Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
White-throated Swift, Glenn Bartley
Photo © Glenn Bartley

Photo: Glenn Bartley
Breeding evidence - White-throated Swift
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - White-throated Swift
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - White-throated Swift
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

White-throated Swift
Aeronautes saxatalis
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
308 - 1259 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
7
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
15 21 35 20
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1973 - 2012 -1.47 (-8.16 - 5.53)Low
Canada1973 - 2012 -1.47 (-8.16 - 5.53)Low

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
   0.150.3  
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
       
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.220.46 0.15   

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
  0.47 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
   0.22
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.1   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.11   

Characteristics and Range The White-throated Swift lives up to its "swift" epithet, streaking across the clear blue skies of interior valleys, dashing at high speeds into nesting crevices in massive rock bluffs. It is usually first detected by its loud, chattering calls, and when seen identification can be confirmed by the white throat and swept-back, sickle-shaped wings that distinguish it from the Violet-green Swallows it often keeps company with. This swift breeds from drier valleys in the southern interior of British Columbia and south through the Mexican Sierra Madre, and winters from the southwestern deserts of the United States through northern Central America.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The White-throated Swift breeds from the Chilcotin and Clearwater rivers south through the Central Interior, Southern Interior and Southern Interior Mountains ecoprovinces. Within those regions, it is found in the Bunchgrass, Ponderosa Pine, Interior Douglas-fir and Interior Cedar-Hemlock biogeoclimatic zones. The distribution found during the Atlas project is similar to that known when The Birds of British Columbia was published in 1990, except that the Atlas documents a northern range expansion up the North Thompson River into the Clearwater River drainage, a breeding site in the Slocan Valley, and a slightly more expanded range up the Chilcotin River valley. Atlas records range up to 1,250 m elevation, but most are below 750 m.

The provincial population of White-throated Swifts is unknown, although Richardson (2000) estimated the Okanagan Valley breeding population (arguably a good proportion of the provincial population, as suggested by the Probability of Observation model) to be approximately 750 birds. The species is a relatively new arrival in British Columbia; it was first recorded in 1907 at Vaseux Lake and has spread north slowly but continually since then (Cannings et al. 1987, Campbell et al. 1990).

White-throated Swifts are closely associated with rock and silt cliffs with suitable crevices for nesting; aerial foraging occurs over a variety of habitats near these features (Ryan and Collins 2000).

Conservation and Recommendations An expanding range over the last century indicated that the species was secure, however, recent declines for a suite of aerial insectivores, including this species in British Columbia, resulted in the White-throated Swift being placed on the British Columbia Blue List in 2015. Richardson (2000) investigated the impact that rock-climbers might have on the breeding success of the species at popular climbing sites in the Okanagan Valley and found no adverse effects. The swifts' breeding cliffs are by their very nature rather free from other threats of habitat loss.

Richard J. Cannings

Recommended citation: Cannings, R.J. 2015. White-throated Swift in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=WTSW&lang=en [10 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Martinet à gorge blanche, Glenn Bartley
Photo © Glenn Bartley

Photo: Glenn Bartley
Indices de nidification - Martinet à gorge blanche
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Martinet à gorge blanche
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Martinet à gorge blanche
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Martinet à gorge blanche
Aeronautes saxatalis

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
308 - 1259 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
7
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
15 21 35 20
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1973 - 2012 -1.47 (-8.16 - 5.53)Low
Canada1973 - 2012 -1.47 (-8.16 - 5.53)Low

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
   0.150.3  
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
       
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.220.46 0.15   

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
  0.47 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
   0.22
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.1   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.11   

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le martinet à gorge blanche est très rapide, créant des tracés dans le ciel clair et bleu des vallées de l'intérieur, fonçant à de hautes vitesses dans les crevasses de nidification des grandes falaises rocheuses. Il est normalement initialement détecté par ses cris forts jacassants et, une fois aperçu, on peut l'identifier à sa gorge blanche et ses ailes repliées vers l'arrière en forme de faucille qui le distingue de l'hirondelle à face blanche à laquelle il tient souvent compagnie. Ce bruant se reproduit dans les vallées plus sèches dans le sud de l'intérieur de la Colombie-Britannique et vers le sud dans la Sierra Madre mexicaine et il hiverne des déserts du sud-ouest des États-Unis jusque dans le nord de l'Amérique Centrale.

Répartition, abondance et habitat L'aire de nidification du Martinet à gorge blanche s'étend depuis les rivières Chilcotin et Clearwater vers le sud dans les écoprovinces Intérieur centre, Intérieur sud et Montagnes intérieures du sud. Dans ces régions, on le trouve dans les zones biogéoclimatiques de la prairie, du pin ponderosa, du douglas taxifolié de l'intérieur et des cèdres et des pruches de l'intérieur. La distribution déterminée durant le projet de l'Atlas est similaire à celle connue lorsque The Birds of British Columbia a été publié en 1990, à l'exception du fait que l'Atlas documente une expansion de son aire vers le nord jusqu'à la rivière Thompson nord, dans le bassin de drainage de la rivière Clearwater, un site de reproduction dans la vallée de la Slocan, et une aire légèrement plus grande jusqu'à la vallée de la rivière Chilcotin. Les relevés de l'Atlas vont jusqu'à 1 250 m d'altitude, mais la plupart ont été effectués sous les 750 m.

La population provinciale du Martinet à gorge blanche n'est pas connue, bien que selon Richardson (2000), la population reproductrice de la vallée de l'Okanagan (sans aucun doute, une bonne proportion de la population provinciale, comme le laisse apparaître le modèle des probabilités d'observation) serait d'environ 750 oiseaux. L'espèce est relativement nouvelle en Colombie-Britannique; elle a été enregistrée pour la première fois en 1907, au lac Vaseux et s'est répandue vers le nord lentement, mais de façon continue, depuis lors (Cannings et coll. 1987, Campbell et coll. 1990).

Le Martinet à gorge blanche est étroitement lié aux falaises de roches et de limon comportant des crevasses appropriées pour la nidification; il s'alimente en vol au-dessus d'une variété d'habitats près de ces environnements (Ryan and Collins 2000).

Conservation et recommandations Une gamme croissante au cours du siècle dernier a indiqué que l'espèce a été sécurisé, cependant, les récentes baisses pour une suite d'insectivores aériens, y compris cette espèce en Colombie-Britannique, a abouti à Le Martinet à gorge blanche étant placé sur la liste bleue en Colombie-Britannique en 2015. Richardson (2000) a étudié les effets que pourraient avoir les grimpeurs sur la réussite de la reproduction de l'espèce à des sites d'escalade populaires de la vallée de l'Okanagan et n'a observé aucun effet néfaste. Les falaises de reproduction du bruant sont, de par leur nature, sans autres menaces de perte d'habitat.

Richard J. Cannings

Citation recommandée: Cannings, R.J. 2015. Martinet à gorge blanche dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=WTSW&lang=fr [02 juin 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley