Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Sky Lark, Harold Stiver
Photo © Harold Stiver

Photo: Harold Stiver
Breeding evidence - Sky Lark
Breeding evidence

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Sky Lark
Alauda arvensis

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 57 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
N/A
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
1 3 0 2
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
BBS trends are not available for this species

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
      0.07
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
    0.07  
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
       

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
   0.07
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Characteristics and Range The song of the Sky Lark - a sweet cadence delivered from the zenith and parachuting descent of its towering display flight - is one of the world's best-known natural sounds. It has inspired people from all walks of life for centuries, perhaps most famously in Percy Shelley's 1820 poem "Ode to a Skylark". So evocative is the bird's song that European emigrants historically translocated populations to such far flung destinations as New Zealand, Australia, Hawaii and continental North America, including British Columbia.

The bird's native range spans the Palearctic realm of Europe and Asia. In North America, the northeast Asian subspecies breeds in far northwest Alaska, and occurs as a vagrant down the Pacific coast. At least ten attempts have been made to introduce the European subspecies to different parts of Canada and the United States, but only two were successful, the introduction to British Columbia by the British Columbia Natural History Society (with financial support from the provincial government) in the early 1900s, and that on Hawaii (Campbell et al. 1997).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat Atlas records for Sky Larks come only from the Saanich Peninsula of southeast Vancouver Island, from four discrete patches of habitat within a total area measuring approximately 10 kilometres north-to-south, and up to 6 kilometres east-to-west. Victoria International Airport is the northernmost site, and Martindale Flats the southernmost. This area of occurrence is much reduced from the early 1960s, when an estimated peak population of about 1,000 was widespread across the Saanich Peninsula and other scattered locations on south-east Vancouver Island (Stirling and Edwards 1962). Breeding during the Atlas period was confirmed at one location, and was probable in the other three 10 km-squares, based on persistent territorial display flight behaviour by males.

The maximum site-count reported during the Atlas period was 7 displaying birds at Victoria International Airport. However, site searches were not extensive, and other than breeding males in song flight, Sky Larks are unobtrusive during spring-summer, spending much time on the ground obscured by vegetation. The most recent population estimate is 100-200 individuals in summer 2007 (Slagboom 2007). The population decline since the 1960s is mainly attributed to habitat loss (Campbell et al. 1997).

Breeding Sky Larks prefer short sward grassland and cultivated habitats, including mown short grass fields around Victoria International Airport, fallow agricultural fields, and cultivated bulb (daffodil) fields, including those with daffodils still in bloom.

Conservation and Recommendations Supplemental feeding took place during the cold winter of 1968-69, when the population was at its peak (Stirling and Beckett 1969). More recently, a cooperative management program was initiated between Victoria International Airport Authority and the Victoria Natural History Society, to improve habitat for Sky Larks on airport lands lying outside the fenced airport operation zone itself, through activities like altered mowing regimes (Slagboom 2007).

Acknowledgements Barbara Begg and David Stirling provided comments and references that improved this account.

Peter J.A. Davidson

Recommended citation: Davidson, P.J.A. 2015. Sky Lark in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=SKLA&lang=en [10 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Alouette des champs, Harold Stiver
Photo © Harold Stiver

Photo: Harold Stiver
Indices de nidification - Alouette des champs
Indices de nidification

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Alouette des champs
Alauda arvensis

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 57 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
N/A
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
1 3 0 2
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Les tendances BBS ne sont pas disponibles pour cette espèce

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
      0.07
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
    0.07  
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
       

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
   0.07
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le chant de l'Alouette des champs, une douce mélodie chantée à partir de l'apogée et tout au long de sa descente de son vol de parade vertigineux, est l'un des sons naturels les mieux connus du monde. Il a inspiré des gens de toutes les origines depuis des siècles, dont le plus célèbre peut être le poète Percy Shelley qui a écrit le poème « Ode à une Alouette » en 1820. Le chant de l'oiseau est tellement évocateur que les émigrants européens ont par le passé transposé des populations jusqu'à des destinations aussi éloignées que la Nouvelle-Zélande, l'Australie, Hawaii et l'Amérique du Nord continentale, y compris la Colombie-Britannique.

L'aire de répartition naturelle de l'oiseau couvre la région paléarctique de l'Europe et de l'Asie. En Amérique du Nord, la sous-espèce d'Asie du nord-est se reproduit dans l'extrême nord-ouest de l'Alaska et se retrouve comme espèce errante le long de la côte du Pacifique. On a tenté à au moins dix reprises d'introduire des sous-espèces européennes dans différentes parties du Canada et des États-Unis, mais seulement deux ont réussi à s'établir, en l'occurrence celle qui a été introduite en Colombie-Britannique par la British Columbia Natural History Society (avec le soutien financier du gouvernement provincial) au début des années 1900, et celle d'Hawaii (Campbell et coll. 1997a).

Répartition, abondance et habitat Les relevés de l'Atlas de l'Alouette des champs provenaient uniquement de la péninsule de Saanich du sud-est de l'île de Vancouver, de quatre parcelles discrètes d'habitats à l'intérieur d'une aire totale mesurant environ 10 kilomètres du nord au sud et jusqu'à 6 kilomètres d'est en ouest. L'Aéroport international de Victoria était le site le plus proche, et les Martindale Flats le plus méridional. Cette aire d'occurrence est fortement réduite par rapport au début des années 1960, lorsqu'une population de pointe estimative d'environ 1 000 oiseaux était largement distribuée sur l'ensemble de la péninsule de Saanich et à d'autres endroits éparpillés dans le sud-est de l'île de Vancouver (Stirling et Edwards 1962). La reproduction pendant la période de l'Atlas a été confirmée à un endroit, et elle était probable dans trois autres parcelles de 10 km, d'après le comportement de vols de parade territoriale persistants affichés par les mâles.

Le dénombrement par site maximum signalé pendant la période de l'Atlas était de sept oiseaux paradant à l'Aéroport international de Victoria. Cependant, les recherches sur le site n'étaient pas très poussées, et si ce n'est des mâles nicheurs qui exécutent le vol de parade en chantant, les Alouettes des champs sont discrètes au printemps et en été et passent une grande partie du temps sur le sol cachées par la végétation. L'estimation la plus récente de la population était de 100 à 200 individus à l'été 2007 (Slagboom 2007). La diminution de la population depuis les années 1960 est principalement attribuée à la perte d'habitat (Campbell et coll. 1997b).

Les Alouettes des champs nicheuses préfèrent des prairies de graminées courtes et des habitats cultivés, y compris des champs d'herbe tondue à ras autour de l'Aéroport international de Victoria, des champs agricoles en jachère et des champs de bulbes cultivés (jonquilles), notamment ceux sur lesquels les jonquilles sont encore en fleur.

Conservation et recommandations Un supplément alimentaire a été fourni pendant le froid hiver de 1968-1969, lorsque la population a culminé (Stirling et Beckett 1969). Plus récemment, un programme de gestion coopérative a été lancé entre la Victoria International Airport Authority et la Victoria Natural History Society afin d'améliorer l'habitat pour les Alouettes des champs sur les terrains de l'aéroport qui se trouvent à l'extérieur de la zone d'exploitation aéroportuaire clôturée proprement dite, au moyen d'activités comme la modification des régimes de tonte (Slagboom 2007).

Remerciements Barbara Begg et David Stirling ont formulé des commentaires et fourni des références qui ont amélioré ce rapport.

Peter J.A. Davidson

Citation recommandée: Davidson, P.J.A. 2015. Alouette des champs dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=SKLA&lang=fr [02 juin 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley