Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Prairie Falcon, Ian Routley
Photo © Ian Routley

Photo: Ian Routley
Breeding evidence - Prairie Falcon
Breeding evidence

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Prairie Falcon
Falco mexicanus

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
374 - 2592 m
Conserv. status:
BCRISC: Red
Global importance
of B.C. population:
7
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
2 1 15 0
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Canada1970 - 2012 1.48 (-2.12 - 5.16)Low

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
       
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
       
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
       

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Characteristics and Range The Prairie Falcon is a crow-sized raptor, similar in size and appearance to the Peregrine Falcon, but sandier-coloured with a narrower "moustache", and a diagnostic dark triangular patch on its underside where the wings join the body. It primarily preys on medium-sized mammals such as ground squirrels and birds such as larks. The Prairie Falcon breeds across drier regions of western North America (Steenhof 1998).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat In British Columbia, it is a rare breeder in the Southern and Central Interior ecoprovinces. If confirmed, an outlying observation by atlassers of Prairie Falcons possibly breeding near Burns Lake would extend its known breeding range considerably farther north. Prairie Falcons are sometimes observed in the Kootenays, particularly in the fall, but breeding has yet to be confirmed.

The Prairie Falcon population in British Columbia is at an all-time low. Historic reports suggest that 87 potential nest sites were known in the province, though some of these are questionable and there are no data on how many may have been active in a single year (Cooper and Beauchesne 2004). In the late 1990s and early 2000s, various surveys for Prairie Falcons were conducted resulting in estimates of 10-20 breeding pairs across its provincial range. In 2010, a provincial survey of known and historic Prairie Falcon breeding sites found only 3 occupied, all in the Cariboo (Hobbs 2010), and atlassers found no additional pairs. One of the longest and best known Prairie Falcon sites in the South Okanagan is now occupied by Peregrine Falcons.

The Prairie Falcon nests on cliffs, either within cavities or on ledges, in open, arid grassland habitats in the southern and central interior of British Columbia. Nests are located near water, usually adjacent to rivers.

Conservation and Recommendations Loss, alienation and fragmentation of foraging habitats through urbanization, changing agricultural practices, and forest encroachment are likely the major causes of the declining population in British Columbia; reduction in abundance of ground squirrels is also likely a major factor (Cooper and Beauchesne 2004). There also seems to be a connection to Peregrine Falcon. When peregrine numbers dropped during the DDT era, breeding Prairie Falcons were more common in the province; however, the recovery of the peregrine in the interior seems to have come at the expense of the Prairie Falcon, as several known sites of the latter are now occupied by peregrines. It is unknown whether the peregrine outcompetes Prairie Falcon, or simply takes over abandoned sites.

Continuing to include Prairie Falcon surveys during the standardized five-year surveys for the Peregrine Falcon is recommended, along with encouraging annual surveys of remaining known sites by biologists and naturalists. All evidence of breeding should be submitted to the British Columbia Conservation Data Centre.

Myke Chutter

Recommended citation: Chutter, M. 2015. Prairie Falcon in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=PRFA&lang=en [10 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Faucon des prairies, Ian Routley
Photo © Ian Routley

Photo: Ian Routley
Indices de nidification - Faucon des prairies
Indices de nidification

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Faucon des prairies
Falco mexicanus

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
374 - 2592 m
Statut de conserv.:
BCRISC: Red
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
7
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
2 1 15 0
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Canada1970 - 2012 1.48 (-2.12 - 5.16)Low

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
       
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
       
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
       

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le Faucon des prairies est un rapace de la taille d'une corneille et ressemble par sa taille et son apparence au Faucon pèlerin, bien qu'il soit de couleur plus sable, avec une « moustache » plus étroite et une tache triangulaire sombre révélatrice sur son poitrail, à l'endroit où les ailes s'attachent au corps. Il chasse principalement des mammifères de taille moyenne comme les écureuils terrestres (spermophiles) et des oiseaux comme des alouettes. Le Faucon des prairies niche dans l'ouest de l'Amérique du Nord, dans les biomes intermontagnards de l'ouest et des Prairies jusqu'au sud, au Mexique (Steenhof 1998).

Répartition, abondance et habitat En Colombie-Britannique, il est un nicheur rare dans les écoprovinces Intérieur sud et centre. Si elle est confirmée, une observation aberrante par des participants à l'Atlas d'une éventuelle reproduction de Faucon des prairies près de Burns Lake étendrait son aire de reproduction connue considérablement plus au nord. Les Faucons des prairies sont parfois observés dans les Kootenays, particulièrement à l'automne, mais on n'a pas encore confirmé leur reproduction.

La population de Faucons des prairies en Colombie-Britannique n'a jamais été plus faible. Des rapports antérieurs donnent à penser que l'on connaissait 87 sites de nidification éventuelle dans la province, bien que quelques-uns de ceux-ci soient douteux, et il n'y a aucune donnée sur le nombre de nids qui peut avoir été actif dans une seule année (Cooper et Beauchesne 2004). À la fin des années 1990 et au début des années 2000, divers relevés des Faucons des prairies ont été effectués et ont débouché sur des estimations de 10 à 20 couples nicheurs dans l'ensemble de son aire de répartition provinciale. En 2010, un relevé provincial des sites de reproduction connus et antérieurs de Faucons des prairies a permis de n'en découvrir que trois qui étaient occupés, tous dans la région Cariboo (Hobbs 2010) et les participants à l'Atlas n'ont pas trouvé de couple supplémentaire. Un des sites les mieux connu et depuis le plus longtemps dans le sud de l'Okanagan est à présent occupé par des Faucons pèlerins.

Le Faucon des prairies niche sur des falaises, soit dans des anfractuosités ou sur des corniches, dans des habitats de prairies arides découvertes dans le sud et le centre de l'intérieur de la Colombie-Britannique. Les nids se trouvent près d'eau, habituellement à côté de rivières.

Conservation et recommandations La perte, la cession et la fragmentation d'habitats de recherche de nourriture par l'urbanisation, la modification des pratiques agricoles et l'empiètement des forêts sont probablement les principales causes de la baisse de la population en Colombie-Britannique; la réduction de l'abondance de spermophiles est probablement aussi un facteur important (Cooper et Beauchesne 2004). Il semble également y avoir une connexion avec le Faucon pèlerin. Lorsque le nombre de Faucons pèlerins a chuté pendant l'ère du DDT, les Faucons des prairies nicheurs étaient plus communs dans la province; cependant, le rétablissement du Faucon pèlerin dans l'intérieur semble s'être fait aux dépens du Faucon des prairies, car plusieurs sites connus de ce dernier sont à présent occupés par des Faucons pèlerins. On ne sait pas si le Faucon pèlerin surclasse le Faucon des prairies sur le plan compétitif, ou s'il reprend simplement des sites abandonnés.

On recommande de continuer d'inclure des relevés de Faucons des prairies pendant les relevés normalisés quinquennaux du Faucon pèlerin, tout en encourageant des relevés annuels des sites connus restants par des biologistes et des naturalistes. Toute preuve de reproduction devrait être présentée au B.C. Conservation Data Centre.

Myke Chutter

Citation recommandée: Chutter, M. 2015. Faucon des prairies dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=PRFA&lang=fr [02 avr. 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley