Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Baird's Sandpiper, Cameron Eckhert
Photo © Cameron Eckhert

Photo: Cameron Eckhert
Breeding evidence - Baird's Sandpiper
Breeding evidence

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Baird's Sandpiper
Calidris bairdii

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
107 - 107 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
7
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
0 1 0 0
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
BBS trends are not available for this species

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
       
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
       
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
       

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Characteristics and Range For most British Columbian birders, experience with the Baird's Sandpiper is limited to encounters with juveniles during fall migration; only relatively recently was it learned that Baird's Sandpipers breed in the province. The breeding range spans the High Arctic from northeast Siberia across Canada to western Greenland, and some mountain ranges slightly farther south (Moskoff and Montgomerie 2002, Dement'ev and Gladkov 1951). The long-distance migration in this species is unusual, with young of the year dispersing widely across the continent and adults migrating very quickly down the cordilleras, stopping mostly at high elevation sites. Wintering is mostly in southwest South America, both along the coast and up to 4,000 m in the Chilean Andes (Moskoff and Montgomerie 2002).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat Van Damme (2007) reviewed the records suggestive of breeding in British Columbia, which date back to the 1970's. The first confirmed breeding was a newly hatched chick in July 1996 in muskeg habitat in the Haines Triangle (Campbell et al. 2001). Moskoff and Montgomerie 2002 fail to map this area, and it is not shown on maps in any popular field guide. Van Damme (2007) also notes finding at least three pairs of Baird's Sandpipers at Kelsall Lake, including a pair with 4 chicks and another pair at Kusawak Lake with a single chick. All of these records are within the Northern Boreal Mountains Ecoprovince.

The sole record during the Atlas period is of a bird flight singing over the sparsely vegetated terminal moraine that forms the edge of a glacial lake at the Netland Glacier, by the Alsek River, 85 km west of the previously documented breeding areas in the Haines Triangle. Flight singing in this species is described in Miller et al. (1988). This record, in the Southern Alaska Mountains Ecoprovince, was relatively late in the breeding season (17 July 2010); clutch completion as late as 21 July has been noted elsewhere in the species range (Moskoff and Montgomerie 2002).

Habitats used for breeding in North America vary widely, including dry tundra, wet muskeg, alpine slopes and terraces, on moist and drier ground, bare and vegetated, often in matrices (Myers et al. 1982, Moskoff and Montgomerie 2002). The species uses areas that are free of snow early in the season (Parmelee et al. 1967). Given the large area in which the species breeds and movement of chicks soon after hatching, regional and temporal differences in habitat use are likely. In British Columbia, Van Damme (2007) found chicks in muskeg habitats.

Conservation and Recommendations The Haines Triangle area of British Columbia is poorly known and has some of them most recent breeding bird discoveries in the province. Species such as Baird's Sandpiper, Parasitic Jaeger and perhaps others appear to be breeding there in isolated populations far from the majority of these species' ranges. A more complete picture of the avifauna of this unusual part of the province is needed.

David F. Fraser

Recommended citation: Fraser, D.F. 2015. Baird's Sandpiper in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BASA&lang=en [11 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Bécasseau de Baird, Cameron Eckhert
Photo © Cameron Eckhert

Photo: Cameron Eckhert
Indices de nidification - Bécasseau de Baird
Indices de nidification

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Bécasseau de Baird
Calidris bairdii

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
107 - 107 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
7
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
0 1 0 0
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Les tendances BBS ne sont pas disponibles pour cette espèce

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
       
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
       
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
       

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Pour la plupart des ornithologues amateurs de la Colombie-Britannique, l'observation du Bécasseau de Baird se limite à des spécimens juvéniles durant la migration d'automne. C'est plutôt récemment que l'on a découvert que l'espèce nichait également dans la province. L'aire de reproduction couvre le haut Arctique du nord-est de la Sibérie à l'ouest du Groenland en passant par le Canada, ainsi que certaines chaînes de montagnes légèrement plus au sud (Moskoff et Montgomerie 2002, Dement'ev et Gladkov 1951). La migration à longue distance de cette espèce est inhabituelle : les jeunes de l'année se dispersent à l'échelle du continent tandis que les adultes migrent très rapidement vers le sud en suivant les cordillères, s'arrêtant surtout à des endroits à haute altitude. L'espèce passe surtout l'hiver dans le sud-ouest de l'Amérique du Sud, tant le long de la côte que jusqu'à une altitude de 4 000 m dans les Andes chiliennes (Moskoff et Montgomerie 2002).

Répartition, abondance et habitat Van Damme (2007) a examiné les mentions suggérant la reproduction en Colombie-Britannique, certaines remontant aux années 1970. La première reproduction confirmée est un oisillon tout juste sorti de l'oeuf, en juillet 1996, dans une fondrière du triangle de Haines (Campbell et coll. 2001). L'étude Moskoff et Montgomerie 2002 n'est pas parvenue à cartographier ce secteur, et celui-ci n'apparaît pas non plus sur aucune carte d'un guide de poche populaire. Van Damme (2007) note également l'observation d'au moins trois couples de Bécasseaux de Baird au lac Kelsall, don't un couple avec 4 oisillons et un couple avec un seul oisillon au lac Kusawak. Toutes ces mentions ont été relevées dans l'écoprovince des Montagnes boréales du Nord.

L'unique mention durant la période de collecte de données de l'Atlas est celle d'un vol d'oiseaux chantant au-dessus de la moraine terminale pauvre en végétation qui se forme au bord d'un lac glaciaire du glacier Netland, près de la rivière Alsek, 85 km à l'ouest des régions de nidification documentées du triangle de Haines. Le chant en vol de cette espèce est décrit dans Miller et al. (1988). Cette mention a été recueillie dans l'écoprovince des Montagnes de l'Alaska du Sud à une date plutôt tardive de la saison de reproduction (17 juillet 2010); l'on a observé cette espèce pondre jusqu'au 21 juillet dans d'autres régions de son aire de répartition (Moskoff et Montgomerie 2002).

Les milieux de reproduction en Amérique du Nord varient grandement et vont de la toundra sèche à la fondrière humide, en passant par les pentes et terrasses alpines et les sols humides, secs, nus ou touffus, souvent en matrices (Myers et coll. 1982, Moskoff et Montgomerie 2002). L'espèce utilise des régions qui sont exemptes de neige tôt dans la saison (Parmelee et al. 1967). Étant donné la vaste étendue de l'aire de reproduction de l'espèce et le déplacement hâtif des oisillons après la naissance, on présume qu'il y a probablement des différences régionales et temporelles dans l'utilisation du milieu. En Colombie-Britannique Van Damme (2007) a trouvé des oisillons dans des fondrières.

Conservation et recommandations La région du triangle de Haines, en Colombie-Britannique, est méconnue. C'est là que l'on a réalisé des découvertes parmi les plus récentes de la province en ce qui concerne les oiseaux nicheurs. Pour le bécasseau de Baird, le labbe parasite et possiblement d'autres espèces, il s'agit d'un lieu de nidification situé à l'écart du reste de l'aire de répartition habituelle. Il faut obtenir un tableau plus complet de l'avifaune de cette région inhabituelle de la province.

David F. Fraser

Citation recommandée: Fraser, D.F. 2015. Bécasseau de Baird dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BASA&lang=fr [28 sept. 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley