Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Black-chinned Hummingbird, Tania Simpson
Photo © Tania Simpson

Photo: Tania Simpson
Breeding evidence - Black-chinned Hummingbird
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Black-chinned Hummingbird
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Black-chinned Hummingbird
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Black-chinned Hummingbird
Archilochus alexandri
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
259 - 1136 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
7
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
26 27 77 10
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1971 - 2012 0.111 (-7.99 - 8.37)Low
Canada1971 - 2012 0.111 (-7.99 - 8.37)Low

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
   0.080.1  
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
       
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.1  0.08   

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
  0.08 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
   0.11
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.1   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Characteristics and Range At first glance, the Black-chinned Hummingbird may seem oddly misnamed; especially when the sun catches a bright violet band across the adult male's gorget. It is the chin and upper throat area that is "velvety black" (Baltosser and Russel 2000). The breeding range extends through western North America from the central highlands of Mexico to its northern limit in southern British Columbia (Baltosser and Russel 2000). Most Black-chinned Hummingbirds overwinter along the southwestern Pacific coast of Mexico.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Black-chinned Hummingbird has been expanding its range in British Columbia since it was first recorded in the early 1900s (Munro and Cowan 1947, Campbell et al. 1990). The Atlas results document a continuation of this expansion, from the population core in the Okanagan and Similkameen valleys of the Southern Interior Ecoprovince, into the Shuswap, Thompson-Nicola, Creston Valley, and Southern Rocky Mountain Trench areas; with scattered possible breeding records in the Cariboo-Chilcotin region of the Central Interior Ecoprovince. This northern expansion has continued since the Atlas survey period, as confirmed by banding records (A. Moran pers. obs.). It is probably most easily detected at feeders and may have been overlooked in some Atlas squares.

The Probability of Observation data closely matched the distribution noted above, suggesting that the Southern Interior Mountains and Southern Interior ecoprovinces now share the core of the provincial population. Too few data were collected on point counts to draw firm conclusions on abundance. Most records were from the Interior Douglas-fir Biogeoclimatic Zone from 250 to 1,000 m. The Pobs model indicated there was a similar likelihood of finding the species in the Bunchgrass and Ponderosa Pine biogeoclimatic zones also, neither of which had many records.

The Black-chinned Hummingbird usually nests in deciduous trees and shrubs. In British Columbia, it is most often found at low-mid elevations in areas with riparian woodland, human habitation, or orchards. Farther south, this hummingbird is found in a wide range of habitats, from urban to natural or disturbed landscapes, in semi-arid or desert areas near water, as well as in riparian areas and open woodland. One study suggests nests clustered in close proximity to Accipiter nests enjoy higher reproductive success from reduced predation (Greeney and Wethington 2009).

Conservation and Recommendations There are no conservation concerns for the Black-chinned Hummingbird given its long-term range expansion (British Columbia Conservation Data Centre 2014). Population trends and distribution should continue to be monitored via banding (Finlay 2007). Birders are encouraged to document the expanding range of the species, especially records indicating breeding, by reporting sightings through programs like eBird.

Alison Moran and David F. Fraser

Recommended citation: Moran, A. and Fraser, D.F. 2015. Black-chinned Hummingbird in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BCHU&lang=en [16 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Colibri à gorge noire, Tania Simpson
Photo © Tania Simpson

Photo: Tania Simpson
Indices de nidification - Colibri à gorge noire
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Colibri à gorge noire
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Colibri à gorge noire
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Colibri à gorge noire
Archilochus alexandri

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
259 - 1136 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
7
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
26 27 77 10
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1971 - 2012 0.111 (-7.99 - 8.37)Low
Canada1971 - 2012 0.111 (-7.99 - 8.37)Low

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
   0.080.1  
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
       
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.1  0.08   

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
  0.08 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
   0.11
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.1   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition À première vue, le colibri à gorge noire a l'air d'être mal nommé, surtout lorsque la lumière capte la bande violet vif sur le gorget du mâle adulte. C'est la zone de son menton et du haut de sa gorge qui est « noir velouté » (Baltosser et Russel 2000). Leur étendue de reproduction s'étend à travers l'ouest de l'Amérique du Nord à compter du plateau intérieur du Mexique jusqu'à son extrémité nord dans le sud de la Colombie-Britannique (Baltosser et Russel 2000). La majorité des colibris à gorge noire hivernent le long de la côte du sud-ouest du Mexique.

Répartition, abondance et habitat Le Colibri à gorge noire a agrandi son aire de répartition en Colombie-Britannique depuis qu'il a été relevé pour la première fois au début des années 1900 (Munro et Cowan 1947, Campbell et coll. 1990). L'Atlas documente une poursuite de cette expansion, depuis le noyau de la population dans les vallées de l'Okanagan et de Similkameen de l'écoprovince Intérieur sud, jusque dans les zones de Shuswap, de Thompson-Nicola, de la vallée de Creston et du sillon des Rocheuses du Sud; avec quelques éventuels relevés de reproduction épars dans la région de Cariboo-Chilcotin de l'écoprovince Intérieur centre. Cette expansion au nord s'est poursuivie depuis la période de relevé de l'Atlas, comme l'ont confirmé des dossiers de baguage (observations personnelles d'A. Moran). On le détecte sans doute plus facilement aux mangeoires et pourrait avoir été négligé dans certaines zones de l'Atlas.

Les données sur la probabilité d'observation correspondent de près aux données sur la répartition indiquées plus haut, ce qui laisse à penser que les écoprovinces Montagnes intérieures du sud et Intérieur sud se partagent désormais le noyau de la population provinciale. Trop peu de données ont été recueillies lors des dénombrements par point pour pouvoir tirer des conclusions fermes sur l'abondance. La plupart des relevés provenaient de la zone biogéoclimatique du Douglas taxifolié de l'intérieur, entre 250 et 1 000 m d'altitude. Le modèle des probabilités d'observation indiquait qu'il y avait autant de probabilité de trouver l'espèce dans la zone biogéoclimatique de la prairie que dans celle du pin ponderosa. Par ailleurs, les relevés étaient également peu nombreux pour ces deux zones.

Le Colibri à gorge noire niche habituellement dans des arbres et arbustes à feuilles caduques. En Colombie-Britannique, on le trouve le plus souvent à des altitudes basses et moyennes dans des régions comportant des forêts riveraines, des habitations humaines ou des vergers. Plus au sud, ce colibri est observé dans un vaste éventail d'habitats, dans des paysages urbains, naturels ou perturbés, dans des zones semi-arides ou désertiques près de points d'eau, ainsi que dans des zones riveraines et des boisements ouverts. Une étude laisse entendre que les nids groupés à proximité des nids d'Accipiter affichent un plus grand succès de reproduction en raison d'une réduction de la prédation (Greeney et Wethington 2009).

Conservation et recommandations Il n'existe aucune préoccupation de conservation pour le colibri à gorge noire étant donné l'expansion à long terme de son étendue (British Columbia Conservation Data Centre 2014). Les tendances et la répartition des populations devraient continuer à être surveillées par baguage (Finlay 2007). On encourage les observateurs d'oiseaux d'enregistrer le territoire agrandissant de l'espèce, et surtout des dossiers concernant la reproduction, en déclarant les repérages par l'entremise de programmes comme eBird.

Alison Moran and David F. Fraser

Citation recommandée: Moran, A. and Fraser, D.F. 2015. Colibri à gorge noire dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BCHU&lang=fr [30 nov. 2022]

Birds Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Birds Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@birdscanada.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley