Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Ruffed Grouse, Glenn Bartley
Photo © Glenn Bartley

Photo: Glenn Bartley
Breeding evidence - Ruffed Grouse
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Ruffed Grouse
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Ruffed Grouse
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Ruffed Grouse
Bonasa umbellus
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
5 - 1697 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
426 260 719 486
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 0.147 (-2.95 - 2.86)Medium
Canada1973 - 2012 0.079 (-1.81 - 1.83)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.110.08 0.090.11 0.11
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.110.04 0.090.18 0.1
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.080.13 0.09  0.08

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.08 0.07
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.10.090.07
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.09 0.1 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.060.070.180.12

Characteristics and Range The Ruffed Grouse is a cryptic, medium-sized game bird, although the males become conspicuous during the breeding season through their spectacular drumming behavior. This territorial and courtship display involves the male standing on a structure that provides good sound resonance (usually an old log), raising its crest and black shoulder "ruffs", and beating its wings (slowly at first, then very rapidly into a crescendo) to generate the drumming sound. The Ruffed Grouse is restricted to North America, where it is resident throughout the boreal forest region and some wooded hill ranges farther south (Rusch et al. 2000).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Ruffed Grouse is widespread in suitable habitat throughout the province except on Haida Gwaii and other islands off British Columbia's north coast. This range has changed little since The Birds of British Columbia was published in 1990; however, the Atlas surveys have expanded confirmed breeding in the northwest of the province and along the upper reaches of the Fraser River. The Ruffed Grouse may be more widespread in mainland British Columbia's north and central coast regions than the relatively restricted Atlas survey coverage suggests, and may occur on some islands off the north coast that are close to the mainland.

High Probability of Observation values are most extensive across the plateaus of the Sub-Boreal Interior and Central Interior ecoprovinces; point counts confirm that this area also supports the highest abundance, hence the core of British Columbia's population. Other important areas highlighted by the PObs model and abundance data are northern Vancouver Island; the Columbia, Kootenay, Peace and Stikine river drainages; and the Liard Plateau. The Ruffed Grouse is found across a wide altitudinal range, but occurs at highest abundance between 750 and 1,250 m.

Across North America, the Ruffed Grouse is most common in early successional forests dominated by aspen and poplar (Populus) species (Rusch et al. 2000). As such, it is fairly common in several biogeoclimatic zones where these tree species are common, but most abundant in Sub-Boreal Pine-Spruce in the Central Interior Ecoprovince. Throughout the province, the Ruffed Grouse nests on the ground in forested habitat, usually with a deciduous component, and usually near water. Nests in British Columbia are mostly found at the base of trees; under bushes, shrubs or ferns; and under or next to fallen logs (Campbell et al. 1990).

Conservation and Recommendations The Ruffed Grouse is not at risk in British Columbia, and is considered secure across its entire range (British Columbia Ministry of Environment 2014). British Columbia is afforded a low responsibility for its conservation, although a recent estimate suggests that the province supports about 28% (just over 5 million birds) of the global population (Partners in Flight Science Committee 2013). It is the most popularly hunted upland game bird in British Columbia, accounting for 50-60% of the annual upland game bird harvest; annual harvests over the past 10 years have ranged from 65,000 to 123,000 birds (British Columbia Ministry of Forests, Lands and Natural Resource Operations 2014). Permanent loss of riparian forests to development is likely the major concern for this species; inundation from large scale hydroelectric projects can also cause loss of suitable riparian habitat until a new riparian corridor develops.

Myke Chutter

Recommended citation: Chutter, M. 2015. Ruffed Grouse in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=RUGR&lang=en [16 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Gélinotte huppée, Glenn Bartley
Photo © Glenn Bartley

Photo: Glenn Bartley
Indices de nidification - Gélinotte huppée
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Gélinotte huppée
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Gélinotte huppée
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Gélinotte huppée
Bonasa umbellus

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
5 - 1697 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
426 260 719 486
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 0.147 (-2.95 - 2.86)Medium
Canada1973 - 2012 0.079 (-1.81 - 1.83)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.110.08 0.090.11 0.11
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.110.04 0.090.18 0.1
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.080.13 0.09  0.08

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.08 0.07
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.10.090.07
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.09 0.1 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.060.070.180.12

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition La Gélinotte huppée est un gibier à plumes de taille moyenne discret, bien que les mâles deviennent plus visibles pendant la saison de reproduction en raison de leur comportement de tambourinage spectaculaire. Cette parade territoriale et nuptiale consiste en ce que le mâle se tient debout sur une structure qui procure une bonne résonnance sonore (habituellement une vieille souche), dresse sa crête et sa « huppe » noire sur les épaules et bat des ailes (lentement d'abord, puis très rapidement jusqu'à atteindre le crescendo) pour produire un son de tambour. La Gélinotte huppée se trouve uniquement en Amérique du Nord, où elle réside dans toute la région de la forêt boréale et dans certaines chaînes de collines boisées plus au sud (Rusch et coll. 2000).

Répartition, abondance et habitat La Gélinotte huppée est fortement répandu dans un habitat propice dans toute la province, sauf sur Haida Gwaii et d'autres îles au large de la côte nord de la Colombie-Britannique. Cette aire de répartition a eu peu de changement depuis la publication de The Birds of British Columbia en 1990; cependant, on a découvert une nidification confirmée plus étendue dans le nord-ouest de la province et le long du cours supérieur du fleuve Fraser. Elle peut être plus répandue dans des régions de la côte nord et centrale de la Colombie-Britannique continentale que ne le donne à penser la couverture du relevé de l'Atlas relativement restreinte, et peut avoir lieu sur certaines îles au large de la côte nord qui sont proches du continent.

Les valeurs élevées de probabilité d'observation étaient les plus nombreuses sur les plateaux des écoprovinces Intérieur subboréal et Intérieur centre; les dénombrements par point ont confirmé que cette région abrite également la plus forte abondance et, partant, le gros de la population de la Colombie-Britannique. D'autres régions importantes mises en évidence par le modèle Pobs et les données sur l'abondance étaient le nord de l'île de Vancouver, les bassins hydrographiques des rivières Columbia, Kootenay, Peace et Stikine et le plateau Liard. On a trouvé la Gélinotte huppée dans une vaste aire de répartition en altitude, mais elle était plus abondante entre 750 et 1 250 m.

Dans toute l'Amérique du Nord, la Gélinotte huppée se trouve le plus communément dans des forêts aux premiers stades pionniers qui sont dominées par des essences de trembles et de peupliers (Populus) (Rusch et coll. 2000). Par conséquent, elle était assez commune dans plusieurs zones biogéoclimatiques où ces essences sont communes, mais son abondance était la plus forte dans la zone biogéoclimatique sub-boréale à pin et épinette dans l'écoprovince Intérieur centre. Dans toute la province, la Gélinotte huppée niche sur le sol dans des habitats boisés, habituellement avec une composante de feuillus, et habituellement près d'eau. On trouve les nids en Colombie-Britannique principalement au pied de ces arbres, sous des buissons, des arbrisseaux ou des fougères, et sous des troncs tombés auprès de ceux-ci (Campbell et coll. 1990).

Conservation et recommandations La Gélinotte huppée n'est pas en péril en Colombie-Britannique, et on considère qu'elle est en sûreté dans l'ensemble de son aire de répartition (ministère de l'Environnement de la Colombie-Britannique 2014). On attribue à la Colombie-Britannique une faible responsabilité pour sa conservation, bien qu'une estimation récente donne à penser que la province héberge environ 28 % (un peu plus de 5 millions d'oiseaux) de la population mondiale (Comité scientifique de Partenaires d'envol 2013). Il s'agit du gibier à plumes des hautes terres don?t la chasse populaire et la plus abondante en Colombie-Britannique et il représente de 50 à 60 % de la récolte annuelle de gibier à plumes des hautes terres; au cours des 10 dernières années, les récoltes annuelles se sont situées dans une fourchette de 65 000 à 123 000 oiseaux (FLNRO 2014). La perte permanente de forêts riveraines à cause du développement immobilier est probablement la principale préoccupation pour cette espèce; l'inondation par de grands projets hydroélectriques peut également causer des pertes d'habitats riverains propices jusqu'à ce qu'un nouveau corridor riverain se développe.

Myke Chutter

Citation recommandée: Chutter, M. 2015. Gélinotte huppée dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=RUGR&lang=fr [02 avr. 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley