Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Blue-headed Vireo, Christian Artuso
Photo © Christian Artuso

Photo: Christian Artuso
Breeding evidence - Blue-headed Vireo
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Blue-headed Vireo
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Blue-headed Vireo
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Blue-headed Vireo
Vireo solitarius
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
278 - 1243 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
7
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
12 17 151 94
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 1.15 (-4.11 - 6.68)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 4.25 (2.44 - 5.5)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.050.05  0.09  
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.050.05 0.06  0.09
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
       

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.06  
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
 0.06 0.09

Characteristics and Range This brightly-coloured vireo is easily recognized by its blue-gray head and bright white 'spectacles'. For approximately four decades, the Blue-headed Vireo was considered a subspecies in the Solitary Vireo complex, but has since been restored to full species status (Banks et al. 1997). The species breeds from the Atlantic coast south through the Appalachian Mountains, and west through temperate and southern boreal forests to the Rocky Mountain foothills, reaching its westernmost limit in northeastern British Columbia. It winters in the Southern Coastal Plains of the southeastern United States, south through Mexico to the mountainous regions of Central America. Throughout its Canadian breeding range, it is the only vireo found in conifer-dominated or mixedwood forests (Morton and James 2014). Its song is generally pure tone, but in the western extremes of its range can have the frequency modulation, or burry quality, characteristic of Cassin's Vireo (Semenchuk 1992), potentially complicating identification where either species could be present.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat In British Columbia, the species is mostly found east of the Rocky Mountains, centred in the Boreal and Taiga Plains ecoprovinces and extending into the Sub-Boreal Interior Ecoprovince, in the foothills and low-elevation river valleys east of the Rocky Mountain crest. A smattering of Atlas records from the Northern Boreal Mountains Ecoprovince lie west and north of the Rocky Mountains, within the normal range of Cassin's Vireo. The Blue-headed Vireo is more widespread now than when The Birds of British Columbia was published in 1997, especially in the Taiga Plains.

The most extensive high Probability of Observation values were in the Peace River and Fort Nelson River lowlands, closely matching the breeding evidence distribution. The PObs model also predicted high likelihood of occurrence along the Liard River and into the Northern Rocky Mountain Trench, where there were many fewer Atlas records. Point counts confirmed the provincial centre of abundance remains in the Boreal and Taiga Plains ecoprovinces.

Within British Columbia, the Blue-headed Vireo is a characteristic bird of mature and old mixedwood forest, White Spruce (Picea glauca) and Trembling Aspen (Populus tremuloides) stands in particular (Phinney 1998), but pairs are generally widely spaced (Morton and James 2014). Lower densities may be found in pine-aspen or spruce-cottonwood stands. It is rarely found in pure coniferous or deciduous forest. Nests are typically built well below the tree canopy in a shrub or sapling. This is similar to the general habitat types used across Canada, but occupied stands in British Columbia tend to be older.

Conservation and Recommendations Breeding Bird Survey data show an increasing population trend across its Canadian range, and although the Blue-headed Vireo population appears to be expanding in British Columbia, long-term habitat availability is less certain. Forest harvesting removes breeding habitat, and regenerating stands are probably unsuitable for at least 80 years. Moreover, the preferred mixtures of deciduous and coniferous trees are being replaced with pure stands of either type as a result of government reforestation policies (Hobson and Bayne 2000, Lieffers et al. 2008, Kabzems et al. 2011).

Mark Phinney

Recommended citation: Phinney, M. 2015. Blue-headed Vireo in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BHVI&lang=en [10 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Viréo à tête bleue, Christian Artuso
Photo © Christian Artuso

Photo: Christian Artuso
Indices de nidification - Viréo à tête bleue
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Viréo à tête bleue
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Viréo à tête bleue
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Viréo à tête bleue
Vireo solitarius

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
278 - 1243 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
7
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
12 17 151 94
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 1.15 (-4.11 - 6.68)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 4.25 (2.44 - 5.5)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.050.05  0.09  
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.050.05 0.06  0.09
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
       

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.06  
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
 0.06 0.09

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Ce viréo à couleurs vives est facile à reconnaître par sa tête bleu-gris et ses « lunettes » blanches. Pendant environ quarante ans, le viréo à tête bleue était considéré comme une sous-espèce du complexe de viréon solitaire, mais son statut d'espèce entière a été rétabli depuis (Banks et coll. 1997). L'espèce se reproduit de la côte Atlantique vers le sud le long des Appalaches et dans l'ouest à travers les forêts tempérées et le sud des forêts boréales jusqu'au pied des montagnes Rocheuses, atteignant sa limite ouest dans le nord-est de la Colombie-Britannique. Ils hivernent dans les plaines côtières du sud-est des États-Unis et plus loin au sud dans les régions montagneuses de l'Amérique Centrale. Dans toute son étendue de reproduction au Canada, il est le seul viréo retrouvé dans les forêts dominées de conifères et mixtes (Morton et James 2014). Son chant est généralement un son pur, mais dans les extrémités ouest de son étendue son chant peut avoir la qualité de modulation de fréquence, ou de « meulette », qui est une caractéristique du viréo de Cassin (Semenchuk 1992), ce qui pourrait compliquer l'identification des espèces lorsque les deux sont présentes.

Répartition, abondance et habitat En Colombie-Britannique, l'espèce se trouve principalement à l'est des Rocheuses; son aire est centrée dans les écoprovinces Plaines boréales et Plaines de la Taïga et s'étend dans l'écoprovince Intérieur subboréal, dans les contreforts et les vallées fluviales à basse altitude, à l'est de la crête des Rocheuses. Quelques relevés de l'Atlas provenant de l'écoprovince Montagnes boréales du Nord se situent à l'ouest et au nord des Rocheuses, dans les limites de l'aire normale du Viréo de Cassin. Le Viréo à tête bleue est plus répandu maintenant qu'au moment de la publication de The Birds of British Columbia en 1997, surtout dans les Plaines de la Taïga.

On retrouve les plus grandes valeurs de probabilité d'observation dans les basses terres des rivières de la Paix et Fort Nelson, soit des données très similaires à celles de la répartition des preuves de la reproduction. Le modèle des probabilités d'observation prévoyait également une forte probabilité de rencontrer cette espèce le long de la rivière Liard River et dans le sillon des Rocheuses du Nord, où il y avait beaucoup moins de relevés de l'Atlas. Les dénombrements par point ont confirmé que le centre d'abondance provincial se trouvait toujours dans les écoprovinces Plaines boréales et Plaines de la Taïga.

En Colombie-Britannique, le Viréo à tête bleue est un oiseau propre aux forêts mixtes matures et anciennes, composées particulièrement de peuplements d'épinettes blanches (Picea glauca) et de peupliers faux-trembles (Populus tremuloides) (Phinney 1998), mais les couples sont généralement très espacés (Morton et James 2014). Des densités moins élevées peuvent être observées dans des peuplements de pins et de trembles ou d'épicéas et de peupliers. On le trouve rarement dans des forêts pures de conifères ou de feuillus. Les nids sont généralement construits bien en dessous du feuillage des arbres dans un arbuste ou un jeune arbre. Son habitat est similaire aux types d'habitats généraux dans l'ensemble du Canada; toutefois les peuplements occupés en Colombie-Britannique ont tendance à être plus anciens.

Conservation et recommandations Les données du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs indiquent une tendance croissante dans la population du viréo à tête bleue dans toute son étendue canadienne; toutefois, même si les populations de la Colombie-Britannique semblent s'agrandir, la disponibilité à long terme de leur habitat est moins certaine. L'exploitation forestière élimine les habitats de reproduction et les forêts régénérées ne seront probablement pas appropriées pour au moins 80 ans. De plus, le mélange preféré d'arbres caducifoliés et de conifères est en train d'être remplacé par des forêts purement d'un type ou l'autre en raison des politiques gouvernementales sur la reforestation (Hobson et Bayne 2000, Lieffers et coll. 2008, Kabzems et coll. 2011).

Mark Phinney

Citation recommandée: Phinney, M. 2015. Viréo à tête bleue dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BHVI&lang=fr [04 juil. 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley