Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
White-headed Woodpecker, Glenn Bartley
Photo © Glenn Bartley

Photo: Glenn Bartley
Breeding evidence - White-headed Woodpecker
Breeding evidence

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

White-headed Woodpecker
Picoides albolarvatus

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
360 - 1107 m
Conserv. status:
BCRISC: Red
COSEWIC: Endangered
Global importance
of B.C. population:
7
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
0 1 1 0
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
BBS trends are not available for this species

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
       
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
       
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
       

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Characteristics and Range The White-headed Woodpecker is perhaps the most pursued bird by birders in the province due to its rarity and distinctive appearance. It does not occur in other Canadian provinces, except as an accidental. In British Columbia, it is at the northern extent of its range, which is restricted to the mountains of western North America south to California. It is not always observed annually in the province. Individual birds may remain year-round in southern parts of the Okanagan if adequate food resources are present.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat White-headed Woodpecker is known to breed only in the southern Okanagan Valley (Campbell et al. 1990). There are few breeding records in the recent past. Atlas data do not include confirmed breeding, although one square had probable breeding. Historically, individual birds have also been reported in other dry areas of both the Southern Interior and Southern Interior Mountains Ecoprovinces, most notably in the Similkameen Valley, Kettle Valley, and the Kootenays. Atlas data include two records from the Kootenays. There has been no change in breeding status, distribution or timing between The Birds of British Columbia published in 1990 and the Atlas periods.

COSEWIC (2011) estimated the White-headed Woodpecker population in British Columbia as "perhaps in the order of ten adults". The very small numbers of observations reported in the Atlas confirms that this is a very rare species in the province.

In British Columbia, the White-headed Woodpecker is dependent on dry, open forests of mature Ponderosa Pine (Pinus ponderosa). Mature pines that produce large cones and seeds are an important food source. Large diameter Ponderosa Pine snags or live trees with advance stages of heart rot are also typically used for nesting. Due to the small number of known nest sites in British Columbia, specific nesting habitat requirements for the province are poorly known.

Conservation and Recommendations The greatest threat to the White-headed Woodpecker in British Columbia is the continued loss of mature Ponderosa Pine due to forest harvesting, forest fires, urbanization, firewood collection, and more recently, the Mountain Pine Beetle (Dendroctonus ponderosae) infestation (COSEWIC 2010). As White-headed Woodpecker is a Ponderosa Pine obligate in British Columbia, some of the current predictive models for pine loss from Mountain Pine Beetle suggested that suitable habitat for the species could be significantly impacted by the infestation (Province of British Columbia 2011).

The small number of White-headed Woodpeckers that occurs in the province each year, and the seemingly erratic selection of nesting areas, makes it a difficult species to study with any structured survey or monitoring effort. The rarity and irregularity of White-headed Woodpecker in British Columbia also makes it difficult for the implementation of conservation efforts for the species. Suspected breeding birds should be monitored when the species is present to provide a greater sample size of nest sites and breeding habitat use.

Paul Chytyk and David F. Fraser

Recommended citation: Chytyk, P. and D.F. Fraser. 2015. White-headed Woodpecker in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=WHWO&lang=en [11 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Pic à tête blanche, Glenn Bartley
Photo © Glenn Bartley

Photo: Glenn Bartley
Indices de nidification - Pic à tête blanche
Indices de nidification

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Pic à tête blanche
Picoides albolarvatus

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
360 - 1107 m
Statut de conserv.:
BCRISC: Red
COSEWIC: Endangered
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
7
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
0 1 1 0
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Les tendances BBS ne sont pas disponibles pour cette espèce

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
       
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
       
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
       

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le Pic à tête blanche est peut-être l'oiseau le plus recherché par les ornithologues amateurs de la province en raison de sa rareté et de son apparence particulière. Il n'est présent dans aucune autre province canadienne, sauf fortuitement. En Colombie-Britannique, il atteint l'extrémité septentrionale de son aire de répartition, qui se limite aux montagnes de l'ouest de l'Amérique du Nord jusqu'au sud, en Californie. On ne l'observe pas toujours annuellement dans la province. Des oiseaux individuels peuvent rester à longueur d'année dans les parties méridionales de l'Okanagan si des ressources alimentaires suffisantes s'y trouvent.

Répartition, abondance et habitat On sait que le Pic à tête blanche ne niche que dans le sud de la vallée de l'Okanagan (Campbell et coll. 1990). Il existe peu de relevés de reproduction dans un passé récent. Les données de l'Atlas ne comprennent pas de reproduction confirmée, bien qu'il y ait probablement eu une reproduction dans une des parcelles. Précédemment, on avait également signalé des oiseaux individuels dans d'autres régions sèches des écoprovinces Intérieur sud et Montagnes intérieures du sud, la plupart notamment dans la vallée de la rivière Similkameen, de la rivière Kettle et dans les Kootenays. Les données de l'Atlas comprennent deux relevés des Kootenays. Il n'y a pas eu de changement de la situation de reproduction, de la distribution ou du moment entre les périodes de The Birds of British Columbia et de l'Atlas.

Le COSEPAC (2011) estime la population de Pics à tête blanche en Colombie-Britannique comme étant « peut-être de l'ordre de dix adultes ». Le très petit nombre d'observations déclarées dans l'Atlas confirme qu'il s'agit d'une espèce très rare dans la province.

En Colombie-Britannique, le Pic à tête blanche compte sur des forêts dégagées et sèches de pins Ponderosa matures (Pinus ponderosa). Les pins matures qui produisent de grosses pommes et de grosses semences sont une importante source de nourriture. Des chicots de pins Ponderosa ou des arbres vivants de diamètre important présentant des étapes avancées de pourriture du coeur sont également utilisés typiquement pour la nidification. En raison du petit nombre de sites de nidification connus en Colombie-Britannique, les besoins d'habitat de nidification particuliers pour la province sont mal connus.

Conservation et recommandations La pire menace pour le Pic à tête blanche en Colombie-Britannique est la perte continue des pins Ponderosa adultes par suite de l'exploitation forestière, des feux de forêt, de l'urbanisation, de l'abattage de bois de chauffage et, plus récemment, de l'infestation par le dendoctrone du pin (Dendroctonus ponderosae) (COSEPAC 2010). Comme le Pic à tête blanche est tributaire du pin Ponderosa en Colombie-Britannique, quelques-uns des modèles de prédiction actuels pour la perte de pins due au dendoctrone du pin donnent à penser que l'habitat propice pour l'espèce pourrait être profondément touché par l'infestation (province de Colombie-Britannique 2011).

Le petit nombre de Pics à tête blanche présents dans la province chaque année et la sélection apparemment erratique d'aires de nidification rend difficile d'étudier l'espèce au moyen d'un quelconque effort de relevé ou de surveillance structuré. La rareté et l'irrégularité du Pic à tête blanche en Colombie-Britannique rendent également difficile de mettre en oeuvre des efforts de conservation pour l'espèce. Les oiseaux don?t on soupçonne qu'ils nichent devraient être surveillés lorsque l'espèce est présente afin de fournir une taille d'échantillon plus importante des sites de nidification et de l'utilisation de l'habitat de reproduction.

Paul Chytyk and David F. Fraser

Citation recommandée: Chytyk, P. and D.F. Fraser. 2015. Pic à tête blanche dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=WHWO&lang=fr [07 août 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley