Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Rock Pigeon, Laure Wilson Neish
Photo © Laure Wilson Neish

Photo: Laure Wilson Neish
Breeding evidence - Rock Pigeon
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Rock Pigeon
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Rock Pigeon
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Rock Pigeon
Columba livia
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
1 - 1164 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
N/A
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
81 60 135 74
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -2.5 (-5.18 - -0.179)Medium
Canada1970 - 2012 0.111 (-1.38 - 1.53)High

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
 2.07 0.190.68 0.49
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
   2.070.46 1.0
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.45  0.19  1.0

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 2.070.190.69
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.39  
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.22   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.2  1.0

Characteristics and Range The Rock Pigeon was one of the first birds to be domesticated and introduced to places outside its ancestral range by humans, about 5,000 years ago. Native to parts of Europe, north Africa, the Middle East, western and southern Asia, domestic birds first entered North America in the early 17th Century, with European settlers arriving on the Atlantic Coast. It rapidly became feral and spread across most of the continent south of the Boreal Forest, closely associated with human habitation, especially towns and cities. There are few major human settlements worldwide that do not now support feral populations (Lowther and Johnston 2014).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The distribution during the Atlas remained largely unchanged from when The Birds of British Columbia was published in 1990. Most Atlas records are associated with settlements in the south. The Atlas does not record breeding farther north than the Peace River basin, 300 km farther south than noted in Campbell et al. (1990).

The Probability of Observation model highlights the lower Fraser and Thompson valleys as the areas where the species was most likely to be found. These PObs results match areas of highest abundance on point counts, suggesting that the localised centre of abundance in Vancouver noted by Campbell et al. (1990) has spread to a wider area of the lower Fraser Valley, Georgia Depression and adjacent parts of the Coast and Mountains and Southern Interior ecoprovinces. The bird's tendency to form large flocks generates high variation around average abundance values.

Rock Doves breed singly or in colonies, largely on man-made structures, in a variety of human-modified habitats, including urban centres that support few other breeding birds. Occasionally nests are found in natural habitats, including crevices on cliff faces (Campbell et al. 1990).

Conservation and Recommendations The British Columbian population of this exotic, adaptable species appears to be stable based on Breeding Bird Survey results. It is widely considered a pest, but few studies have been conducted on feral populations in North America so evidence of a negative impact on native species and the natural environment is scant; management actions have mostly involved control programs and usually prove ineffective (Lowther and Johnston 2014).

Peter J. A. Davidson

Recommended citation: Davidson, P.J.A. 2015. Rock Pigeon in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=ROPI&lang=en [10 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Pigeon biset, Laure Wilson Neish
Photo © Laure Wilson Neish

Photo: Laure Wilson Neish
Indices de nidification - Pigeon biset
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Pigeon biset
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Pigeon biset
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Pigeon biset
Columba livia

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
1 - 1164 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
N/A
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
81 60 135 74
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -2.5 (-5.18 - -0.179)Medium
Canada1970 - 2012 0.111 (-1.38 - 1.53)High

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
 2.07 0.190.68 0.49
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
   2.070.46 1.0
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.45  0.19  1.0

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 2.070.190.69
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.39  
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.22   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.2  1.0

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le pigeon biset a été l'un des premiers oiseaux à être domestiqué et introduit à des endroits hors de son territoire ancestral par les humains il y a environ 5 000 ans. Originaires de parties de l'Europe, du nord de l'Afrique, du Moyen-Orient et du sud de l'Asie, des oiseaux domestiqués sont entrés en Amérique du Nord pour la première fois au début du 17e siècle avec les colons européens débarquant sur les côtes de l'Atlantique. Il est rapidement devenu sauvage et s'est répandu dans la majorité du continent au sud de la forêt boréale, mais est demeuré associé de près aux habitats humains, surtout les villes et les villages. Il existe quelques villes au monde qui ne supportent pas actuellement de populations de pigeons actuellement (Lowther et Johnston 2014).

Répartition, abondance et habitat La distribution durant la période de l'Atlas est restée en grande partie la même que celle indiquée dans The Birds of British Columbia publié en 1990. La plupart des relevés de l'Atlas sont associés à des établissements dans le sud. L'Atlas n'a pas enregistré de reproduction plus au nord que le bassin de la rivière de la Paix, à 300 km plus au sud que ce qui avait été noté dansCampbell et coll. (1990).

Le modèle des probabilités d'observation met en évidence les vallées du bas Fraser et de la basse Thompson comme région où il est le plus probable d'observer l'espèce. Ces résultats de Pobs correspondent aux régions affichant la plus forte abondance lors des dénombrements par point, ce qui donne à penser que le centre d'abondance à Vancouver noté par Campbell et coll. (1990) s'est étendu dans une région plus vaste de la vallée du bas Fraser, de la Dépression de Georgia et de parties adjacentes des écoprovinces Côtes et montagnes et Intérieur sud. La tendance de l'oiseau à former de larges bandes donne lieu à une variation importante au niveau des valeurs moyennes de son abondance.

Le pigeon biset niche seul ou en colonie, principalement sur des structures artificielles, dans une variété d'habitats modifiés par l'homme, y compris dans des centres urbains où l'on trouve peu d'autres oiseaux nicheurs. Il arrive que l'on trouve des nids dans des habitats naturels, notamment dans les crevasses de fronts de falaises (Campbell et coll. 1990).

Conservation et recommandations La population en Colombie-Britannique de cette espèce exotique semble être stable d'après les données du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs. On le considère à beaucoup d'endroits comme un animal de compagnie, mais peu d'étude a été effectuée sur des populations sauvages en Amérique du Nord et donc des indications d'effets négatifs sur les populations indigènes et l'environnement sont faibles. Les mesures de gestion ont surtout utilisé des programmes de contrôle et ont généralement été déterminées comme étant inefficaces (Lowther et Johnston 2014).

Peter J. A. Davidson

Citation recommandée: Davidson, P.J.A. 2015. Pigeon biset dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=ROPI&lang=fr [26 janv. 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley