Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Western Grebe, Brent Wellander
Photo © Brent Wellander

Photo: Brent Wellander
Breeding evidence - Western Grebe
Breeding evidence

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Western Grebe
Aechmophorus occidentalis

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
348 - 1135 m
Conserv. status:
BCRISC: Red
COSEWIC: Special Concern
Global importance
of B.C. population:
7
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
4 0 0 1
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
BBS trends are not available for this species

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
       
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
       
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
       

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Characteristics and Range The spectacular courtship "dances" of the Western Grebe, the largest grebe in the province, make it an attractive species for public viewing. Endemic to North America, two subspecies are recognized: A. o. occidentalis breeds locally across the Great Basin, Northern Rockies, and Prairie Biomes; and south through the western Great Plains and Southern Rockies. A. o. phemeralis is resident on the Mexican Plateau. The Western Grebe interbreeds with the Clark's Grebe; the two were considered the same species until the 1980s (LaPorte et al. 2013). The Western Grebe winters along the coast from southwestern British Columbia to Baja California.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat It is a local breeder and common spring and fall migrant across the southern interior of the province. The breeding distribution has contracted slightly since The Birds of British Columbia was published in 1990, with the Kootenay Lake colony no longer present. Breeding during the Atlas was confirmed at Salmon Arm Bay on Shuswap Lake, and at Duck and Leach lakes in the Kootenay River valley. Breeding was suspected at the Okanagan Lake colony but was not confirmed due to access issues. The Atlas also recorded possible breeding in northeast British Columbia in the Peace River lowlands. Apart from the uncertain status of the Okanagan Lake colony, Atlas surveys fairly represent the breeding distribution of this grebe. Mixed pairs of Western and Clark's grebes have been seen regularly on Shuswap and Duck lakes since 1982 (Campbell et al. 2009).

The centre of breeding abundance is the Southern Interior Ecoprovince. It is difficult to compare recent count data with The Birds of British Columbia, but it seems that the Salmon Arm Bay colony has increased and consistently remains the largest, while the Okanagan Lake and Duck/Leach lakes' colonies have decreased. The localized breeding abundance and distribution reflects the limited combination of suitable nesting habitat and sufficient abundance of prey species.

Nesting occurs amongst Reed Canary Grass (Phalaris arundinacea), cattails (Typha species), or over submerged water milfoils (Myriophyllum species) on freshwater lakes with large areas of open water bordered by emergent vegetation. Birds will occasionally nest amongst flooded willows (Salix species). Emergent plants are used to anchor the nests, but if they are not available, submerged plants growing close to the water's surface may be used.

Conservation and Recommendations The species has been Red-listed in British Columbia since 1992. It was assessed as Special Concern nationally by COSEWIC in 2014, and is expected to be listed as such under the federal Species at Risk Act. Reductions of 50-90% have been reported for populations wintering in the Salish Sea region, but increases have been reported for wintering populations in coastal California, leading to speculation that numbers have generally shifted southwards (LaPorte et al. 2013).

Continued monitoring of colony reproductive success is an important part of understanding the breeding ecology of this species in British Columbia. The presence of migrants must be distinguished when doing early season colony counts. Habitat-use dynamics and threats from predators such as gulls or recreational boating should be documented.

Acknowledgements Marc-Andre Beaucher provided valuable comments about the recent status of the breeding colonies at Duck Lake and Kootenay Lake.

Rick Howie

Recommended citation: Howie, R. 2015. Western Grebe in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=WEGR&lang=en [13 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Grèbe élégant, Brent Wellander
Photo © Brent Wellander

Photo: Brent Wellander
Indices de nidification - Grèbe élégant
Indices de nidification

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Grèbe élégant
Aechmophorus occidentalis

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
348 - 1135 m
Statut de conserv.:
BCRISC: Red
COSEWIC: Special Concern
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
7
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
4 0 0 1
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Les tendances BBS ne sont pas disponibles pour cette espèce

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
       
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
       
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
       

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Les « danses » nuptiales spectaculaires du Grèbe élégant, le plus grand Grèbe de la province, en font une espèce attirante pour des observations publiques. Endémique à l'Amérique du Nord, on reconnaît deux sous-espèces : A. o. occidentalis qui niche localement dans les biomes du Grand Bassin, du nord des Montagnes Rocheuses et des Prairies; et au sud, dans les Grandes plaines de l'ouest et le sud des Montagnes Rocheuses. A. o. ephemeralis réside sur le Plateau mexicain. Le Grèbe élégant se croise avec le Grèbe à face blanche; on pensait que les deux appartenaient à la même espèce jusque dans les années 1980 (LaPorte et coll. 2013). Le Grèbe élégant hiverne le long de la côte, du sud-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique jusqu'à la Basse-Californie.

Répartition, abondance et habitat Il s'agit d'un nicheur local et d'un migrateur commun au printemps et en automne dans l'ensemble de la région méridionale de l'intérieur de la province. La distribution de reproduction s'est rétrécie légèrement depuis la publication de The Birds of British Columbia, la colonie du lac Kootenay n'étant plus présente. On a confirmé la reproduction à la baie Salmon Arm sur le lac Shuswap et aux lacs Duck et Leach dans la vallée de la rivière Kootenay. On soupçonnait la reproduction dans la colonie du lac Okanagan, mais elle n'a pas été confirmée pendant la période de l'Atlas à cause de problèmes d'accès. L'Atlas a également relevé une éventuelle reproduction dans le nord-est de la Colombie-Britannique, dans les basses terres de la rivière de la Paix. Hormis la situation incertaine de la colonie du lac Okanagan, les relevés de l'Atlas représentent assez justement la distribution de reproduction de ce Grèbe. Des couples croisés de Grèbes élégants et de Grèbe à face blanche ont été observés régulièrement sur les lacs Shuswap et Duck depuis 1982 (Campbell et al. 2009).

Le centre de l'abondance de reproduction est l'écoprovince Intérieur sud. Il est difficile de comparer les données des dénombrements par point avec The Birds of British Columbia, mais il semble que la colonie de la baie Salmon Arm ait augmenté et soit constamment demeurée la plus importante, tandis que les colonies du lac Okanagan et des lacs Duck et Leach ont diminué. L'abondance de reproduction localisée et la distribution rendent compte de la combinaison limitée d'habitats de nidification propices et d'une abondance suffisante d'espèces-proies.

La nidification se fait dans de l'Alpiste roseau (Phalaris arundinacea), des quenouilles (Typha éspeces) ou au-dessus de myriophylles immergés (Myriophyllum éspeces) sur des lacs d'eau douce avec de grandes surfaces d'eau libre bordées par de la végétation émergente. Les oiseaux nicheront occasionnellement dans les saules inondés (Salix éspeces). Les plantes émergentes sont utilisées pour ancrer les nids, mais s'il n'y en a pas, l'oiseau peut utiliser des plantes immergées qui poussent à proximité de la surface de l'eau.

Conservation et recommandations L'espèce est répertoriée dans la liste rouge en Colombie-Britannique depuis 1992. Elle a été évaluée comme étant une espèce préoccupante à l'échelon national par le COSEPAC en 2014, et elle devrait être inscrite comme telle en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril fédérale. Des réductions de 50 à 90 % ont été signalées pour des populations qui hivernent dans la région de la mer de Salish, mais des augmentations ont été déclarées pour les populations qui hivernent dans les régions côtières de la Californie, ce qui amène à conjecturer que les nombres se sont en général déplacés vers le sud (LaPorte et coll. 2013).

La surveillance continue du succès de nidification de la colonie est une partie importante de la compréhension de l'écologie reproductrice de cette espèce en Colombie-Britannique. La présence de migrateurs doit être distinguée lorsqu'on effectue les dénombrements de colonies en début de saison. La dynamique d'utilisation de l'habitat et les menaces que posent les prédateurs comme les mouettes ou la navigation de plaisance devraient être décrites.

Remerciements Marc-André Beaucher a formulé des commentaires précieux au sujet de la situation récente des colonies reproductrices au lac Duck et au lac Kootenay.

Rick Howie

Citation recommandée: Howie, R. 2015. Grèbe élégant dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=WEGR&lang=fr [29 sept. 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley