Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Spotted Owl, Jared Hobbs
Photo © Jared Hobbs

Photo: Jared Hobbs
Breeding evidence - Spotted Owl
Breeding evidence

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Spotted Owl
Strix occidentalis

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
639 - 639 m
Conserv. status:
BCRISC: Red
COSEWIC: Endangered (caurina)
Global importance
of B.C. population:
7
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
0 1 0 0
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
BBS trends are not available for this species

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
       
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
       
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
       

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Characteristics and Range The Spotted Owl is a medium-sized, dark brown, dark-eyed owl with white spots on its body, head and neck, and no ear tufts. It is similar in appearance to the Barred Owl, but is darker overall and slightly smaller. It preys mostly on wood-rats, flying squirrels and deer mice, although other animals of similar size are taken occasionally. The Spotted Owl is resident across a patchy range spanning western and central-southern North America, and comprises three distinct subspecies. Only the Northern Spotted Owl (S. o. caurina) is found in British Columbia; from here its range extends southward to northwestern California (Gutiérrez et al. 1995).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat In British Columbia, it only occurs in the extreme southwest mainland corner of the province (Chutter et al. 2004). Even within this restricted range, its distribution has contracted substantially over the last 100 years.

Based on habitat and survey data extrapolations, it has been estimated that potentially 500 pairs existed in British Columbia prior to European settlement; fewer than 100 pairs were still present in 1991 and fewer than 33 pairs remained by 2003 (Chutter et al. 2004). Currently, the Spotted Owl population in British Columbia is dangerously close to extirpation with very few individuals being detected during annual surveys. Atlassers located one probable breeding pair during the Atlas period, although the site was already known to Recovery Team biologists.

In British Columbia, the Spotted Owl occurs only in mature and old-growth coniferous forests, mostly within the Coastal Western Hemlock and Interior Douglas-fir biogeoclimatic zones of the Coast and Mountains Ecoprovince; a few occur in the extreme southern portion of the Central Interior Ecoprovince (Chutter et al. 2004). Nests are usually in broken tree-tops ("chimneys") and cavities of large trees.

Conservation and Recommendations Loss and fragmentation of old-growth forest habitat and competition from Barred Owls are considered the primary threats, and the reasons for its national and provincial listing (COSEWIC 2008). A captive-breeding program was initiated by the province in 2007. Combining release of captive-bred birds with habitat protection and recruitment, and limited management of Barred Owls to exclude them from Spotted Owl breeding sites, the recovery goal is to re-establish 250 mature birds in the wild in British Columbia (Chutter et al. 2004).

All sightings of Spotted Owls, along with any evidence of breeding, should be submitted to the British Columbia Conservation Data Centre.

Myke Chutter

Recommended citation: Chutter, M. 2015. Spotted Owl in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=SPOW&lang=en [11 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Chouette tachetée, Jared Hobbs
Photo © Jared Hobbs

Photo: Jared Hobbs
Indices de nidification - Chouette tachetée
Indices de nidification

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Chouette tachetée
Strix occidentalis

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
639 - 639 m
Statut de conserv.:
BCRISC: Red
COSEWIC: Endangered (caurina)
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
7
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
0 1 0 0
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Les tendances BBS ne sont pas disponibles pour cette espèce

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
       
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
       
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
       

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition La Chouette tachetée est un hibou de taille moyenne, brun foncé, aux yeux sombres qui porte des taches blanches sur le corps, la tête et le cou et n'a pas d'aigrettes. Elle ressemble à la Chouette rayée, mais elle est plus foncée dans l'ensemble et légèrement plus petite. Elle chasse principalement des rats des bois, des écureuils volants et des souris sylvestres, bien qu'elle prenne aussi parfois d'autres animaux de taille semblable. La Chouette tachetée réside dans une aire de répartition morcelée qui englobe l'ouest et le centre-sud de l'Amérique du Nord et comporte trois sous-espèces distinctes. Seulement la Chouette tachetée du nord (S. o. caurina) se trouve en la Colombie-Britannique; d'ici sa gamme étend vers le sud jusqu'au nord-ouest de la Californie (Gutiérrez et coll. 1995).

Répartition, abondance et habitat En Colombie-Britannique, il ne se trouve que dans l'extrême coin sud-ouest de la partie continentale de la province (Chutter et coll. 2004). Même dans cette aire de répartition restreinte, la distribution s'est resserrée considérablement au cours des 100 dernières années.

On a estimé, en faisant fond sur l'extrapolation de données sur l'habitat et de relevés, qu'éventuellement 500 couples existaient en Colombie-Britannique avant la colonisation européenne; moins de 100 couples étaient encore présents en 1991 et moins de 33 couples subsistaient en 2003 (Chutter et coll. 2004). À l'heure actuelle, la population de Chouettes tachetées en Colombie-Britannique est dangereusement proche de la disparition, quelques très rares individus étant décelés pendant les relevés annuels. Les participants à l'Atlas ont localisé un couple qui se reproduit probablement pendant la période de l'Atlas, bien que le site fût déjà connu des biologistes de l'équipe de rétablissement.

En Colombie-Britannique, la Chouette tachetée ne se trouve que dans des forêts de conifères matures et d'établissement ancien, principalement dans les zones biogéoclimatiques côtières à pruche de l'Ouest et intérieures à douglas de l'écoprovince Côtes et montagnes; quelques rares spécimens se trouvent dans la partie à l'extrême sud de l'écoprovince Intérieur centre (Chutter et coll. 2004). Les nids se trouvent habituellement dans des arbres à tête cassée (« cheminées ») et les creux de grands arbres.

Conservation et recommandations La perte et la fragmentation d'habitats forestiers de peuplement ancien et la concurrence de la Chouette rayée sont considérées comme les principales menaces et les raisons de son inscription dans la liste nationale et provinciale (COSEPAC 2008). Un programme d'élevage en captivité a été lancé par la province en 2007. Combinant le lâcher d'oiseaux élevés en captivité avec la protection de l'habitat et le recrutement et une gestion limitée de la Chouette rayée afin de l'exclure des sites de reproduction de la Chouette tachetée, l'objectif de rétablissement consiste à réintroduire 250 oiseaux adultes en Colombie-Britannique (Chutter et coll. 2004).

Toutes les observations de Chouettes tachetées, ainsi que toutes les preuves de reproduction devraient être présentées au British Columbia Conservation Data Centre.

Myke Chutter

Citation recommandée: Chutter, M. 2015. Chouette tachetée dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=SPOW&lang=fr [14 nov. 2019]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley