Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Willow Flycatcher, Alan Burger
Photo © Alan Burger

Photo: Alan Burger
Breeding evidence - Willow Flycatcher
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Willow Flycatcher
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Willow Flycatcher
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Willow Flycatcher
Empidonax traillii
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 1709 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
7
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
89 207 604 430
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -2.06 (-2.88 - -1.24)Medium
Canada1973 - 2012 -1.9 (-2.71 - -1.12)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
   0.180.13 0.2
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
    0.23 0.02
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.120.15 0.18  0.14

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
  0.190.13
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.230.10.11
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.2 0.1 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.12 0.130.09

Characteristics and Range The Willow Flycatcher's emphatic song is a familiar summer sound across much of southern British Columbia, from late May through late July. It breeds in shrubby habitats across several biomes spanning much of central North America from Pacific to Atlantic coasts, south of and slightly overlapping the southern part of the breeding range of its very close relative the Alder Flycatcher. It is a shorter-distance migrant than the Alder Flycatcher, and winters farther north, in Central America and far northern South America.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Willow Flycatcher breeds throughout most of southern and south-central British Columbia, but becomes more sparsely distributed in the northern part of its range. Two subspecies are found in the province: E. t. brewsteri (west of the Coast and Cascade mountains) and E. t. adastus (east of these mountains). A comparison with The Birds of British Columbia published in 1997 suggests that there may have been some northward range expansion, with numerous Atlas records in the northern Central Interior and Sub-Boreal Interior ecoprovinces from Quesnel Lake to the south end of the Northern Rocky Mountain Trench. However, we know of some records from this area as far back as 1963 which were not included in Campbell et al. (1997), so it is uncertain whether this range expansion is real or only apparent.

The highest Probability of Observation and abundance for the Willow Flycatcher is in the Georgia Depression and adjacent southernmost Coast and Mountains ecoprovinces; Campbell et al. (1997) also considered the Georgia Depression to support the highest numbers. It is also numerous in the Southern Interior, part of the Southern Rocky Mountain Trench and the central Chilcotin Plateau. It is most common below 500 m altitude in the interior, and especially below 250 m in coastal areas.

Preferred habitat for this species is dense thickets of willows (Salix species), alders (Alnus species), and other deciduous shrubs or small trees, usually near water or in riparian areas. There are distinct differences in habitat preferences between the southern British Columbia interior and the south coast. On the coast, the species also frequently uses shrub thickets in regenerating cut blocks in dry, upland areas, which it generally does not do east of the Coast and Cascade mountains.

Conservation and Recommendations Breeding Bird Survey results demonstrate a long-term decline in the Willow Flycatcher (Sauer et al. 2014), both continent-wide and in British Columbia, where the rate of decline is higher. The Willow Flycatcher is a frequent host of the parasitic Brown-headed Cowbird (Sedgwick 2000). Campbell et al. (1997) reported that 36% of 210 Willow Flycatcher nests in British Columbia contained cowbird eggs; only 7% on the south coast, but 44% in the southern interior. The subspecies of the Willow Flycatcher breeding farthest southwest, E. t. extimus, is on the United States endangered species list as a result of both habitat loss and cowbird parasitism (Finch and Stoleson 2000). Although Willow Flycatchers in British Columbia are not currently thought to be at risk, they could be in future if high rates of cowbird parasitism persist.

Wayne C. Weber

Recommended citation: Weber, W.C. 2015. Willow Flycatcher in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=WIFL&lang=en [13 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Moucherolle des saules, Alan Burger
Photo © Alan Burger

Photo: Alan Burger
Indices de nidification - Moucherolle des saules
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Moucherolle des saules
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Moucherolle des saules
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Moucherolle des saules
Empidonax traillii

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 1709 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
7
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
89 207 604 430
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -2.06 (-2.88 - -1.24)Medium
Canada1973 - 2012 -1.9 (-2.71 - -1.12)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
   0.180.13 0.2
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
    0.23 0.02
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.120.15 0.18  0.14

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
  0.190.13
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.230.10.11
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.2 0.1 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.12 0.130.09

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition De la fin du mois de mai jusqu'à la fin du mois de juillet, le chant mélancolique du Moucherolle des saules est un son familier que l'on entend durant l'été dans la majeure partie du sud de la Colombie-Britannique. Cette espèce se reproduit dans des habitats arbustifs de nombreux biomes couvrant la plus grande partie du centre de l'Amérique du Nord de la côte du Pacifique jusqu'à la côte de l'Atlantique, chevauchant légèrement l'aire de répartition de nidification de son proche parent, le Moucherolle des aulnes, et s'étendant au sud de la portion méridionale de celle-ci. Le Moucherolle des saules migre sur de plus courtes distances que le Moucherolle des aulnes et hiverne plus au nord, en Amérique centrale et dans l'extrême nord de l'Amérique du Sud.

Répartition, abondance et habitat Le Moucherolle des saules se reproduit dans la majeure partie du sud et du centre-sud de la Colombie-Britannique, mais est plus éparpillé dans le nord de son aire de répartition. Deux sous-espèces sont présentes dans la province : le Moucherolle des saules de la race E. t. brewsteri (à l'ouest de la chaîne Côtière et de la chaîne des Cascades) et le Moucherolle des saules de la race E. t. adastus (à l'est de ces montagnes). Si l'on compare avec le guide The Birds of British Columbia publié en 1997, on observe peut-être une certaine expansion de l'aire de répartition vers le nord si l'on se fie aux nombreux recensements de l'Atlas dans le nord des écroprovinces du Centre intérieur et de l'Intérieur subboréal, du lac Quesnel jusqu'à l'extrême sud du sillon des montagnes Rocheuses du nord. Comme l'étude de Campbell et coll. (1997) ne comprend pas certaines mentions de l'espèce que nous connaissons de cette région et qui datent d'aussi loin que 1963, nous ne sommes pas certains si cette expansion de l'aire de répartition est véritable ou seulement apparente.

La plus haute probabilité d'observation et la présence abondante du Moucherolle des saules se situent dans les écoprovinces de la dépression de Géorgie et des Côtes et montagnes adjacentes qui sont les plus au sud de la province; Campbell et coll. (1997) ont également constaté que la dépression de Géorgie abritait le plus grand nombre de Moucherolles des saules. L'espèce est également nombreuse dans le Sud intérieur, une partie du sillon des montagnes Rocheuses du sud et le centre du plateau Chilcotin. Sa présence est plus courante à moins de 500 m d'altitude dans la zone intérieure, particulièrement en dessous de 250 m dans les zones côtières.

L'habitat préféré de cette espèce est les taillis denses de saules (espèce Salix), d'aulnes (espèce Alnus) et d'autres arbustes feuillus ou de petits arbres, habituellement près de cours d'eau ou de zones riveraines. Des différences fondamentales en ce qui a trait aux préférences d'habitat sont observées entre la zone intérieure méridionale de la Colombie-Britannique et la côte méridionale. Sur la côte, l'espèce occupe fréquemment des bosquets d'arbustes situés dans les zones de coupe de régénération dans les régions plus arides, ce qu'elle ne fait généralement pas dans la chaîne Côtière et la chaîne des Cascades.

Conservation et recommandations Les résultats du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs démontrent un déclin à long terme du Moucherolle des saules (Sauer et coll. 2014) à l'échelle du continent ainsi qu'en Colombie-Britannique, où le taux de décroissance est supérieur. Le Moucherolle des saules est fréquemment l'hôte du Vacher à tête brune (Sedgwick 2000), un parasite. Campbell et coll. (1997) ont signalé que sur 210 nids du Moucherolle des saules en Colombie-Britannique, 36 % d'entre eux contenaient des oeufs de vachers; seulement 7 % sur la côte sud, mais 44 % dans la zone intérieure méridionale. La sous-espèce de la Moucherolle des saules se reproduisant plus loin dans le sud-ouest, la race E. t. extimus figure sur la liste des espèces en péril des États-Unis en raison de la disparition d'habitat et du parasitisme du vacher (Finch et Stoleson 2000). Bien que l'on ne croie pas que le Moucherolle des saules soit en péril pour le moment, ce dernier pourrait l'être à l'avenir si les taux de parasitisme du vacher demeurent élevés.

Wayne C. Weber

Citation recommandée: Weber, W.C. 2015. Moucherolle des saules dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=WIFL&lang=fr [20 sept. 2019]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley