Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Black-legged Kittiwake, Laure Wilson Neish
Photo © Laure Wilson Neish

Photo: Laure Wilson Neish
Breeding evidence - Black-legged Kittiwake
Breeding evidence

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Black-legged Kittiwake
Rissa tridactyla

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 0 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
1 0 0 0
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Canada1970 - 2012 12.5 (1.82 - 24.0)Low

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
       
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
       
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
       

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Characteristics and Range The noise from a kittiwake colony tells you how the bird got its name. It's harsh, scratchy "kitty-waake kitty-waake" belies the bird's dainty aspect as it falls away from its cliff nest in a graceful dive. Kittiwakes pick food from the sea surface and occasionally plunge-dive after prey, especially when feeding in a merry mob of murres, murrelets, auklets, and shearwaters. The Black-legged Kittiwake has a circumpolar distribution in the northern hemisphere; in North America it breeds on High Arctic islands and on Pacific and Atlantic coasts (Hatch et al. 2009). There are two subspecies, R. t. tridactyla of Arctic and Atlantic basins, and R. t. pollicaris in the Pacific. Non-breeding birds frequent British Columbia's outer coast, even in summer. Thousands feed in, and migrate through, Dixon Entrance and Hecate Strait.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat Although no Black-legged Kittiwake breeding records have been published for British Columbia, two and a half decades of observations at Holland Rock, off the Skeena River in Chatham Sound, confirmed nesting as far back as 1997, and possible breeding well before then (M.E. Hearne pers. obs.). This is the only known nesting site for the subspecies R. t. pollicaris in Canada. Kittiwakes are colonial nesters and once they establish a suitable site they return to it each year. Their nearest nesting neighbours are in southeast Alaska (USFWS 2006).

In July 1993, about 40 individuals were counted on Holland Rock; subsequent visits and observations from the BC Ferries route between Skidegate and Prince Rupert indicate that the population has been increasing. On June 23, 1997, one egg was found in one of three occupied nests located, and on June 19, 2002, there were twenty-three occupied nests, six with one egg. During the Atlas surveys, upwards of 120 adults were seen annually; in 2012, 135 adults and 65 nests were counted on 27 May, and on 14 June, 238 adults and 18 nests were counted.

Holland Rock is a small, rocky islet on a shallow bank with a vertical cliff face on the northwest side. The cement foundations of a destroyed lighthouse there developed a series of horizontal cracks extending into a large cliff-face fissure along which the birds make nests of mud, grass and cedar sprigs.

Conservation and Recommendations The global Black-legged Kittiwake population is very large, and is considered not at risk (BirdLife International 2014). It is encouraging that the only colony of the subspecies R. t. pollicaris in Canada is gradually increasing; it should continue to be regularly monitored. There is a risk that invasive predatory mammals (especially Raccoons Procyon lotor and rats Rattus species) could colonize, either from the mainland or passing vessels; invasive alien mammals are a threat to many seabird breeding colonies in this region (IBA Canada 2015). There is an increasing risk of spills from the expanding major Port of Prince Rupert. Holland Rock and its kittiwake colony should be considered in all impact assessments for industrial, transportation and offshore wind energy development in the area. Holland Rock should be considered for protection and/or conservation management.

Marguerita (Margo) E. Hearne

Recommended citation: Hearne, M.E. 2015. Black-legged Kittiwake in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BLKI&lang=en [10 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Mouette tridactyle, Laure Wilson Neish
Photo © Laure Wilson Neish

Photo: Laure Wilson Neish
Indices de nidification - Mouette tridactyle
Indices de nidification

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Mouette tridactyle
Rissa tridactyla

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 0 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
1 0 0 0
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Canada1970 - 2012 12.5 (1.82 - 24.0)Low

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
       
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
       
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
       

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le bruit que fait une colonie de Mouettes tridactyle ou explique d'où elle tient son nom anglais de « kittiwake ». Son cri discordant et éraillé "kitty-waake kitty-waake" contraste du tout au tout avec l'aspect délicat de l'oiseau, lorsqu'il s'élance de son nid sur les falaises dans un plongeon gracieux. Les Mouettes tridactyle prennent leur nourriture à la surface la mer et plongent à l'occasion sous l'eau à la poursuite d'une proie, surtout lorsqu'elles se nourrissent au milieu d'une foule joyeuse de guillemots, de Guillemots marbrés, d'alques et de puffins. La Mouette tridactyle est répartie dans la région circumpolaire de l'hémisphère Nord; en Amérique du Nord, elle niche dans les îles de l'extrême Arctique et sur les côtes du Pacifique et de l'Atlantique (Hatch et coll. 2009). Il y a deux sous-espèces, R. t. tridactyla des bassins de l'Arctique et de l'Atlantique, et R. t. pollicaris dans le Pacifique. Les oiseaux non nicheurs fréquentent la côte extérieure de la Colombie-Britannique, même en été. Des milliers se nourrissent dans l'entrée Dixon et le détroit d'Hécate qu'ils traversent lors de leur migration.

Répartition, abondance et habitat Bien qu'aucun relevé de nidification de la Mouette tridactyle n'ait été publié pour la Colombie-Britannique, deux décennies et demie d'observations à Hollet Rock, au large de la rivière Skeena dans le passage Chatham ont confirmé la nidification qui remonte jusqu'en 1997, et une éventuelle reproduction bien avant cette date (M.E. Hearne, observation personnelle). Il s'agit du seul lieu de nidification connu pour la sous-espèce R. t. pollicaris au Canada. Les mouettes tridactyles sont des nicheuses en colonie et lorsqu'elles ont établi un site qui leur convient, elles y retournent chaque année. Leurs plus proches voisins de nidification se trouvent dans le sud-est de l'Alaska (USFWS 2006).

En juillet 1993, quelque 40 individus ont été dénombrés sur Hollet Rock; des visites et des observations ultérieures depuis le trajet des traversiers de la Colombie-Britannique entre Skidegate et Prince Rupert indiquent que la population a augmenté. Le 23 juin 1997, on a trouvé un oeuf dans un des trois nids occupés que l'on avait repérés, et le 19 juin 2002, il y avait 23 nids occupés, don?t 6 avec un oeuf. Pendant la période de relevé de l'Atlas, plus de 120 adultes ont été vus annuellement; en 2012, 135 adultes et 65 nids ont été dénombrés le 27 mai, et le 14 juin, 238 adultes et 18 nids ont été recensés.

Hollet Rock est un îlot rocheux sur un banc peu profond avec une falaise à paroi verticale du côté nord-ouest. Les fondations en ciment d'un phare détruit ont donné naissance à une série de crevasses horizontales qui s'étendent jusqu'à une grande fissure dans la paroi de la falaise le long de laquelle les oiseaux construisent des nids en boue, herbe et brins de thuya.

Conservation et recommandations La population mondiale de Mouette tridactyle est très importante, et l'oiseau est considéré comme n'étant pas en péril (BirdLife International 2014). Il est encourageant que la seule colonie de la sous-espèce R. t. pollicaris du Canada augmente progressivement; il faudrait continuer de la suivre régulièrement. Il y a un risque que des mammifères prédateurs envahissants (ratons laveurs, rats, chats) puissent coloniser, soit depuis la partie continentale soit à partir de navires de passage; les mammifères étrangers envahissants sont une menace pour de nombreuses colonies nicheuses d'oiseaux de mer dans cette région (ZICO Canada 2015). Le risque de déversements de l'important port de Prince Rupert, qui prend de l'expansion, augmente. Hollet Rock et sa colonie de Mouettes tridactyles doivent être pris en compte dans toutes les évaluations d'impact pour des projets industriels, de transport et d'énergie éolienne au large dans la région. Hollet Rock devrait être pris en ligne de compte pour la protection et/ou la gestion de la conservation.

Marguerita (Margo) E. Hearne

Citation recommandée: Hearne, M.E. 2015. Mouette tridactyle dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BLKI&lang=fr [28 sept. 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley