Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Red-throated Loon, North and South Photography
Photo © North and South Photography

Photo: North and South Photography
Breeding evidence - Red-throated Loon
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Red-throated Loon
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Red-throated Loon
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Red-throated Loon
Gavia stellata
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 1126 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
7 21 32 17
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -0.103 (-11.0 - 13.2)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 -0.103 (-11.0 - 13.2)Low

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.15     0.26
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.15      
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
      0.26

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.28  
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
   0.18
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
 0.15  

Characteristics and Range The Red-throated Loon is a bird of wild, remote places. It nests on small inland lakes and its "kwak, kwak, kwak, kwak" call as it flies overhead indicates that it has returned to its seasonal nesting site. Its sleek shape and red throat make it one of the most attractive members of the loon family. Interestingly, the Red-throated Loon doesn't feed where it nests, but either flies to the ocean or to a larger lake to feed. It breeds widely across boreal and arctic areas of North America and Eurasia; winters along the Pacific, Atlantic, and Gulf coasts of North America, and the coasts of Europe (including the Mediterranean Sea) and eastern Asia (Barr et al. 2000). It feeds close to shore in winter, preferably in sheltered bays or lagoons.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Red-throated Loon is a coastal and alpine tundra-breeding bird in British Columbia, nesting mainly in the many small bog lakes and tarns on Haida Gwaii and along the mainland and northern Vancouver Island coasts, from Bute Inlet north. It is more sparsely distributed farther north, in the Nass Basin, and on higher elevation lakes in the Omineca and Cassiar mountains and the Stikine-Yukon Plateau. This coincides with the distribution pattern noted when The Birds of British Columbia was published in 1990.

The Probability of Observation map highlights the most likely places to find this loon are where its preferred habitat (muskeg bog ponds, marshes and coastal ponds) occurs in the Coast and Mountains Ecoprovince, and lesser chances of finding it across the western part of the Northern Boreal Mountains Ecoprovince, where it prefers tundra lakes. The high PObs values noted in the north and west of Haida Gwaii coincide with where birds nested in the past, but these remote areas were not accessed during the Atlas surveys. The work of Reimchen and Douglas on Haida Gwaii throughout the 1970's and 1980's estimated the population of breeding Red-throated Loons in the archipelago to be between 784 and 892 pairs (Campbell et al. 1990).

Conservation and Recommendations There are no major conservation concerns. The Red-throated Loon is secretive, sensitive to human disturbance from recreational activities and shoreline development, and will desert sites if there is too much human activity; it lays only 1-2 eggs in a short nesting season and may not re-lay if the eggs or chicks are lost, but if left undisturbed it will return to its home site every year. It is also sensitive to water level fluctuations during unusually wet or dry summers, vulnerable to coastal oil spills, and is highly sensitive to disturbance from coastal wind farms (wind turbines) (BirdLife International 2015). With the potential growth of onshore and offshore developments along the British Columbia coast and recreational (including eco-tourism) encroachment into undisturbed areas, it is important to determine the nesting sites for these uncommon birds and implement appropriate conservation management actions.

Marguerita (Margo) E. Hearne

Recommended citation: Hearne, M. E. 2015. Red-throated Loon in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=RTLO&lang=en [11 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Plongeon catmarin, North and South Photography
Photo © North and South Photography

Photo: North and South Photography
Indices de nidification - Plongeon catmarin
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Plongeon catmarin
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Plongeon catmarin
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Plongeon catmarin
Gavia stellata

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 1126 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
7 21 32 17
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -0.103 (-11.0 - 13.2)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 -0.103 (-11.0 - 13.2)Low

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.15     0.26
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.15      
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
      0.26

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.28  
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
   0.18
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
 0.15  

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le plongeon catmarin est un oiseau de régions sauvages et éloignées. Il fait son nid dans de petits lacs et son cri de « kwak-kwak-kwak » rauque tandis qu'il vole au-dessus de nos têtes indique qu'il est revenu de ses sites de nidification saisonniers. Sa forme lisse et sa gorge rouge en font l'un des plus attrayants membres de la famille des huards. De façon intéressante, le plongeon catmarin ne se nourrit pas là où il fait son nid, mais vole soit à la mer ou vers un grand lac afin de se nourrir. Il se reproduit dans un vaste territoire comprenant les régions boréales et arctiques de l'Amérique du Nord et de l'Eurasie et hiverne le long des côtes du Pacifique, de l'Atlantique et du Golfe du Mexique de l'Amérique du Nord et sur les côtes de l'Europe (comme celle de la mer Méditerranée) et de l'est de l'Asie (Barr et coll. 2000). Il se reproduit près de la côte en hiver, preférablement dans les baies et lagunes abritées.

Répartition, abondance et habitat Le Plongeon catmarin est un oiseau nicheur de la toundra côtière et alpine en Colombie-Britannique, nichant principalement dans les nombreux petits lacs et laquets de tourbière de Haida Gwaii et le long de la partie continentale et des côtes nord de l'île de Vancouver, depuis le bras de mer Bute en direction du nord. Il est réparti de façon plus éparse plus au nord, dans le bassin de la Nass et sur des lacs de plus haute altitude dans les montagnes Omineca et la chaîne des Cassiars et sur le plateau de la Stikine et du Yukon. Cela correspond au schéma de distribution noté lorsque The Birds of British Columbia a été publié en 1990.

La carte des probabilités d'observation indique qu'il est le plus probable de trouver ce plongeon aux endroits où l'on trouve son habitat privilégié (étangs de tourbières et fondrières, marais et étangs côtiers) dans l'écoprovince Côtes et montagnes, et qu'il y a moins de chance de le trouver dans les parties ouest de l'écoprovince Montagnes boréales du nord, où il prefère les lacs de toundra. Les valeurs de Pobs élevées notées dans le nord et l'ouest de Haida Gwaii correspondent aux endroits où les oiseaux ont niché par le passé; cependant, ces régions éloignées n'ont pas été visitées pendant la période des relevés de l'Atlas. D'après les travaux de Reimchen et de Douglas menés sur l'archipel Haida Gwaii durant les années 1970 et 1980, on a estimé que la population des plongeons catmarins nichant dans l'archipel se situait entre 784 et 892 couples (Campbell et coll. 1990).

Conservation et recommandations Il n'existe aucune préoccupation de conservation majeure. Le plongeon catmarin est discret et est sensible aux perturbations humaines des activités récréatives et des développements de la côte et abandonnera donc des sites s'il existe trop d'activité humaine. Il pond seulement 1 à 2 oeufs au cours de sa courte saison de nidification et peut ne pas répondre si les oeufs ou les oisillons sont perdus, mais s'il n'est pas dérangé il retournera dans son territoire principal chaque année. Il est aussi sensible aux fluctuations du niveau de l'eau au cours d'étés exceptionnellement secs ou humides, aux déversements de pétrole côtiers et est très sensible aux perturbations de parcs éoliens côtiers (BirdLife international 2015). Avec la croissance potentielle de développements sur la côte et au large le long de la côte de la Colombie-Britannique et l'empiètement récréatif (comme l'écotourisme) dans les régions intactes, il est important de déterminer l'emplacement des sites de nidification de ces oiseaux plus rares et mette en place des mesures de gestion de la conservation appropriées.

Marguerita (Margo) E. Hearne

Citation recommandée: Hearne, M. E. 2015. Plongeon catmarin dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=RTLO&lang=fr [10 avr. 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley