Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
American Kestrel, Laure Wilson Neish
Photo © Laure Wilson Neish

Photo: Laure Wilson Neish
Breeding evidence - American Kestrel
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - American Kestrel
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - American Kestrel
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

American Kestrel
Falco sparverius
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
1 - 1397 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
7
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
146 201 506 163
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -1.58 (-3.35 - 0.775)Medium
Canada1970 - 2012 -1.55 (-2.23 - -0.678)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.070.03 0.080.06 0.06
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.070.03 0.020.06 0.07
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.070.05 0.08  0.06

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.030.070.06
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.07 0.05
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.08 0.06 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.07 0.040.05

Characteristics and Range The American Kestrel, a brightly-coloured small falcon, not much bigger than a Steller's Jay, is perhaps North America's most common bird of prey. The plumage of the male is a lovely mixture of oranges, rusts, buffs and blues; the female is less strikingly coloured. The American Kestrel breeds across a wide swath of North America from the northern edge of the Boreal Forest southwards through Central and most of South America (Smallwood and Bird 2002). Most northern breeders migrate to the southern half of North America to overwinter.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat In British Columbia, the American Kestrel is widespread across the central-southern interior and the northeast, but more sparsely distributed in coastal regions and the northwest. This distribution has not changed greatly from when The Birds of British Columbia was published in 1990.

The Probability of Observation model refines the picture of distribution, highlighting the Okanagan, Thompson-Nicola and middle Fraser valleys as the most likely areas to find the American Kestrel, with extensive moderately high PObs values through the Peace, Fort Nelson and Liard river lowlands, and in the Southern Rocky Mountain Trench. Atlas point counts indicate the bird is most common in the Southern Interior Ecoprovince, and that abundance decreases gradually with increasing latitude. American Kestrels are most common at mid-elevations, between 250 and 1,250 m, and in the Ponderosa Pine, Interior Douglas-fir and Bunchgrass biogeoclimatic zones.

The species prefers to breed in or close to grassy habitats that support a plentiful supply of its invertebrate prey, like grasshoppers, though it will occasionally take small vertebrates. It is a secondary cavity nester, preferring to nest in a woodpecker-excavated treehole, or perhaps in a crevice in a cliff or even a building. It frequently uses nest boxes, especially in places that have seen much human modification including removal of potential nesting sites (i.e., old trees and snags).

Conservation and Recommendations The American Kestrel is one of many open-area species that likely benefited from land clearance in the 19th and early 20th centuries, but has subsequently declined where cleared land has reverted to forest. It is still regarded as North America's most common raptor, but Breeding Bird Survey data show significant long-term declines across Canada and in British Columbia (Environment Canada 2014). The reasons for the decline are not well known (Environment Canada 2011), but the trend toward more intensive industrial agriculture may be reducing habitat quality, including nest site and prey availability (Smallwood and Bird 2002), particularly on wintering grounds. Despite declines in the north, this species has maintained a stable population across its overall range in North and South America.

Brian Starzomski

Recommended citation: Starzomski, B. 2015. American Kestrel in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=AMKE&lang=en [10 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Crécerelle d'Amérique, Laure Wilson Neish
Photo © Laure Wilson Neish

Photo: Laure Wilson Neish
Indices de nidification - Crécerelle d'Amérique
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Crécerelle d'Amérique
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Crécerelle d'Amérique
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Crécerelle d'Amérique
Falco sparverius

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
1 - 1397 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
7
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
146 201 506 163
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -1.58 (-3.35 - 0.775)Medium
Canada1970 - 2012 -1.55 (-2.23 - -0.678)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.070.03 0.080.06 0.06
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.070.03 0.020.06 0.07
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.070.05 0.08  0.06

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.030.070.06
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.07 0.05
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.08 0.06 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.07 0.040.05

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition La Crécerelle d'Amérique, un faucon aux couleurs vives guère plus grand qu'un Geai de Steller, est peut-être l'oiseau de proie le plus commun d'Amérique du Nord. Le plumage du mâle est un ravissant mélange de tons orangés, rouille, chamois et bleus; celui de la femelle est moins voyant. La Crécerelle d'Amérique se reproduit sur une large bande qui traverse le continent américain, de la lisière nord de la forêt boréale jusqu'en Amérique centrale, et se prolonge sur une bonne partie de l'Amérique du Sud (Smallwood et Bird 2002). La plupart des individus qui nidifient au nord migrent vers la moitié sud de l'Amérique du Nord pour y passer l'hiver.

Répartition, abondance et habitat En Colombie-Britannique, la Crécerelle d'Amérique se retrouve dans le centre-sud intérieur et le nord-est, mais plus rarement dans les régions côtières ou du nord-ouest. Cette distribution n'a pas beaucoup changé depuis la publication de The Birds of British Columbia en 1990.

Le modèle de la probabilité d'observation peaufine le tableau de la distribution, en mettant l'accent sur les vallées d'Okanagan, de Thompson-Nicola et du cours moyen du Fraser, qui sont les régions où il est plus probable de trouver la Crécerelle d'Amérique. Les taux de probabilité d'observation sont moyennement élevés dans les basses terres des rivières Peace, Fort Nelson et Liard ainsi que dans le sillon des Rocheuses du Sud. Les dénombrements ponctuels effectués pour l'Atlas indiquent que l'oiseau est plus courant dans l'écoprovince du sud intérieur et que son abondance décroît progressivement à mesure que la latitude augmente. Les Crécerelles d'Amérique se retrouvent surtout dans les régions de moyenne altitude, soit entre 250 et 1 250 m et dans les zones du pin ponderosa, du pin douglas de l'intérieur et des graminées en touffe.

L'espèce préfère se reproduire à l'intérieur ou à proximité d'habitats herbeux qui offrent une bonne quantité d'invertébrés, comme les criquets, bien qu'elle se nourrisse à l'occasion de petits vertébrés. C'est une espèce secondaire qui niche dans les cavités, préférant nicher dans un trou creusé par un pic ou dans l'anfractuosité d'un rocher ou même d'un immeuble. Elle utilise souvent des nichoirs, particulièrement ceux qui sont situés dans les lieux ayant été fortement modifiés, y compris par l'enlèvement des sites possibles de nidification (c.-à-d. de vieux arbres et des chicots d'arbre).

Conservation et recommandations La Crécerelle d'Amérique est une des nombreuses espèces à aire ouverte qui a vraisemblablement bénéficié du défrichage effectué au 19e siècle et au début du 20e siècle, mais dont la population a baissé lorsque la forêt a de nouveau envahi les terres défrichées. Elle est considérée comme l'oiseau de proie le plus répandu en Amérique du Nord mais les données du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs montrent d'importants déclins à long terme dans l'ensemble du Canada et de la Colombie-Britannique (Environnement Canada 2014). Les raisons de ce déclin sont mal connues (Environnement Canada 2011), mais il est probable que l'agriculture industrielle plus intensive soit en train de réduire la qualité de l'habitat, y compris les sites de nidification et la disponibilité des proies (Smallwood et Bird 2002), en particulier sur les terrains d'hivernage. Malgré son déclin dans le Nord, cette espèce a maintenu sa population dans l'ensemble de son aire de reproduction en Amérique du Nord et en Amérique du Sud.

Brian Starzomski

Citation recommandée: Starzomski, B. 2015. Crécerelle d'Amérique dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=AMKE&lang=fr [28 sept. 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley