Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
White-throated Sparrow, Christian Artuso
Photo © Christian Artuso

Photo: Christian Artuso
Breeding evidence - White-throated Sparrow
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - White-throated Sparrow
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - White-throated Sparrow
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

White-throated Sparrow
Zonotrichia albicollis
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
227 - 1581 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
93 157 570 528
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 2.47 (1.09 - 3.93)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 -0.298 (-0.644 - 0.103)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.250.72  0.29 0.08
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.250.54 0.81  0.33
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.090.19    0.08

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
0.020.66  
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
  0.170.09
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.07   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
 0.140.050.31

Characteristics and Range A familiar bird for many Canadians, the clear, whistled song of the White-throated Sparrow is recognized by nearly anyone who has spent time in the northern forests during summer. It is one of the most-studied songbirds of North America. The White-throated Sparrow occurs in two colour morphs: one with white head stripes, the other with tan stripes. Males and females are represented equally in each morph, and both morphs occur equally across the species' breeding range. Interestingly, each morph tends to mate with its opposite: a male white-striped with a female tan-striped, or vice-versa; same-morph pairs are relatively rare (Falls and Kopachena 2010). The White-throated Sparrow breeds in boreal and northern temperate forests from the Atlantic Coast westward to the Rocky Mountains and central British Columbia. It winters primarily in the eastern United States, but some winter in a separate range along the Pacific Coast of the United States.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat Within British Columbia, the species breeds mainly east of the Rocky Mountains in the Boreal Plains and Taiga Plains ecoprovinces. However, a significant range expansion into central British Columbia began in the late 1940s (Campbell et al. 2001). This trend has continued even since The Birds of British Columbia was published in 2001. West of the Rockies, the White-throated Sparrow now breeds throughout the central part of the province, west to the Bulkley Valley, south to the Cariboo Plateau and through the Robson Valley, and northwest along the upper reaches of the Liard River.

The White-throated Sparrow is a widespread and locally very common bird across much of northeastern British Columbia. The highest modelled Probability of Observation values are in the Taiga Plains Ecoprovince, near the Liard and Fort Nelson rivers' confluence. However, Atlas point count data show that it is most abundant in the Boreal Plains Ecoprovince; Campbell et al. (2001) state that it is commonest in both the Taiga Plains and Boreal Plains ecoprovinces.

In British Columbia the White-throated Sparrow is closely associated with Trembling Aspen (Populus tremuloides) forest, especially in older, open forest with a brushy understory, in recent cutovers or burns with similar low, brushy habitat, and along open forest edges. The species is also found in lower densities in other deciduous and mixedwood forests as long as brushy understory is present. Dense coniferous forest is typically avoided. This is similar to the habitat used elsewhere in the western parts of its range, but contrasts somewhat with habitat in the east, where conifer-dominated forest is preferred. Brushy habitat and forest edges are used throughout its range (Falls and Kopachena 2010). In British Columbia, the White-throated Sparrow is mainly found between 250 and 1,000 m, and is most abundant at the lower end of this range.

Conservation and Recommendations The White-throated Sparrow is not of conservation concern in British Columbia. In fact, long-term Breeding Bird Survey results show an increasing trend for the province, consistent with the documented range expansion in recent decades. British Columbians will become increasingly familiar with this attractive sparrow as it continues to spread across the province.

Mark Phinney

Recommended citation: Phinney, M. 2015. White-throated Sparrow in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=WTSP&lang=en [10 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Bruant à gorge blanche, Christian Artuso
Photo © Christian Artuso

Photo: Christian Artuso
Indices de nidification - Bruant à gorge blanche
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Bruant à gorge blanche
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Bruant à gorge blanche
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Bruant à gorge blanche
Zonotrichia albicollis

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
227 - 1581 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
93 157 570 528
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 2.47 (1.09 - 3.93)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 -0.298 (-0.644 - 0.103)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.250.72  0.29 0.08
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.250.54 0.81  0.33
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.090.19    0.08

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
0.020.66  
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
  0.170.09
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.07   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
 0.140.050.31

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Un oiseau familier pour de nombreux Canadiens, le chant sifflant et clair du bruant à gorge blanche est reconnu par presque tous ceux qui ont passé du temps dans les forêts nordiques en été. Il est l'un des oiseaux chanteurs les plus étudiés en Amérique du Nord. Le bruant à gorge blanche est retrouvé en deux combinaisons de couleurs différentes : l'une à stries de tête blanche, l'autre à stries bronze). Les mâles et les femelles sont représentés en proportions égales des deux combinaisons et les deux combinaisons sont retrouvées de façon égale dans l'ensemble de l'aire de reproduction de l'espèce. De façon intéressante, chaque combinaison a tendance à se reproduire avec son opposé : un mâle à strie blanche avec une femelle à strie bronze ou l'inverse. Les paires de même combinaison sont assez rares (Falls et Kopachena 2010). Le bruant à gorge blanche se reproduit dans les forêts boréales et tempérées du nord de la côte Atlantique vers l'ouest aux montagnes Rocheuses et au centre de la Colombie-Britannique. Il hiverne principalement dans l'est des États-Unis, mais certains hivernent dans un territoire séparé le long de la côte du Pacifique des États-Unis.

Répartition, abondance et habitat En Colombie-Britannique, l'espèce niche principalement à l'est des Rocheuses, dans les écoprovinces Plaines boréales et Plaines de la Taïga. Toutefois, une importante expansion de son aire dans le centre de la Colombie-Britannique a débuté à la fin des années 1940 (Campbell et coll. 2001). Cette tendance s'est poursuivie depuis la publication de l'ouvrage The Birds of British Columbia en 2001. À l'ouest des Rocheuses, le Bruant à gorge blanche niche maintenant dans toute la partie centrale de la province, à l'ouest de la vallée de Bulkley, au sud du plateau Cariboo et dans la vallée de Robson, et au nord-ouest le long du cours supérieur de la rivière Liard.

Le Bruant à gorge blanche est un oiseau répandu et très commun par endroits dans une grande partie du nord-est de la Colombie-Britannique. On trouve les valeurs les plus élevées du modèle des probabilités d'observation dans l'écoprovince Plaines de la Taïga, près de la confluence des rivières Liard et Fort Nelson. Toutefois, les données des dénombrements par point de l'Atlas indiquent que l'espèce est la plus abondante dans l'écoprovince Plaines boréales; Campbell et coll. (2001) affirment qu'elle est la plus commune dans les écoprovinces Plaines de la Taïga et Plaines boréales.

En Colombie-Britannique, le Bruant à gorge blanche est étroitement lié aux forêts de peupliers faux-trembles (Populus tremuloides), en particulier les forêts ouvertes et plus anciennes comportant un sous-étage broussailleux, dans des terrains récemment déboisés ou des brûlis possédant un habitat bas et broussailleux similaire et le long de lisières de forêts ouvertes. On trouve également l'espèce en plus faible densité dans d'autres forêts de feuillus et mixtes à condition qu'elles possèdent un sous-étage broussailleux. L'oiseau évite généralement les forêts de conifères denses. Cet habitat est similaire à celui qu'il utilise ailleurs dans les parties ouest de son aire, mais contraste quelque peu avec l'habitat dans l'est, où l'espèce privilégie les forêts dominées par des conifères. Dans toute son aire, cet oiseau utilise un habitat broussailleux et en lisière de forêt (Falls et Kopachena 2010). En Colombie-Britannique, le Bruant à gorge blanche se trouve principalement dans la plage d'altitudes de 250 à 1 000 m, et il est le plus abondant près de la valeur inférieure de cette plage d'altitudes.

Conservation et recommandations Le bruant à gorge blanche n'est pas une préoccupation de conservation en Colombie-Britannique. En effet, les données à long terme du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs démontrent une tendance à la hausse pour la province qui est constante à l'agrandissement enregistré au cours des dernières décennies. Les Britanno-colombiens deviendront de plus en plus familiers avec ce bruant attrayant au fur et à mesure de son expansion dans la province.

Mark Phinney

Citation recommandée: Phinney, M. 2015. Bruant à gorge blanche dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=WTSP&lang=fr [03 juin 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley