Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Purple Finch, Christian Artuso
Photo © Christian Artuso

Photo: Christian Artuso
Breeding evidence - Purple Finch
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Purple Finch
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Purple Finch
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Purple Finch
Haemorhous purpureus
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 1407 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
99 125 493 301
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -1.39 (-2.88 - 0.217)Medium
Canada1970 - 2012 -1.27 (-2.0 - -0.499)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.080.07 0.090.07 0.16
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.080.03 0.070.18 0.07
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.070.08 0.07  0.1

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.06 0.25
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.110.350.12
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.08 0.05 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
 0.040.090.07

Characteristics and Range The male of this attractive finch is characterized by his melodious warbling song and raspberry-red colour. The female's pale supercilium above a dark cheek distinguishes her from the female House Finch, while the unstreaked vent separates her from the very similar Cassin's Finch. The Purple Finch's breeding range spans northern North America roughly coincident with the southern Boreal Forest and including, in the east, the boreal-hardwood transition; in the west, it extends south through the Pacific coastal forests to northern Mexico. This bird winters within the southern parts of its breeding range and across most of eastern North America (Wootton 1996).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat Purple Finch breeding records are concentrated in five ecoprovinces: Georgia Depression, Central Interior, Sub-Boreal Interior, Boreal Plains, and Taiga Plains. Comparison with The Birds of British Columbia shows that in the latter four areas, the Atlas data indicates local range extensions and increases in density of breeding records, while range contractions are evident in the southern part of the Southern Interior Mountains Ecoprovince, and on northern Vancouver Island.

Atlas abundance and Probability of Observation information shows that this species is most abundant in the Georgia Depression Ecoprovince at relatively low elevations within the Coastal Douglas-fir biogeoclimatic zone. Other areas where high Pobs values and moderate abundance coincide are: the southern Nechako and northern Fraser plateaus in the Sub-Boreal Interior and Central Interior ecoprovinces, possibly reflecting favourable modification or succession of habitat due to forestry practices; and the northern Taiga Plains (near Liard River) and southern Boreal Plains (Peace River lowlands) ecoprovinces, perhaps related to forestry and farming practices respectively. Elsewhere, the Purple Finch is sparsely distributed, and indeed is entirely absent from large parts of the Coast and Mountains Ecoprovince. In most of the southern Interior of British Columbia, it is replaced by the Cassin's Finch.

This is a bird of cool, moist, coniferous and mixed forests with brushy understory. It nests in open woodlands and in forest stands with openings or edges, such as lake and river shorelines, the margins of wetlands, and clear-cuts. It also uses human habitats (although less so than the House Finch), nesting in coniferous trees in hedgerows and farmland, along power lines and roadsides, and in well-treed residential areas.

Conservation and Recommendations Breeding Bird Surveys indicate that the Purple Finch population may be stable in British Columbia, but is undergoing a gradual long-term decline across Canada. Although not classified as threatened, the population may be vulnerable to competition from House Finch, which is blamed for a previous major decline in eastern Canada and the U.S. (Wootton 1996). Forestry practices may be of long term significance: habitat is eliminated by large clear-cuts, but may be improved by small clear-cuts and partial retention/selective logging (Lance and Phinney 2001). Conservation of mature Douglas-fir habitat in the Georgia Depression Ecoprovince will benefit the species. Atlas data contributed to the recent provincial reassessment of the species as "of possible conservation concern"; continued monitoring should aim to clarify the recent distribution changes suggested by the Atlas records.

J. M. Ryder

Recommended citation: Ryder, J.M. 2015. Purple Finch in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=PUFI&lang=en [13 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Roselin pourpré, Christian Artuso
Photo © Christian Artuso

Photo: Christian Artuso
Indices de nidification - Roselin pourpré
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Roselin pourpré
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Roselin pourpré
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Roselin pourpré
Haemorhous purpureus

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 1407 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
99 125 493 301
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -1.39 (-2.88 - 0.217)Medium
Canada1970 - 2012 -1.27 (-2.0 - -0.499)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.080.07 0.090.07 0.16
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.080.03 0.070.18 0.07
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.070.08 0.07  0.1

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.06 0.25
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.110.350.12
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.08 0.05 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
 0.040.090.07

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le mâle de ce roselin attirant se caractérise par son gazouillement mélodieux et sa couleur framboise. Le sourcil pâle de la femelle, décrivant un arc au-dessus de sa joue sombre, la distingue de la femelle du roselin familier, alors que son croupion non strié la distingue du très similaire roselin de Cassin. L'aire de reproduction du roselin pourpré couvre le nord de l'Amérique du Nord, coïncidant à peu près avec la forêt boréale et comprenant, à l'est, les forêts transitionnelles; à l'ouest, elle pousse au sud par les forêts côtières du Pacifique jusqu'au nord du Mexique. Cet oiseau hiverne dans la partie méridionale de son aire de reproduction et dans la plus grande partie de l'est de l'Amérique du Nord (Wootton 1996).

Répartition, abondance et habitat Le roselin pourpré a surtout été relevé dans les cinq écoprovinces de la dépression de Georgie, de l'intérieur central, de l'intérieur subboréal, des plaines boréales et des plaines de la taïga. Une comparaison avec The Birds of British Columbia indique que dans les quatre dernières écoprovinces, les données de l'Atlas ornithologique traduisent une expansion locale de la zone de nidification ainsi qu'une augmentation de la densité des aires relevées, tandis que la zone rétrécit dans la partie méridionale de l'écoprovince de la zone intérieure sud, ainsi que sur l'île de Vancouver.

Les données relatives à l'abondance et aux probabilités d'observation de l'Atlas indiquent que cette espèce est plus abondante dans l'écoprovince de la dépression de Georgie à une altitude relativement peu élevée de la zone biogéoclimatique côtière du douglas. De fortes probabilités d'observation et une abondance modérée ont aussi été notées dans les plateaux du sud de la rivière Nechako et du nord du fleuve Fraser des écoprovinces de l'intérieur subboréal et intérieure centrale, d'une part - c'est peut-être le reflet d'un changement favorable ou de la succession de l'habitat attribuable aux pratiques de l'industrie forestière -, et, d'autres part, dans les écoprovinces des plaines de la taïga nordique (près de la rivière River) et des plaines boréales méridionales (dans les basses terres de la rivière de la Paix), en raison peut-être des pratiques de l'industrie forestière et agricole, respectivement. Ailleurs, les populations de roselin pourpré sont disséminées, si bien qu'il est absent dans de grandes parties de l'écoprovince de la côte et des montagnes. Dans la plupart des terres du sud de la Colombie-Britannique, le roselin de Cassin le remplace.

Cet oiseau apprécie la fraîcheur et l'humidité des forêts de conifères et des forêts mixtes qui comportent des sous-bois broussailleux. Il niche dans des prairies et dans des peuplements forestiers comportant des ouvertures ou des lisières formées, par exemple, par un lac ou le rivage d'un cours d'eau, la bordure d'un milieu humide ou une clairière. Il exploite aussi l'habitat des humains (dans une proportion moindre que le roselin familier, cependant) et niche dans les conifères des haies et des terres agricoles, le long des lignes électriques et des bords de chemin, ainsi que dans les zones résidentielles bien boisées.

Conservation et recommandations Le Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs révèle que la population de roselin pourpré est peut-être stable en C.-B., mais qu'elle connaît un déclin graduel à long terme au Canada. Même si on ne la considère pas comme une espèce menacée, la population peut être vulnérable à la concurrence que lui livre le roselin familier, que l'on blâme pour le déclin majeur dans l'est du Canada et des États-Unis (Wootton 1996). Les pratiques forestières peuvent jouer un rôle à long terme, alors que les coupes à blanc sur de grandes superficies entraînent la disparition de l'habitat, mais il est possible d'améliorer la situation en procédant à des coupes à blanc de moindre envergure, ainsi qu'à la conservation partielle/coupe sélective (Lance et Phinney 2001). La conservation de l'habitat mature du douglas de Menzies dans l'écoprovince de la dépression de Georgie profitera à l'espèce. Les données de l'Atlas ont contribué à la réévaluation récente que la province a effectuée de cette espèce en la qualifiant de « possiblement préoccupante du point de vue de la conservation ». Une surveillance continue devrait avoir pour but de clarifier les récents changements qu'on suggère sur le plan de la distribution dans les documents de l'Atlas.

J. M. Ryder

Citation recommandée: Ryder, J.M. 2015. Roselin pourpré dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=PUFI&lang=fr [04 juil. 2022]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley