Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Red-breasted Sapsucker, Len Jellicoe
Photo © Len Jellicoe

Photo: Len Jellicoe
Breeding evidence - Red-breasted Sapsucker
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Red-breasted Sapsucker
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Red-breasted Sapsucker
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Red-breasted Sapsucker
Sphyrapicus ruber
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 1642 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
320 95 405 380
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -0.248 (-4.05 - 1.63)Medium
Canada1973 - 2012 -0.075 (-4.07 - 1.86)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.090.01 0.120.12 0.18
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.09  0.010.17 0.12
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.170.08 0.1  0.18

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.03 0.15
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.170.070.22
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.11  0.1
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
  0.040.12

Characteristics and Range The Red-breasted Sapsucker is one of four sapsucker species, woodpeckers that regularly drill holes through bark to feed on tree sap. Sapsuckers maintain and defend extensive systems of sap wells, which other species such as the Rufous Hummingbird feed from. Three of the four sapsuckers, including the Red-breasted, are believed to have been a single species that occupied a widespread range across northern North America but became separated by the Pleistocene ice sheets, and further fragmented by geographic barriers such as the Rocky Mountains. There they evolved into separate species that have come back into contact with each other following the ice retreat. Today's distribution of the three sapsucker species is directly related to their ice age refugia. The Red-breasted Sapsucker is restricted to the Pacific biomes of western North America, where it is largely resident, making some local movements, except in interior British Columbia where the breeding population is entirely migratory (Walters et al. 2014).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat It was widely distributed through the Coast Mountains and on larger islands along the entire length of the province north to south, extending eastwards in a tongue across the Interior Plateau to the Rocky Mountain Trench. The Atlas confirmed breeding in three new areas since The Birds of British Columbia was published in 1990: the Stikine River catchment, along Williston Lake in the Northern Rocky Mountain Trench, and on the Cariboo Plateau. This likely reflects increased survey effort in these areas during the Atlas, but may also represent local range expansions.

Atlas Probability of Observation modelling highlighted three areas where the species was most likely to be found: on Haida Gwaii, in the Georgia Depression, and the northern Coast and Mountains ecoprovinces. Within these areas, it favoured Western Hemlock (Tsuga heterophylla) and Douglas-fir (Pseudotsuga menziesii) dominated forests at lower elevations. Abundance on point counts was highest in the Coastal Western Hemlock, Interior Cedar-Hemlock, Coastal Douglas-fir and Sub-boreal Spruce biogeoclimatic zones, and four times higher below 250 m than above that elevation.

The majority of nest cavities are excavated in deciduous trees of a wide diversity of species (Campbell et al. 1990). The bird is usually found near water bodies. Sap from a variety of coniferous and deciduous tree species is consumed; insects are an essential food source for young birds (Walters et al. 2014).

Conservation and Recommendations There are no major management concerns for the species, although it is prone to inconsistent short-term population fluctuations (Environment Canada 2011). Projected climate change scenarios will likely alter distribution of forest types in British Columbia (Hamann and Wang 2006, Pojar 2010). There is already evidence that the more aggressive Yellow-bellied Sapsucker outcompetes Red-breasted through aggression and asymmetric hybridization in drier forest types (Seneviratne et al. 2012). The trio of sapsuckers in British Columbia form hybrid zones that provide useful markers for predicting forest birds' responses to changes of climate and forest cover (Seneviratne et al. 2016), so it will be instructive for future ornithology to monitor the three sapsuckers accordingly.

Peter J. A. Davidson and Sampath Seneviratne

Recommended citation: Davidson, P.J.A and Seneviratne, S. 2015. Red-breasted Sapsucker in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=RBSA&lang=en [16 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Pic à poitrine rouge, Len Jellicoe
Photo © Len Jellicoe

Photo: Len Jellicoe
Indices de nidification - Pic à poitrine rouge
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Pic à poitrine rouge
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Pic à poitrine rouge
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Pic à poitrine rouge
Sphyrapicus ruber

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 1642 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
320 95 405 380
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -0.248 (-4.05 - 1.63)Medium
Canada1973 - 2012 -0.075 (-4.07 - 1.86)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.090.01 0.120.12 0.18
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.09  0.010.17 0.12
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.170.08 0.1  0.18

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.03 0.15
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.170.070.22
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.11  0.1
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
  0.040.12

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le pic à poitrine rouge est l'une des quatre espèces du genre Sphyrapicus, des pics-bois qui percent les arbres afin de se nourrir de sève. Ces pics maintiennent et défendent de grands systèmes de puits de sève que d'autres espèces, comme le colibri roux, utilisent afin de s'alimenter. On postule que trois de ces quatre espèces, y compris le pic à poitrine rouge, étaient une seule espèce très répandue dans l'ensemble de l'Amérique du Nord, mais qui a été divisée par les glaciers continentaux du pléiostène et plus fragmentée encore par des barrières géographiques comme les Rocheuses. À ce point, ils ont évolué en espèces différentes qui, après le recul des glaces, sont rentrées en contact. La distribution actuelle de ces trois espèces est directement liée à leurs refuges de l'ère glaciaire. Le pic à poitrine rouge est restreint aux biomes du Pacifique de l'ouest de l'Amérique du Nord, où il est principalement un résident permanent effectuant quelques déplacements, sauf dans l'intérieur de la Colombie-Britannique où la population reproductrice est entièrement migratrice (Walters et coll. 2014).

Répartition, abondance et habitat Le Pic à poitrine rouge était largement réparti dans la chaîne Côtière et sur de plus grandes îles sur toute la longueur de la province, du nord au sud, sa distribution s'étendant vers l'est en formant une bande dans le plateau intérieur jusqu'au sillon des Rocheuses. L'Atlas a confirmé la reproduction dans trois nouvelles régions depuis la publication en 1990 de l'ouvrage The Birds of British Columbia : le bassin versant de la rivière Stikine, le long du lac Williston dans le sillon des Rocheuses du nord, et sur le plateau Cariboo. Cela est probablement attribuable à l'accroissement des efforts de relevé dans ces régions durant la période de l'Atlas, mais pourrait également représenter des expansions locales de son aire.

Le modèle des probabilités d'observation de l'Atlas a mis en évidence trois régions où il était le plus probable d'observer l'espèce : sur l'archipel Haida Gwaii, dans la Dépression de Georgia, et dans le nord de l'écoprovince Côtes et montagnes. Dans ces régions, le Pic à poitrine rouge affichait une preférence pour les forêts dominées par des pruches de l'Ouest (Tsuga heterophylla) et des douglas verts (Pseudotsuga menziesii) à plus basse altitude. L'abondance notée lors des dénombrements par point était la plus forte dans les zones biogéoclimatiques de la pruche de l'Ouest de la région côtière, des cèdres et des pruches de l'intérieur, du douglas taxifolié de la région côtière et subboréale de l'épicéa, et était quatre fois plus élevée sous 250 m d'altitude qu'au-delà de cette altitude.

La majorité des cavités de nid sont creusées dans des feuillus d'espèces très variées (Campbell et coll. 1990). L'oiseau est généralement observé près de plans d'eau. Il se nourrit de la sève d'une variété de conifères et de feuillus; les insectes sont une source d'alimentation essentielle pour les oisillons (Walters et coll. 2014).

Conservation et recommandations Il n'existe aucune préoccupation de conservation majeure pour cette espèce, bien qu'elle soit sujette à des fluctuations à court terme irrégulières (Environnement Canada 2011). Les scénarios des projections de changements climatiques effectueront probablement des changements à la répartition des types de forêts en Colombie-Britannique (Hamann et Wang 2006, Pojar 2010). Il existe déjà des indications que le pic maculé, plus agressif, l'emporte sur le pic à poitrine rouge par l'entremise de ses comportements d'agression et d'une hybridation asymétrique dans les types de forêts plus secs (Seneviratne et coll. 2012).

Le trio de Sphyrapicus de la Colombie-Britannique forme des zones hybrides qui fournissent des repères utiles à la prévision des réponses des oiseaux aux changements climatiques et de la couverture forestière (Seneviratne et coll. 2016); il serait donc très édifiant pour les ornithologues futurs de surveiller ces trois espèces en conséquence.

Peter J. A. Davidson and Sampath Seneviratne

Citation recommandée: Davidson, P.J.A and Seneviratne, S. 2015. Pic à poitrine rouge dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=RBSA&lang=fr [24 févr. 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley