-dominated meadows may be unique to northern populations. Small sedge meadows are highly susceptible to changing water levels and are only occupied when conditions are suitable; in larger meadows, birds can more easily adapt to changing conditions. Several sites where Nelson's Sparrows had been found in the past were seemingly unoccupied during the Atlas period.

Conservation and Recommendations The Nelson's Sparrow is Red-listed in British Columbia and a Species at Risk under the British Columbia Forest and Range Protection Act (British Columbia Ministry of Environment 2006). This latter designation allows Wildlife Habitat Areas to be created to protect the species' habitat. However, none has yet been established for Nelson's Sparrow. Many Atlas records came from automated recording devices set up in potential breeding habitat. Future efforts should use this technique in previously unsurveyed areas to define the actual distribution and population within the province, and ground truth the predictions of the PObs model.

Acknowledgements Melanie Wilson kindly provided data, local knowledge and interpretation from the Taiga Plains, which are incorporated into this account.

Mark Phinney

Recommended citation: Phinney, M. 2015. Nelson's Sparrow in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=NSTS&lang=en [13 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Bruant de Nelson, Christian Artuso
Photo © Christian Artuso

Photo: Christian Artuso
Indices de nidification - Bruant de Nelson
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Bruant de Nelson
Probabilité d'observation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Bruant de Nelson
Ammodramus nelsoni

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
346 - 847 m
Statut de conserv.:
BCRISC: Red
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
7
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
1 5 16 3
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Canada1970 - 2012 1.31 (-3.02 - 3.78)Low

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
 0.04     
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
 0.04     
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
       

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.04  
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Contrairement aux autres bruants de l'Amérique du Nord, le Bruant de Nelson n'est pas territorial et ne forme pas de couples (Shriver et coll. 2011). Ce bruant discret, mais plutôt coloré a connu deux changements de nom depuis les dernières décennies. Avant 1995, on le connaissait sous le nom de Bruant à queue aiguë, puis le Bruant à queue aiguë de Nelson jusqu'en 2009, où il est devenu le Bruant de Nelson (Monroe et coll. 1995, Chesser et coll. 2009). Trois sous-espèces se reproduisent dans trois régions distinctes de l'Amérique du Nord : le long de la côte de l'Atlantique et de la vallée du fleuve Saint-Laurent; le long des berges de la baie James et du sud de la baie d'Hudson et dans le nord des grandes plaines et de la forêt boréale du sud dans la zone intérieure continentale, atteignant l'extrême nord-ouest de son aire de répartition en Colombie-Britannique. L'espèce hiverne dans les marais côtiers du sud-est des États-Unis.

Répartition, abondance et habitat L'aire de reproduction de la Colombie-Britannique du Bruant de Nelson se limite aux basses terres des écoprovinces des Plaines boréales et des Plaines de la taïga, ce qui représente une expansion importante depuis la parution de The Birds of British Columbia en 2001, lequel ne contenait aucun recensement dans les Plaines de la taïga. Ces nouvelles observations sont probablement davantage le résultat d'un effort de recensement accru qu'une colonisation récente de la zone. Il est possible que le Bruant de Nelson soit encore sous-recensé, puisque son habitat de reproduction est difficile à accéder et qu'il chante davantage en soirée que durant la journée.

La probabilité d'observation modélisée, fondée sur très peu de données, est plus élevée dans les Plaines de la taïga de l'est, où des relevés provinciaux automatisés ont ciblé l'habitat humide très précis et réparti de façon très dispersée du Bruant de Nelson. Le modèle peut par conséquent extrapoler les valeurs gonflées des probabilités d'observation dans cette région. Les relevés consacrés aux Plaines de la taïga ont toutefois détecté le Bruant de Nelson dans chaque parcelle d'un échantillon d'habitat approprié, suggérant qu'il pouvait compter localement de nombreux individus.

En Colombie-Britannique, on retrouve l'espèce presque exclusivement dans les (Carex) cariçaies humides, évitant généralement les quenouilles (Typha latifolia), les scirpes (espèce Scirpus), la végétation similaire à celle des marais et les terres humides arbustives. Ses exigences en matière d'habitat semblent être plus précises que celles du Bruant de Le Conte, avec qui on le retrouve parfois. L'utilisation apparente des cariçaies peut être unique aux populations du nord. De petites cariçaies sont très susceptibles de changer les niveaux d'eau et ne sont qu'occupées que lorsque les conditions sont bonnes; dans les plus grands marécages, les oiseaux peuvent plus facilement s'adapter aux conditions changeantes. Plusieurs sites où l'on a retrouvé le Bruant de Nelson par le passé étaient apparemment inoccupés lors de la période de recensement de l'Atlas.

Conservation et recommandations Le Bruant de Nelson figure sur la liste rouge en Colombie-Britannique et est considéré comme une espèce en péril en vertu de la Forest and Range Protection Act de la Colombie-Britannique (ministère de l'Environnement de la Colombie-Britannique 2006). Bien que cette dernière désignation permette la création de zones d'habitats de la faune pour protéger l'habitat de l'espèce, aucune n'a été établie pour le Bruant de Nelson. De nombreux recensements de l'Atlas proviennent d'appareils de recensement automatisés installés dans des habitats de reproduction potentiels. Cette technique devrait être utilisée à l'avenir dans les zones qui n'ont pas fait l'objet d'une surveillance par le passé afin de définir la répartition actuelle et la population dans la province et de vérifier au sol les prévisions du modèle de probabilité des observations.

Remerciements Melanie Wilson a gentiment partagé des données, ses connaissances locales et son interprétation des Plaines de la taïga, lesquelles sont intégrées dans le présent compte rendu.

Mark Phinney

Citation recommandée: Phinney, M. 2015. Bruant de Nelson dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=NSTS&lang=fr [16 août 2022]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley