Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Tufted Puffin, Catherine Jardine
Photo © Catherine Jardine

Photo: Catherine Jardine
Breeding evidence - Tufted Puffin
Breeding evidence

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Tufted Puffin
Fratercula cirrhata

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 0 m
Conserv. status:
BCRISC: Blue
Global importance
of B.C. population:
5
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
5 1 1 0
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
BBS trends are not available for this species

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
       
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
       
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
       

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Characteristics and Range The most oceanic of the alcids, and arguably the most beautiful, the Tufted Puffin is a large, diurnal, burrow-nesting auk, named for the long, wispy, golden plumes that drape down the back and sides of its neck. Not abundant as a breeder in British Columbia, the species has an expansive range across the North Pacific Ocean, breeding from California north to the Chukchi Sea in the Arctic and west to Japan (Piatt and Kitaysky 2002). Like all puffins, it is a generalist feeder, with a massive bill, brilliant orange during the breeding season, designed to catch and hold fish and larger invertebrates.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat Breeding has been recorded at a total of 31 sites in British Columbia, all on remote islands concentrated off the northwest end of Vancouver Island and the south end of Haida Gwaii (Campbell et al. 1990). The largest aggregation is located at Triangle Island, where some 25,000 pairs breed. Highly pelagic, during the breeding season it generally forages at low density over deep water, often seaward of the continental shelf.

Unmistakable in breeding plumage, the Tufted Puffin is not an abundant species away from Triangle Island at any time in British Columbia, and is not commonly seen in inshore waters. It is not easily covered on surveys, because all breeding colonies are located on remote islands that are unlikely to have human visitors. Very few of the known breeding colonies were visited during the Atlas survey period.

It nests in the open on the steep, vegetated slopes of remote, rocky islands in areas that offer direct access to the sea. The Tufted Puffin digs a nesting burrow that can be several metres long in deep soil.

Conservation and Recommendations A long-lived species, the survival rates of adult Tufted Puffins are largely insensitive to the year-to-year environmental variation that strongly affects production of offspring (Morrison et al. 2011). Because few offspring are produced in warm-water years, the species may over the long term be vulnerable to widely predicted future climatic changes. The main colonies in British Columbia are well protected under the Anne Vallée Ecological Reserve (Triangle Island) and the Gwaii Haanas National Park Reserve and Haida Heritage Site. Threats on the breeding grounds include invasive alien predators, chiefly Black Rats (Rattus rattus), Norway Rats (R. norvegicus) and Raccoons (Procyon lotor) that have seriously impacted seabird colonies throughout the Haida Gwaii archipelago and eastern Scott Islands.

Mark Hipfner

Recommended citation: Hipfner, M. 2015. Tufted Puffin in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=TUPU&lang=en [13 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Macareux huppé, Catherine Jardine
Photo © Catherine Jardine

Photo: Catherine Jardine
Indices de nidification - Macareux huppé
Indices de nidification

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Macareux huppé
Fratercula cirrhata

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 0 m
Statut de conserv.:
BCRISC: Blue
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
5
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
5 1 1 0
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Les tendances BBS ne sont pas disponibles pour cette espèce

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
       
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
       
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
       

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le plus océanique des alcidés et, sans doute le plus beau, le Macareux huppé est un grand pingouin diurne qui niche dans des terriers. Son nom lui vient de ses longues plumes dorées et fines qui drapent l'arrière et les côtés de son cou. Il n'est pas abondant comme nicheur en Colombie-Britannique, mais l'espèce couvre tout l'océan Pacifique septentrional, se reproduisant du nord de la Californie à la mer des Tchouktches dans l'Arctique, et à l'ouest jusqu'au Japon (Piatt et Kitaysky 2002). Comme tous les autres macareux, il est omnivore, se servant de son gros bec d'un orange brillant durant la saison de reproduction, qui lui sert à capturer et à tenir des poissons et de gros invertébrés.

Répartition, abondance et habitat Au total, 31 sites de reproduction ont été enregistrés en Colombie-Britannique, tous sur des îles isolées à l'extrémité nord-ouest de l'île de Vancouver et à l'extrémité sud de l'archipel Haida Gwaii (Campbell et coll. 1990). L'agrégation la plus importante se trouve sur l'île Triangle, où nichent environ 25 000 couples. Pendant la saison de reproduction, cet oiseau hautement pélagique s'alimente habituellement par petits groupes en eaux profondes, le plus souvent au large du plateau continental.

Avec son plumage nuptial caractéristique, le Macareux huppé n'est pas une espèce abondante en Colombie-Britannique à l'extérieur de l'île Triangle, et n'est pas fréquemment observée dans les eaux côtières. Il est difficile à inclure dans les relevés, car toutes les colonies de reproduction se trouvent sur des îles isolées où il y a peu de visites humaines. Pendant la période de relevé de l'Atlas, très peu des colonies de reproduction connues ont été visitées.

L'oiseau niche en milieu ouvert, sur les pentes boisées abruptes d'îles rocheuses isolées, dans les endroits qui offrent un accès direct à la mer. Le Macareux huppé creuse un terrier de nidification qui peut avoir plusieurs mètres de longueur dans les couches profondes du sol.

Conservation et recommandations Les taux de survie du Macareux huppé, qui présente une longue durée de vie, sont pratiquement insensibles aux variations environnementales d'une année à l'autre qui influencent grandement la production de rejetons (Morrison et coll. 2011). Puisque peu de rejetons sont produits au cours des années ou l'eau est chaude, les espèces peuvent, à long terme, être vulnérables aux changements climatiques qu'on prédit de façon généralisée pour l'avenir. Les principales colonies de Colombie-Britannique sont bien protégées dans la réserve écologique Anne Vallée (île Triangle), ainsi que dans la réserve du parc national et site du patrimoine Haïda Gwaii Haanas. Parmi les menaces qui guettent les lieux de reproduction, mentionnons les prédateurs étrangers envahissants, don?t principalement le rat noir (Rattus rattus), le rat surmulot (R. norvegicus) et le raton laveur (Procyon lotor) qui ont grandement décimé les colonies d'oiseaux de mer à la grandeur de l'archipel Haïda Gwaii et dans l'est des îles Scott.

Mark Hipfner

Citation recommandée: Hipfner, M. 2015. Macareux huppé dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=TUPU&lang=fr [07 août 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley