Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Purple Martin, Peter Candido
Photo © Peter Candido

Photo: Peter Candido
Breeding evidence - Purple Martin
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Purple Martin
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Purple Martin
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Purple Martin
Progne subis
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 211 m
Conserv. status:
BCRISC: Blue
Global importance
of B.C. population:
7
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
44 3 11 14
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 4.21 (-11.0 - 26.3)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 -1.53 (-4.79 - 1.03)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
      0.23
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
    0.23  
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
       

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
   0.26
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.06  
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Characteristics and Range This charismatic, large swallow has developed an extraordinary close association with humans in many parts of its North American breeding range. By 1900, the "eastern" subspecies P. s. subis east of the Rocky Mountains had abandoned tree cavities for artificial housing close to human habitation (Tarof and Brown 2013). The separate "western" subspecies P. s. arboricola (Behle 1968) west of the Rocky Mountains first used nest boxes in 1975, but still uses natural cavities in some parts of its range spanning southwestern British Columbia to southern California. By 1985, it was nearly extirpated from British Columbia as the coastal pilings it used for nest sites decayed and were replaced with creosote-treated pilings, but has recovered in response to provision of single nest boxes on the marine foreshore (Fraser et al. 1997, Cousens et al. 2005, Cousens and Lee 2012). Purple Martins are long-distance migrants, overwintering in the lowlands east of the Andes in South America; British Columbian breeders winter separately from the eastern birds, in southeastern Brazil (Fraser et al. 2012).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat In British Columbia, the Purple Martin's distribution is limited by breeding season length at the northern limit of its ancestral range, at low elevations in the Georgia Depression Ecoprovince (Cousens and Lee 2012, Campbell et al. 1997). Distribution within this range increased substantially during the Atlas period in response to conservation efforts, with confirmed breeding at many new locations on Vancouver Island, the Gulf Islands and the Sunshine Coast. In 2014, a total of 1,060 pairs nested at 74 marine and 6 freshwater sites, an increase of 110 pairs and 12 sites from 2013; the breeding range now extends to Barkley Sound and the Broughton Archipelago in the Coast and Mountains Ecoprovince (Western Purple Martin Foundation 2014).

Most breeding occurs over water, in nest boxes sited in clusters, usually on pilings in bays, major rivers and estuaries. These mimic formerly used natural cavities in snags close to water or in burned-over forest areas, which have declined. They returned to use piling cavities and nest boxes at inland freshwater sites in 2012-13, for the first time in 40-50 years. The clustering of multiple boxes in one location minimizes the impact of competing invasive European Starlings that may usurp one box in a cluster early in the season. Competing colonial House Sparrows require additional ongoing control effort (Cousens and Lee 2012).

Conservation and Recommendations The recovery of the western Purple Martin in British Columbia from just five known pairs in 1985 is largely due to a volunteer initiative, coordinated since 2002 by the British Columbia Purple Martin Stewardship and Recovery Program (Cousens et al. 2004). British Columbia now supports about 15% of the 12,000-15,000 breeding western Purple Martin population; the British Columbia population maintains high genetic diversity through in-migration from west coast source populations (Baker et al. 2008). In British Columbia, martins appear to be limited by natural nesting habitat availability, competition for nest sites from introduced House Sparrow and European Starlings, provision and protection of artificial nest sites, and adverse weather impacts on food availability that directly affects fledging success (Cousens and Lee 2012). Intensive use of insecticides in agricultural areas is a growing concern, because of potential indirect impacts to insects that constitute the martin's diet (Airola et al. 2015).

Acknowledgements We acknowledge the efforts of the great many volunteers and conservation groups, program sponsors and donors over the past three decades who have made recovery of the western Purple Martin in British Columbia possible, and thank them for their participation.

N. Bruce F. Cousens and Peter J.A. Davidson

Recommended citation: Cousens, N.B.F. And Davidson, P.J.A. 2015. Purple Martin in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=PUMA&lang=en [11 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Hirondelle noire, Peter Candido
Photo © Peter Candido

Photo: Peter Candido
Indices de nidification - Hirondelle noire
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Hirondelle noire
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Hirondelle noire
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Hirondelle noire
Progne subis

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 211 m
Statut de conserv.:
BCRISC: Blue
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
7
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
44 3 11 14
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 4.21 (-11.0 - 26.3)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 -1.53 (-4.79 - 1.03)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
      0.23
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
    0.23  
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
       

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
   0.26
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.06  
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Cette grande hirondelle charmante a développé une relation très proche avec les humains dans de nombreuses parties de son aire de reproduction de l'Amérique du Nord. Par 1900, la sous-espèce « de l'est » P. subi à l'est des montagnes Rocheuses avait déjà abandonné les cavités des arbres en faveur de de logements artificiels près des foyers des humains Tarof et Brown 2013). La sous-espèce distincte « de l'ouest » P. aboricola (Behle 1968) à l'ouest des montagnes Rocheuses s'est servi de nichoirs artificiels pour la première fois en 1975, mais se sert toujours de cavités naturelles dans certaines parties de son territoire qui s'étend du sud-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique au sud de la Californie. Par 1985, elle était presque entièrement disparue de la Colombie-Britannique puisque les pilotis côtiers don't elle se servait étaient décomposés et ont été remplacés par d'autres traités au créosote, mais l'espèce s'est remise après que l'on ait fourni des nichoirs sur pilotis dans la zone intertidale (Fraser et coll. 1997, Cousens et coll. 2005, Cousens et Lee 2012). Les hirondelles noires sont des migrateurs de longues distances, hivernant dans les basses terres de l'est des Andes en Amérique du Sud; la sous-espèce qui se reproduit en Colombie-Britannique hiverne séparément, dans le sud-est du Brésil (Fraser et coll. 2012).

Répartition, abondance et habitat En Colombie-Britannique, la distribution de l'Hirondelle noire est limitée en fonction de la durée de la saison de reproduction à la limite nord de son aire traditionnelle, à de basses altitudes dans l'écoprovince Dépression de Georgia (Cousens et Lee 2012, Campbell et coll. 1997). La distribution dans son aire s'est accrue de manière substantielle durant la période de l'Atlas en raison des efforts de conservation et sa reproduction a été confirmée à de nombreux endroits sur l'île de Vancouver, aux îles Gulf et de la Sunshine Coast. En 2014, un total de 1 060 couples ont niché à 74 sites marins et 6 sites d'eau douce, soit une augmentation de 110 couples et de 12 sites par rapport à 2013; l'aire de reproduction s'étend maintenant jusqu'à la baie Barkley et l'archipel Broughton dans l'écoprovince Côtes et montagnes (Western Purple Martin Foundation 2014).

La majeure partie de la reproduction a lieu au-dessus de l'eau, dans des nichoirs situés dans des grappes, généralement sur des pilotis dans des baies, de grandes rivières et des estuaires. Ces nichoirs imitent les cavités naturelles autrefois utilisées dans des chicots près de l'eau ou dans des zones de brûlis, lesquelles ont diminué. L'oiseau a de nouveau utilisé des cavités et des nichoirs sur pilotis dans des sites d'eau douce intérieurs en 2012-2013, pour la première fois depuis 40, voire 50 ans. Le regroupement de différents nichoirs dans un même lieu minimise l'impact de l'Étourneau sansonnet, une espèce devenant envahissante et lui faisant concurrence et qui peut usurper un nichoir d'une grappe tôt au cours de la saison. L'espèce coloniale rivale, le Moineau domestique, nécessite plus d'efforts de contrôle continus (Cousens et Lee 2012).

Conservation et recommandations Le rétablissement de la population d'hirondelles noires en Colombie-Britannique à compter de seulement cinq paires connues en 1985 est grandement en partie à un effort de bénévoles, coordonnées depuis 2002 par le Programme de rétablissement et d'intendance de l'hirondelle noire de la Colombie-Britannique (Cousens et coll. 2004). La Colombie-Britannique supporte maintenant environ 15 % des 12 000 à 15 000 populations reproductrices d'hirondelles noires de l'ouest et les populations de la Colombie-Britannique maintiennent leur grande diversité génétique par des immigrations provenant de populations de départ de la côte ouest (Baker et coll. 2008). En Colombie-Britannique, les hirondelles sont limitées par la disponibilité des habitats de nidification naturels, la compétition des sites de nidification avec les moineaux domestiques et les étourneaux sansonnets introduits, le fournissement et la protection de sites de nidification artificiels et les effets du climat sur la disponibilité de la nourriture, ce qui affecte directement la survie des oisillons (Cousens et Lee 2012). L'utilisation intensive d'insecticides dans les régions agricoles est une préoccupation grandissante en raison des effets indirects potentiels aux insectes représentant l'alimentation principale de l'hirondelle (Airola et coll. 2015).

Remerciements Nous désirons reconnaître les efforts du grand nombre de bénévoles, de groupes de conservation, de commanditaires de programmes et de donateurs au cours des trois dernières décennies qui ont rendu possible le rétablissement de l'hirondelle noire en Colombie-Britannique et nous les remercions de leur participation.

N. Bruce F. Cousens and Peter J.A. Davidson

Citation recommandée: Cousens, N.B.F. And Davidson, P.J.A. 2015. Hirondelle noire dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=PUMA&lang=fr [03 août 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley