Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Pacific Loon, Len Jellicoe
Photo © Len Jellicoe

Photo: Len Jellicoe
Breeding evidence - Pacific Loon
Breeding evidence

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Pacific Loon
Gavia pacifica

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 1587 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
5 3 8 6
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Canada1990 - 2012 -1.25 (-12.1 - 8.73)Low

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.09   0.14  
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.09     0.14
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
       

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
  0.12 
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
   0.08

Characteristics and Range The Pacific Loon is morphologically very similar to the Arctic Loon (G. arctica, also known as the Black-throated Diver) of Eurasia with which it was once considered conspecific. The Pacific is the most abundant loon in North America and is strictly marine during the winter (Russell 2002). Breeding birds leave their arctic and subarctic nesting lakes to winter along the Pacific Coast as far south as Mexico's Baja Peninsula. The breeding distribution includes a large part of far northern North America, stretching from eastern Siberia to Hudson Bay's eastern coast. In breeding plumage, Pacific Loons are easily recognized by their distinctive silvery-grey head and hind neck, black throat, and vertical black-and-white stripes on the sides of the neck.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Atlas revealed only a handful of records, mostly in the Northern Boreal Mountains Ecoprovince, which closely match the range when The Birds of British Columbia was published, suggesting there has been little change in distribution since 1990. Access constraints and the remoteness of this bird's distribution may have resulted in it being under-recorded by the Atlas. An intriguing active nest record came from Squawkbird Lake at 1,550 m in the Omineca Mountains, which at approximately 55░N is one of British Columbia's southernmost breeding records. The species has probably been using this site "for years", but it is unknown if the lake, which is thought to contain no fish and only a healthy population of freshwater shrimp (Gammarus) species, is named for the territorial duets of its long-resident Pacific Loons (Vinnedge 2012). Prior to the Atlas, Burton (2006) found a pre-fledged chick on Embryo Lake, slightly south of Squawkbird Lake.

These loons tend to nest on ponds and small lakes less than 40 ha in area (Campbell et al. 1990), but some Atlas records were of birds on very large lakes. Pacific Loon distribution, and their choice of lakes, may be influenced by the presence of the larger and dominant Common Loon, which may compete for optimal breeding territories (Russell 2002). Owing to the low number of detections in British Columbia, there were insufficient data to evaluate abundance, population trends and habitat relationships.

Conservation and Recommendations Pacific Loons are not presently at risk in British Columbia or in their primary range. As with other subarctic and arctic birds, climate change may negatively impact breeding populations. On the coastal wintering grounds, these loons are susceptible to mortality from oil spills (Murphy et al. 1997), and by-catch in fishing nets (Hamel et al. 2009).

Kenneth G. Wright & Christopher Di Corrado

Recommended citation: Wright, K.G. and Di Corrado, C. 2015. Pacific Loon in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=PALO&lang=en [16 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Plongeon du Pacifique, Len Jellicoe
Photo © Len Jellicoe

Photo: Len Jellicoe
Indices de nidification - Plongeon du Pacifique
Indices de nidification

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Plongeon du Pacifique
Gavia pacifica

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 1587 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
5 3 8 6
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Canada1990 - 2012 -1.25 (-12.1 - 8.73)Low

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.09   0.14  
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.09     0.14
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
       

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
  0.12 
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
   0.08

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition La morphologie du Plongeon du Pacifique est très similaire à celle du Plongeon arctique (G. arctica, aussi connu sous le nom de Plongeon à gorge noire) de l'Eurasie que l'on a autrefois considéré comme étant son congénère. Le Plongeon du Pacifique est le plongeon le plus abondant en Amérique du Nord et une espèce strictement marine pendant l'hiver (Russell 2002). Les oiseaux nicheurs délaissent les lacs arctiques et subarctiques de nidification pour hiverner le long de la côte du Pacifique jusqu'au sud de la péninsule Baja du Mexique. L'aire de nidification comprend une grande partie de l'extrême nord de l'Amérique du Nord, s'étendant de l'est de la Sibérie jusqu'à la côte est de la baie d'Hudson. Lorsqu'il arbore son plumage nuptial, le Plongeon du Pacifique est facilement reconnaissable par sa tête distinctive d'un gris argenté et son long cou, sa gorge noire et ses lignes noires et blanches sur les côtés de son cou.

Répartition, abondance et habitat L'Atlas n'a révélé que quelques observations, majoritairement dans l'écoprovince des Montagnes boréales du nord, ce qui correspond grandement à l'aire de répartition indiquée dans The Birds of British Columbia lors de sa parution, ce qui suggère que la répartition a peu changé depuis 1990. Les difficultés d'accès et l'éloignement de l'aire de répartition de l'oiseau pourraient avoir été les causes du sous-recensement de l'Atlas. Un recensement intrigant de nids actifs a été relevé au lac Squawkbird à 1 550 m dans les montagnes Omineca qui, à près du 55° parallèle, constitue l'un des relevés de reproduction le plus au sud de la Colombie-Britannique. L'espèce a probablement utilisé ce site pendant des années, mais on ignore si le lac, que l'on croit ne contenir aucun poisson et seulement une population saine d'une espèce de crevettes d'eau douce, est cité pour les duos territoriaux de son résident de longue date, le Plongeon du Pacifique (Vinnedge 2012). Avant la publication de l'Atlas, Burton (2006) avaient trouvé un oisillon qui n'était pas encore prêt à voler sur le lac Embryo, légèrement au sud du lac Squawkbird.

Bien que ces plongeons ont tendance à nicher sur les étangs et les petits lacs de moins de 40 ha (Campbell et coll. 1990), certains oiseaux recensés par l'Atlas vivaient sur de très grands lacs. La répartition du Plongeon du Pacifique, et son choix de lacs, peut être influencée par la présence du très grand et dominant Plongeon huard, qui peut lui faire concurrence pour occuper des territoires optimaux de reproduction (Russell 2002). En raison du faible nombre d'observations en Colombie-Britannique, il n'y avait pas suffisamment de données pour évaluer l'abondance, les tendances de population et les liens entre les individus dans l'habitat.

Conservation et recommandations Le Plongeon du Pacifique n'est actuellement pas en péril en Colombie-Britannique ou dans son aire de répartition principale. À l'instar d'autres oiseaux subarctiques et arctiques, les changements climatiques peuvent avoir une incidence négative sur les populations de reproduction. Dans les aires côtières d'hivernation, les déversements pétroliers (Murphy et coll. 1997) et les filets de pêche (Hamel et coll. 2009) sont susceptibles de causer la mort de ces plongeons.

Kenneth G. Wright & Christopher Di Corrado

Citation recommandée: Wright, K.G. and Di Corrado, C. 2015. Plongeon du Pacifique dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=PALO&lang=fr [02 juin 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley