Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Spruce Grouse, Jess Findlay
Photo © Jess Findlay

Photo: Jess Findlay
Breeding evidence - Spruce Grouse
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Spruce Grouse
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Spruce Grouse
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Spruce Grouse
Falcipennis canadensis
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
293 - 1738 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
226 35 165 30
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Canada1970 - 2012 6.7 (0.132 - 15.9)Low

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.180.05 0.070.08 0.24
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.180.05 0.07  0.02
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.20.08 0.07  0.24

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
0.170.12  
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.330.030.27
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.06 0.07 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
 0.07 0.04

Characteristics and Range The Spruce Grouse is a medium-sized, stocky game bird that is considerably smaller than Sooty or Dusky Grouse with which it often shares habitat in British Columbia. It is one of the quietest of all game birds; even the territorial wing-clap display of the male is limited to two sharp claps unlike the prolific display of the Ruffed Grouse. It is restricted to North America, where it is resident in boreal coniferous forests, extending south into the Cascade and northern Rocky Mountains. It is a coniferous forest specialist with a diet consisting mostly of pine or spruce needles. The Spruce Grouse has undergone many taxonomic changes in the past century and its taxonomy is still under debate. Boag and Schroeder (1992) believe it is currently comprised of two distinct subspecies F. c. canadensis and F. c. franklinii, although they acknowledge that previously the latter was considered a separate species known as Franklin's Grouse.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat Both subspecies breed in British Columbia. F. c. canadensis occupies boreal forests in the north, while F. c. franklinii occupies montane forests in the southern two-thirds of the province (Campbell et al. 1990). The Atlas confirms the Spruce Grouse to be a widespread breeder throughout much of British Columbia, east of the Coast Range Mountains. It may have been under-recorded by the Atlas due to its cryptic appearance and nature.

Atlas data show the highest Probability of Observation is in the Northern Boreal and Sub-Boreal Interior ecoprovinces, particularly east of Atlin Lake, and to a lesser extent the Skeena and Omineca Mountains. The Spruce Grouse occupies a wide altitudinal range, and is known to occur as high as 2,500 m (Campbell et al. 1990). Its secretive nature resulted in too few point count data being collected to indicate any clear elevation preferences, and Atlas survey effort above 1,750 m was limited because of access challenges in many areas.

The Spruce Grouse nests on the ground in coniferous forests throughout its range, usually (but not always) with a spruce (Picea species) component. This was borne out by Atlas Pobs modelling, which indicated highest values in the spruce-associated biogeoclimatic zones. Nests in British Columbia are mostly found at the bases of coniferous trees, shrubs, stumps or fence posts (Campbell et al. 1990).

Conservation and Recommendations The Spruce Grouse is not at risk in British Columbia, and is considered secure across its entire range (British Columbia Ministry of Environment 2014). It is the second-most popular hunted upland game bird in British Columbia, accounting for 25-30% of the annual upland game bird harvest; annual harvests over the past 10 years have ranged from 32,000 to 58,000 birds (FLNRO 2014).

It is recommended that consideration be given to genetic research to help resolve the taxonomy issues.

Myke Chutter

Recommended citation: Chutter, M. 2015. Spruce Grouse in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=SPGR&lang=en [11 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Tétras du Canada, Jess Findlay
Photo © Jess Findlay

Photo: Jess Findlay
Indices de nidification - Tétras du Canada
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Tétras du Canada
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Tétras du Canada
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Tétras du Canada
Falcipennis canadensis

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
293 - 1738 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
226 35 165 30
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Canada1970 - 2012 6.7 (0.132 - 15.9)Low

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.180.05 0.070.08 0.24
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.180.05 0.07  0.02
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.20.08 0.07  0.24

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
0.170.12  
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.330.030.27
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.06 0.07 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
 0.07 0.04

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le Tétras du Canada est un gibier à plumes de taille moyenne trapu qui est considérablement plus petit que le Tétras fuligineux ou le Tétras sombre, avec lesquels il partage souvent des habitats en Colombie-Britannique. C'est l'un des gibiers à plumes les plus silencieux; même la parade territoriale de battements d'ailes du mâle se limite à deux battements secs, contrairement à la parade débordante de la Gélinotte huppée. Il se retrouve uniquement en Amérique du Nord, où il réside dans les forêts de conifères boréales, et son aire s'étend vers le sud jusqu'aux monts Cascade et le nord des montagnes Rocheuses. C'est un spécialiste des forêts de conifères et son régime alimentaire consiste principalement d'aiguilles de pin ou d'épicéa. Le Tétras du Canada a subi de nombreux changements taxinomiques au cours du siècle passé, et sa taxinomie fait toujours l'objet d'un débat. Boag et Schroeder (1992) pensent qu'elle comprend à l'heure actuelle deux espèces distinctes, F. c. canadensis et F. c. franklinii, bien qu'ils reconnaissent qu'auparavant, cette dernière était considérée comme une espèce distincte appelée Tétras de Franklin.

Répartition, abondance et habitat Les deux sous-espèces se reproduisent en Colombie-Britannique. F. c. canadensis occupe les forêts boréales dans le nord, tandis que F. c. franklinii occupe les forêts alpines dans les deux tiers méridionaux de la province (Campbell et coll. 1990). L'Atlas a confirmé que le Tétras du Canada est un nicheur largement réparti dans une grande partie de la Colombie-Britannique, à l'est des montagnes de la chaîne côtière. Il peut avoir été sous-recensé par l'Atlas en raison de son apparence et de sa nature discrète.

Les données de l'Atlas ont montré que la probabilité d'observation était la plus forte dans les écoprovinces Intérieur boréal et subboréal du nord, particulièrement l'est du lac Atlin, et dans une moindre mesure les monts Skeena et Omineca. Le Tétras du Canada occupe une vaste aire de répartition en altitude, et l'on sait qu'il se trouve jusqu'à des altitudes de 2 500 m (Campbell et coll. 1990). En raison de sa nature très discrète, trop peu de données sur le dénombrement par point ont été recueillies pour indiquer des préférences nettes pour une altitude, et l'effort de relevé de l'Atlas à moins de 1 750 m était limité en raison de difficultés d'accès dans de nombreuses régions.

Le Tétras du Canada niche au sol dans des forêts de conifères dans toute son aire de répartition, habituellement (mais pas toujours) avec une composante d'épicéas (Picea sp.). Ceci a été corroboré par la modélisation de la probabilité d'observation de l'Atlas, qui a indiqué que l'on trouve les valeurs de Pobs les plus élevées dans les zones biogéoclimatiques associées à l'épicéa. Les nids en Colombie-Britannique se trouvent pour la plupart à la base de conifères, d'arbrisseaux, de souches ou de poteaux de clôture (Campbell et coll. 1990).

Conservation et recommandations Le Tétras du Canada n'est pas en péril en Colombie-Britannique et il est réputé être sûr dans l'ensemble de son aire de répartition (ministère de l'Environnement de la Colombie-Britannique 2014). Il s'agit du deuxième gibier à plumes le plus chassé par ordre de popularité en Colombie-Britannique, il représente de 25 à 30 % de la récolte annuelle de gibier à plumes des hautes terres a; les récoltes annuelles au cours des 10 dernières années se sont situées dans une fourchette de 32 000 à 58 000 oiseaux (FLNRO 2014).

Il est recommandé d'envisager d'effectuer une recherche génétique pour contribuer à résoudre les problèmes de taxinomie.

Myke Chutter

Citation recommandée: Chutter, M. 2015. Tétras du Canada dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=SPGR&lang=fr [07 août 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley