Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
American Dipper, Tania Simpson
Photo © Tania Simpson

Photo: Tania Simpson
Breeding evidence - American Dipper
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - American Dipper
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - American Dipper
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

American Dipper
Cinclus mexicanus
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 2272 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
5
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
144 36 220 20
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -1.7 (-5.76 - 1.98)Low
Canada1973 - 2012 -1.41 (-5.72 - 2.4)Low

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
   0.060.04 0.05
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
    0.03  
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.04  0.06  0.09

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
   0.05
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.050.020.08
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.08   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.05   

Characteristics and Range It is a constant delight to watch this chunky, grey bird disappear below the water of a fast-flowing river only to emerge shortly and bob up and down on a rock at the water's edge. The American Dipper is resident on fast-flowing mountain streams and cold coastal streams from Alaska and Yukon south through the mountains of western North America and Mexico south to Central America (Willson and Kingery 2011). It winters throughout its breeding range with some short-distance altitudinal migration in colder regions.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The American Dipper is a relatively widespread resident across most of southern British Columbia, particularly in the southwest and southeast, and a sparsely distributed resident elsewhere. This pattern matches Campbell et al. (1997). Nesting is generally below 1,000 m on the coast and usually above 1,000 m in the interior.

It is generally uncommon, even in the areas of highest Probability of Observation in the Georgia Depression, Coast and Mountains, and Southern Interior Mountains ecoprovinces. Campbell et al. (1997) considered it most numerous in the Southern Interior Mountains Ecoprovince. The American Dipper is difficult to survey using randomised point counts due to its narrow, linear habitat preferences, and too few Atlas data were collected to calculate abundance.

The American Dipper prefers shallow margins of rapids and riffles in fast-moving, clear, unpolluted streams and around the rocky edges of lakes year-round. This habitat specificity is reflected in the highest PObs values being in the regions of the province that support the highest density of fast-flowing, clear-water, unpolluted streams.

Conservation and Recommendations There are no known conservation concerns for this species, although results from the Breeding Bird Survey and Christmas Bird Counts suggest a moderate decrease in the Canadian population since the early 1970s, including in British Columbia (Environment Canada 2011, 2014). American Dippers are dependent upon the maintenance of unpolluted water quality and the protection of riparian habitat; their sensitivity to these two features makes them an indicator of stream health (Willson and Kingery 2011).

Art Martell

Recommended citation: Martell, A. 2015. American Dipper in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=AMDI&lang=en [11 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Cincle d'Amérique, Tania Simpson
Photo © Tania Simpson

Photo: Tania Simpson
Indices de nidification - Cincle d'Amérique
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Cincle d'Amérique
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Cincle d'Amérique
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Cincle d'Amérique
Cinclus mexicanus

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 2272 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
5
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
144 36 220 20
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -1.7 (-5.76 - 1.98)Low
Canada1973 - 2012 -1.41 (-5.72 - 2.4)Low

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
   0.060.04 0.05
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
    0.03  
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.04  0.06  0.09

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
   0.05
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.050.020.08
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.08   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.05   

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition C'est un plaisir sans cesse renouvelé que de regarder ce petit costaud au plumage gris disparaître sous la surface d'une rivière au cours rapide pour émerger aussitôt et faire sa petite danse sur une roche au bord de l'eau. Le Cincle d'Amérique habite les torrents et les froids cours d'eau côtiers des montagnes de l'ouest de l'Amérique du Nord, de l'Alaska et du Yukon au nord jusqu'au Mexique et en Amérique centrale au sud (Willson et Kingery 2011). Il hiverne sur l'ensemble de sa zone de reproduction, avec une migration altitudinale à courte distance dans les régions plus froides.

Répartition, abondance et habitat Le Cincle d'Amérique est un résident relativement courant dans une grande partie du sud de la Colombie-Britannique, particulièrement dans le sud-ouest et le sud-est. On le retrouve également un peu ailleurs. Cette distribution correspond aux observations de Campbell et coll. (1997). Généralement, le Cincle d'Amérique construit son nid à moins de 1 000 m sur les côtes et au-dessus de 1 000 m à l'intérieur.

Il est généralement peu courant même dans les régions offrant une probabilité d'observation très élevée dans les écoprovinces de la dépression de Géorgie, des côtes et montagnes, et des montagnes du sud de l'intérieur. Selon Campbell et coll. (1997), il se retrouve en plus grand nombre dans l'écoprovince des montagnes du sud de l'intérieur. Il est difficile d'étudier le Cincle d'Amérique en faisant un dénombrement ponctuel aléatoire en raison de ses préférences, linéaires et limitées, en matière d'habitat. Trop peu de données ont été recueillies pour en calculer l'abondance.

Le Cincle d'Amérique préfère vivre sur les bords peu profonds des rapides, dans les courants dont l'eau claire et non polluée s'écoule à grande vitesse et autour des crêtes rocheuses des lacs, et ce, toute l'année. Cette particularité de son habitat offre des taux de probabilité d'observation très élevés dans les régions de la province où l'on trouve la plus forte densité de cours d'eau claire et non polluée à débit rapide.

Conservation et recommandations Il n'y a pas de préoccupation connue pour la conservation de cette espèce, bien que les résultats du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs et du Recensement des oiseaux de Noël laissent entrevoir une modeste diminution de la population canadienne depuis le début des années 1970, y compris en Colombie-Britannique (Environnement Canada 2011, 2014). Le Cincle d'Amérique a besoin d'eau pure et dépend donc de la protection de l'habitat riverain. La sensibilité de cet oiseau à ces deux caractéristiques en fait un bon indicateur de la santé des cours d'eau (Willson et Kingery 2011).

Art Martell

Citation recommandée: Martell, A. 2015. Cincle d'Amérique dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=AMDI&lang=fr [24 févr. 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley