Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Solitary Sandpiper, Alan Burger
Photo © Alan Burger

Photo: Alan Burger
Breeding evidence - Solitary Sandpiper
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Solitary Sandpiper
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Solitary Sandpiper
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Solitary Sandpiper
Tringa solitaria
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
33 - 1913 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
70 187 265 127
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 0.688 (-2.63 - 4.23)Low
Canada1973 - 2012 0.68 (-3.14 - 3.5)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.130.05 0.10.08 0.21
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.130.07 0.04  0.06
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.060.1 0.1  0.21

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
0.170.06  
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.210.120.11
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.12 0.11 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
 0.160.090.06

Characteristics and Range The Solitary Sandpiper is unique among North American shorebirds in nesting in trees, using old nests of larger passerines such as the American Robin. True to its name, the species breeds in widely-dispersed locations and migrates singly or in small groups. Due to its solitary and generally retiring nature - although breeding birds can react noisily to territory intrusions - it is often overlooked, and little is known about its breeding and life history (Campbell et al. 1990, Moskoff 2011). The species breeds in boreal and high-elevation forests in Canada and Alaska, and winters in the tropics from northern Mexico south through much of South America.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Atlas results confirm the picture shown by Campbell et al. (1990) of breeding sites scattered in low densities through much of British Columbia, excepting the coastal regions, with concentrations on the Chilcotin Plateau, and Peace and Fort Nelson river lowlands. The Atlas data show many more breeding records and a much wider breeding distribution in British Columbia than was known when The Birds of British Columbia was published in 1990, probably due to increased search effort in more remote areas where this species often breeds.

The Solitary Sandpiper is an uncommon and widely dispersed breeder in British Columbia, even in the areas of greatest concentration. The Probability of Observation model indicates that it is most easily found in the Taiga Plains Ecoprovince, somewhat contrary to the distribution of confirmed breeding records and abundance information from point counts, which suggest the bird is more common in the Central Interior and Northern Boreal Mountains ecoprovinces. The Atlas data extend the breeding season elevation range of the species above and below the 550 m - 1,700 m in Campbell et al. (1990), with highest abundance on point counts in the 1,500-1,750 m range, and appreciable numbers also in the 250-750 m range. Low sampling effort at higher elevations and in the relatively inaccessible breeding habitats of northwestern British Columbia May have underestimated abundance there.

The Atlas data confirmed the use of boreal and high-elevation bogs, muskegs and forest bordering small ponds as breeding sites, dominated by spruce (Picea), willow (Salix) and birch (Betula) species. Solitary Sandpipers forage for aquatic invertebrates along the edges of small water bodies (Moskoff 2011).

Conservation and Recommendations Due to its sparse distribution, often inconspicuous behaviour and solitary nature, little is known about population numbers or trends, but habitat loss (at breeding, migration or wintering sites) is not believed to have had a significant population impact; however, loss of boreal forests from recent logging might impact nesting habitat (Moskoff 2011, Andres et al. 2012). The Solitary Sandpiper is considered to have a secure population globally and in Canada, and it is considered not at risk in the province. The Atlas surveys have expanded its known breeding range in the British Columbia, and set a valuable, if somewhat incomplete, baseline for future population monitoring.

Alan E. Burger

Recommended citation: Burger, A.E. 2015. Solitary Sandpiper in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=SOSA&lang=en [13 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Chevalier solitaire, Alan Burger
Photo © Alan Burger

Photo: Alan Burger
Indices de nidification - Chevalier solitaire
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Chevalier solitaire
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Chevalier solitaire
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Chevalier solitaire
Tringa solitaria

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
33 - 1913 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
70 187 265 127
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 0.688 (-2.63 - 4.23)Low
Canada1973 - 2012 0.68 (-3.14 - 3.5)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.130.05 0.10.08 0.21
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.130.07 0.04  0.06
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.060.1 0.1  0.21

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
0.170.06  
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.210.120.11
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.12 0.11 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
 0.160.090.06

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le Chevalier solitaire est unique parmi les oiseaux de rivage nord-américain parce qu'il niche dans des arbres, en utilisant les anciens nids de passereaux de plus grande taille, notamment le Merle d'Amérique. Fidèle à son nom, l'espèce niche dans des endroits largement dispersés et migre seul ou en petits groupes. En raison de sa nature solitaire et généralement réservée, bien que les oiseaux nicheurs puissent réagir bruyamment à des intrusions sur leur territoire, il passe souvent inaperçu, et on sait peu de choses au sujet de sa nidification et de son cycle biologique (Campbell et coll. 1990, Moskoff 2011). L'espèce niche dans les forêts boréales et de haute altitude du Canada et de l'Alaska, et hiverne dans les tropiques, depuis le nord du Mexique vers le sud à travers une grande partie de l'Amérique du Sud.

Répartition, abondance et habitat Les résultats de l'Atlas ont confirmé le tableau peint par Campbell et coll. (1990) de lieux de nidification éparpillés à de faibles densités à travers une grande partie de la Colombie-Britannique, sauf dans les régions côtières, avec des concentrations sur le plateau Chilcotin et dans les basses terres de la rivière de la Paix et Fort Nelson. Les données de l'Atlas indiquent de nombreux autres relevés de nidification et une répartition de reproduction bien plus étendue en Colombie-Britannique que celle qui était connue lorsque The Birds of British Columbia a été publié en 1990, probablement en raison de l'accroissement de l'effort de recherche dans des régions plus éloignées où cette espèce niche souvent.

Le Chevalier solitaire est un nicheur peu commun et largement dispersé en Colombie-Britannique, même dans les zones à plus forte concentration. Le modèle des probabilités d'observation indique qu'on le trouve le plus facilement dans l'écoprovince Plaines de la taïga, ce qui va quelque peu à l'encontre de la distribution des relevés de nidification confirmés et des renseignements sur l'abondance émanant du dénombrement par point, ce qui donne à penser que l'oiseau est plus commun dans les écoprovinces Intérieur centre et Montagnes boréales du nord. Les données de l'Atlas étendent la tranche d'altitude de la saison de nidification de l'espèce au-dessus et en dessous de 550 mètres - 1 700 mètres dans Campbell et coll. (1990), la plus forte abondance selon le dénombrement par point se situant dans la tranche de 1 500 à 1 750 mètres, avec des nombres appréciables également dans celle de 250 à 750 mètres. La faiblesse des efforts d'échantillonnage à des altitudes plus élevées et dans les habitats de nidification relativement inaccessibles du nord-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique peuvent avoir entraîné une sous-estimation de l'abondance à ces endroits.

Les données de l'Atlas ont confirmé l'utilisation de tourbières boréales et à haute altitude, de muskegs et de petits étangs en bordure de forêts comme sites de nidification, dominés par des espèces d'épicéas (Picea), de saules (Salix) et de bouleaux (Betula). Le Chevalier solitaire chasse des invertébrés aquatiques le long des rives de petits plans d'eau (Moskoff 2011).

Conservation et recommandations En raison de sa distribution clairsemée, de son comportement souvent discret et de sa nature solitaire, on sait peu de choses au sujet des nombres ou des tendances de la population, mais la perte d'habitat (sur les lieux de nidification, de migration ou d'hivernage) ne devrait pas avoir d'incidences considérables sur la population; cependant, la perte de forêts boréales par suite d'opérations récentes d'exploitation forestière pourrait influer sur l'habitat de nidification (Moskoff 2011, Andres et coll. 2012). Le Chevalier solitaire est réputé avoir une population sûre dans le monde et au Canada, et on considère qu'il n'est pas en péril dans la province. Les relevés de l'Atlas ont étendu son aire de reproduction connue en Colombie-Britannique et établi une base de référence valable, bien quelque peu incomplète, pour la future surveillance de la population.

Alan E. Burger

Citation recommandée: Burger, A.E. 2015. Chevalier solitaire dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=SOSA&lang=fr [20 mai 2019]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley