Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Western Kingbird, Ian Routley
Photo © Ian Routley

Photo: Ian Routley
Breeding evidence - Western Kingbird
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Western Kingbird
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Western Kingbird
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Western Kingbird
Tyrannus verticalis
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
3 - 1236 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
7
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
140 49 91 87
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -0.843 (-2.06 - 0.552)High
Canada1970 - 2012 0.654 (-0.166 - 1.47)High

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
   0.110.12 0.08
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
       
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.110.1 0.11  0.1

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
  0.1 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.1 0.12
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.14   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.1   

Characteristics and Range This large grey flycatcher with a lemon-yellow belly and black tail is often seen hawking for insects in open country. The Western Kingbird breeds from southwestern Canada south to northern Mexico (Gamble and Bergin 2012). A medium-distance neotropical migrant, it winters from the Pacific coast of central Mexico south to Central America. The planted trees, buildings, and utility poles that followed human settlement across the western plains of North America in the last century are favoured by the Western Kingbird and allowed its westward spread (Campbell et al. 1997, Gamble and Bergin 2012).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Western Kingbird is a fairly widespread breeder in the valleys of southern British Columbia, centered in the Southern Interior Ecoprovince. The distribution from the Atlas is similar to that reported by Campbell et al. (1997).

The highest Probabilities of Observation are in the Okanagan, Thompson-Nicola and Fraser river valleys in the Southern Interior Ecoprovince, which is also where most Atlas point count data were recorded. Abundance here, however, did not vary greatly from locally high abundance values (based on small point count samples) in neighbouring ecoprovinces. Elevation is a better predictor of abundance, the species being most common between 250 and 500 m, an elevation range corresponding to valley floor locations supporting plentiful man-made or planted perching and nesting locations, within the three driest biogeoclimatic zones, Interior Douglas-fir, Ponderosa Pine, and Bunchgrass.

The Western Kingbird breeds in a wide variety of open habitats such as grasslands, desert shrub, sagebrush flats, pastures, cultivated fields, urban areas, and rangelands along Ponderosa Pine forest edges. Where both the Western Kingbird and the Eastern Kingbird occur together, the Western Kingbird prefers lower, dryer, open areas with tall trees while the Eastern Kingbird prefers wetter, riparian forest (Campbell et al. 1997).

Conservation and Recommendations There has been a moderate increase in Canadian populations since 1970 (Environment Canada 2011) but populations in British Columbia have shown a moderate decrease (Environment Canada 2014). There are no known conservation concerns for this adaptable species.

Art Martell

Recommended citation: Martell, A. 2015. Western Kingbird in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=WEKI&lang=en [13 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Tyran de l'Ouest, Ian Routley
Photo © Ian Routley

Photo: Ian Routley
Indices de nidification - Tyran de l'Ouest
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Tyran de l'Ouest
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Tyran de l'Ouest
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Tyran de l'Ouest
Tyrannus verticalis

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
3 - 1236 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
7
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
140 49 91 87
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -0.843 (-2.06 - 0.552)High
Canada1970 - 2012 0.654 (-0.166 - 1.47)High

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
   0.110.12 0.08
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
       
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.110.1 0.11  0.1

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
  0.1 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.1 0.12
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.14   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.1   

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Cette grande moucherelle grise, avec son ventre jaune citron et sa queue noire est souvent aperçue chassant des insectes en pleine campagne. Le tyran de l'Ouest se reproduit du sud-ouest du Canada vers le sud dans le nord du Mexique (Gamble et Bergin 2012). Un migrateur néotropical de distances moyennes, il hiverne de la côte Pacifique du centre du Mexique vers le sud en Amérique Centrale. Le tyran de l'ouest prefère les arbres plantés, les édifices et les pylônes qui ont suivi les populations humaines à travers les plaines de l'ouest de l'Amérique du Nord au cours du dernier siècle et ont permi sa propagation vers l'ouest ( Campbell et coll. 1997, Gamble et Bergin 2012).

Répartition, abondance et habitat Le Tyran de l'Ouest est un oiseau nicheur assez répandu dans les vallées du sud de la Colombie-Britannique et se concentre dans l'écoprovince Intérieur sud. La distribution de l'Atlas est similaire à celle indiquée par Campbell et coll. (1997).

On note les probabilités d'observation les plus élevées dans les vallées de l'Okanagan, de Thompson-Nicola et du Fraser dans l'écoprovince Intérieur sud, dans laquelle on a également enregistré la plupart des données des dénombrements par point de l'Atlas. Toutefois, l'abondance ici ne différait pas fortement des valeurs d'abondance localement élevées (lorsque l'on se fonde sur les petits échantillons des dénombrements par point) dans les écoprovinces voisines. L'altitude est un meilleur indicateur de l'abondance, l'espèce étant la plus commune entre 250 et 500 m d'altitude, une plage d'altitudes correspondant aux fonds de vallées où se trouvent de nombreux sites de perchoir et de nidification artificiels ou plantés, à l'intérieur des trois zones biogéoclimatiques les plus sèches : les zones biogéoclimatiques du Douglas taxifolié de l'intérieur, du pin ponderosa et de la prairie.

Le Tyran de l'Ouest niche dans une grande variété d'habitats tels que des prairies, la formation steppique arbustive, des plateaux d'armoises, des pâturages, des champs cultivés, des zones urbaines, et des pâtures le long de lisières de forêts de pins ponderosa. Là où le Tyran de l'Ouest et le Tyran tritri sont tous deux présents, le Tyran de l'Ouest prefère des zones ouvertes plus basses et plus sèches ponctuées d'arbres de grande taille tandis que le Tyran tritri prefère les forêts riveraines plus humides (Campbell et coll. 1997).

Conservation et recommandations Les populations canadiennes ont connu une moyenne augmentation depuis 1970 (Environnement Canada 2011), mais les populations en Colombie-Britannique ont un peu diminué (Environnement Canada 2014). Il n'existe aucune préoccupation de conservation connue pour cette espèce.

Art Martell

Citation recommandée: Martell, A. 2015. Tyran de l'Ouest dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=WEKI&lang=fr [26 janv. 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley