Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Ring-billed Gull, John Reynolds
Photo © John Reynolds

Photo: John Reynolds
Breeding evidence - Ring-billed Gull
Breeding evidence

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Ring-billed Gull
Larus delawarensis

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
4 - 1138 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
4 2 53 35
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 0.804 (-3.78 - 5.49)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 3.3 (1.24 - 7.83)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
   0.610.12  
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
       
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.080.14 0.61   

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
   0.08
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.47   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
  0.080.27

Characteristics and Range One of the smallest of the white-headed gulls, the Ring-billed Gull breeds widely on freshwater lakes across North America from the western cordilleras east across the Boreal Forest and Prairie biomes. Between 1850 and 1920 this species was almost wiped out by a combination of direct persecution for its feathers and eggs and by loss of breeding habitat due to human settlement. However, during the 1960s and 1970s it began a population "explosion" which continues in some areas today. In western North America the Ring-billed Gull has expanded its breeding population due to the advent of agriculture, the creation of reservoirs, and the proliferation of garbage dumps (Pollet et al. 2012). The Ring-billed Gull was formerly an uncommon transient across southern British Columbia (Campbell et al. 1990), but it established itself as a breeding species in the interior in the 1960s, and is now a common gull across southern parts of the province, quick to exploit garbage and human handouts at school yards, parks, and fast food outlets, and has thus become a familiar urban bird.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The first Ring-billed Gull colony was documented in 1968 on Whiskey (Grant) Island on Okanagan Lake (Cannings et al. 1987). The second colony was discovered on Ellis Island on Fraser Lake in 1985 (Campbell et al. 1990). In 1989 a third colony appeared on Shuswap Lake's Christmas Island at Salmon Arm (Howie 2015), and colonies have been established more recently at Osoyoos in the South Okanagan and Dawson Creek in the Peace River lowlands.

Atlas results show that the Ring-billed Gull has continued to spread as a breeding species in the interior. In the Sub-Boreal Interior Ecoprovince, probable breeding was detected at Stuart Lake, but breeding was not confirmed at the nearby Fraser Lake colony, although birds were present. In the Southern Interior Ecoprovince, the Shuswap Lake colony numbers between 300 and 1,000 pairs depending upon seasonal water levels (Hilary 2015). Numbers were not counted at the Whiskey (Grant) Island colony. The Osoyoos colony numbered as many as 81 pairs in 1996, but is now estimated at only 41-50 pairs with no room for expansion due to construction at the Osoyoos sewage lagoons (Brown 2015). The Dawson Creek colony in the Boreal Plains Ecoprovince numbers no more than 6 nests, built on log booms at a city reservoir (Phinney 2015).

The Ring-billed Gull frequents human settlements with garbage dumps, beaches, grassy parks, school playgrounds and playing fields, fast food restaurants and parking lots near such establishments. It benefits from agriculture, foraging in crop fields for insects, worms, and mice. It requires small islands and isolated shores of wetlands for breeding.

Conservation and Recommendations Currently the status of the Ring-billed Gull in British Columbia is considered secure or even improving and is not of conservation concern. Breeding colonies can be hard to find; many of the 10-km squares with possible breeding likely reflect records of birds in potentially suitable habitat, but are worth follow-up visits in future years to document any continuation of the expansion.

Chris R. Siddle

Recommended citation: Siddle, C.R. 2015. Ring-billed Gull in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=RBGU&lang=en [10 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Goéland à bec cerclé, John Reynolds
Photo © John Reynolds

Photo: John Reynolds
Indices de nidification - Goéland à bec cerclé
Indices de nidification

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Goéland à bec cerclé
Larus delawarensis

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
4 - 1138 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
4 2 53 35
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 0.804 (-3.78 - 5.49)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 3.3 (1.24 - 7.83)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
   0.610.12  
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
       
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.080.14 0.61   

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
   0.08
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.47   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
  0.080.27

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le Goéland à bec cerclé, l'un des plus petits goélands à tête blanche, nidifie sur une bonne partie des lacs d'Amérique du Nord, des cordillères pacifiques à la forêt boréale et aux biomes des Prairies. Entre 1850 et 1920, cette espèce a frôlé l'extinction sous l'effet combiné des attaques directes (pour ses plumes et ses oeufs) et de la perte de son habitat de reproduction en raison de l'établissement humain. Cependant, au cours des années 1960 et 1970, sa population a connu une « explosion » qui se poursuit aujourd'hui dans certaines régions. Dans l'ouest de l'Amérique du Nord, le Goéland à bec cerclé a élargi sa population nicheuse grâce au développement de l'agriculture, à la création de réservoirs et à la prolifération des dépotoirs (Pollet et coll. 2012). Autrefois oiseau de passage peu fréquent dans le sud de la Colombie-Britannique (Campbell et coll. 1990), le Goéland à bec cerclé s'est imposé dans les années 1960 comme espèce nicheuse de l'intérieur et constitue aujourd'hui une espèce commune dans certaines parties du sud de la province, prompte à exploiter les ordures et les aumônes dans les cours d'école, les parcs et aux abords des restaurants rapides, pour devenir un oiseau urbain familier.

Répartition, abondance et habitat La première colonie de Goélands à bec cerclé a été consignée en 1968; elle avait été observée sur l'île de Grant (île Whiskey), située sur le lac Okanagan (Cannings et coll. 1987). Une deuxième colonie a été observée en 1985 sur l'île Ellis, située sur le lac Fraser (Campbell et coll. 1990). Une troisième colonie a été observée en 1989 sur l'île Christmas du lac Shuswap, à hauteur de Salmon Arm (Howie 2015). Plus récemment, des colonies se sont établies à Osoyoos, dans le sud de l'Okanagan, et à Dawson Creek, dans les basses terres de la rivière de la Paix.

Les relevés de l'Atlas ornithologique indiquent que le Goéland à bec cerclé a poursuivi son expansion vers l'arrière-pays à titre d'espèce nidificatrice. Dans l'écoprovince de l'intérieur subboréal, des aires de nidification probables ont été relevées au lac Stuart. La présence d'aires de nidification n'a pas été confirmée à la colonie voisine du lac Fraser, bien que des spécimens y aient été observés. Dans l'écoprovince de la zone intérieure sud, la colonie du lac Shuswap compte entre 300 et 1 000 couples selon le niveau d'eau saisonnier (Hilary 2015). Les spécimens n'ont pas été dénombrés dans la colonie de l'île de Grant. La colonie d'Osoyoos, qui comptait jusqu'à 81 couples en 1996, est aujourd'hui estimée à 41 à 50 couples seulement en raison du manque d'espace occasionné par la construction, aux bassins de stabilisation des eaux usées d'Osoyoos (Brown 2015). La colonie de Dawson Creek dans l'écoprovince des plaines boréales ne compte pas plus de six nids édifiés sur l'estacade d'un réservoir municipal (Phinney 2015).

Le Goéland à bec cerclé fréquente les lieux habités où l'on trouve des décharges publiques, des plages, des parcs gazonnés, des cours d'école et des terrains de jeu, des établissements de restauration rapide et les aires de stationnement voisines. Il exploite les activités agricoles, se nourrissant d'insectes, de vers et de souris dans les champs cultivés. Pour nicher, il s'installe sur de petites îles et sur les rives isolées de milieux humides.

Conservation et recommandations À l'heure actuelle, on considère l'état du Goéland à bec cerclé en Colombie-Britannique comme étant sûr ou même qu'il s'améliore, de sorte qu'il ne suscite aucune préoccupation en matière de conservation. Les colonies de nidification peuvent être difficiles à trouver. Plusieurs des 10 km carrés présentant possiblement des sites de nidification reflètent probablement les comptes rendus d'oiseaux dans des habitats possiblement convenables, mais il vaut la peine de procéder à des visites de suivi au cours des prochaines années afin de documenter toute poursuite de cette expansion.

Chris R. Siddle

Citation recommandée: Siddle, C.R. 2015. Goéland à bec cerclé dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=RBGU&lang=fr [20 oct. 2021]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley