Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Brewer's Sparrow, Len Jellicoe
Photo © Len Jellicoe

Photo: Len Jellicoe
Breeding evidence - Brewer's Sparrow
Breeding evidence
Elevation plot - Brewer's Sparrow
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Brewer's Sparrow
Spizella breweri
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
432 - 2385 m
Conserv. status:
BCRISC: Red (breweri subspecies)
Global importance
of B.C. population:
7
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
11 8 29 14
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1973 - 2012 -1.24 (-7.04 - 5.88)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 -0.527 (-5.37 - 4.26)Low

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.38  0.210.05  
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.38      
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.05  0.21   

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
0.08 0.07 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
  0.02 
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.36 0.15 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.141.67  

Characteristics and Range This plain and drab sparrow nests primarily in sagebrush and shrubby, treeline habitat in the Great Basin and mountains of western North America, migrating short to medium distances to wintering grounds in the arid southwestern United States and the mountains of northern Mexico including Baja California. The two breeding habitats generally reflect the choices of two distinct subspecies: S. b. breweri, known as "Sagebrush Brewer's Sparrow", and S. b. taverneri, known as "Timberline Sparrow". Despite the drab brown/gray appearance of the Brewer's Sparrow, and its habit of sticking jealously to thick cover, males of this species can frequently be detected by their lovely song (slightly different in each sub-species) that can be heard across the sagebrush and mountain fields. Females are considerably more cryptic in their behaviour, and can be very difficult to see.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat In British Columbia there are four areas of Brewer's Sparrow distribution: the sagebrush-grasslands of the South Okanagan, the mid-elevation rain shadow of the Coast Mountains in the Southern Interior and Central Interior ecoprovinces, the subalpine and bushy willows of the treeline regions in the Rocky Mountains of the East Kootenay, and dispersed patches of treeline through the Northern Boreal Mountains Ecoprovince. This distribution is similar to that known when The Birds of British Columbia was published in 2001, but the Atlas extended the number of confirmed breeding sites in the Central Interior and Southern Interior Mountains (especially in the Purcell Mountains). The Southern Interior (for S. b. breweri) and Northern Boreal Mountains (for S. b. taverneri) remain the ecoprovinces with the highest abundances, as noted in Campbell et al. (2001). Too few data are available to model Probability of Observation across the four distinct zones used by this sparrow in British Columbia.

The Brewer's Sparrow occurs over a wide elevation range from 500 to 2,390 m, but 70% of Atlas observations and the highest abundances were between 500 and 1,250 m. Both subspecies have previously been recorded in the Rocky Mountains of the Southern Interior Ecoprovince (Campbell et al. 2001), but it is unclear what their habitat and elevation preferences are in this region. The Coast Mountains rain shadow birds occur in shrubby habitat between 1,430 and 2,110 m, very typical of S. b. taverneri. This subspecies breeds in similar habitats in the northwest, though at lower elevations because of the lower treeline in this region (British Columbia Ministry of Forests 2008).

Conservation and Recommendations The Sagebrush Brewer's Sparrow is at the northern limit of its range with a very small population in British Columbia, hence it is Red-Listed provincially. It requires extensive and unaltered sagebrush habitats across a range of elevations and conditions (Mahony et al. 2006). Breeding Bird Survey data suggest S. b. breweri populations may be in decline across substantial portions of this subspecies' range, likely due to a variety of factors including habitat loss and degradation on the breeding and wintering grounds (Knick et al. 2003, Rotenberry et al. 1999). Timberline Brewer's Sparrow is poorly known due to the remoteness of its habitat, but British Columbia may support a large global proportion of this subspecies, and treeline advance through predicted climate change (Hamann and Wang 2006) may impact available habitat. More research is needed to determine the distribution, status and habitat of "Timberline Sparrow" in British Columbia, as well as determine the subspecies status of the Southern Interior Mountains birds.

Acknowledgements Nancy Mahony kindly reviewed and made improvements to a draft of this account.

Brian Starzomski

Recommended citation: Starzomski, B. 2015. Brewer's Sparrow in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BRSP&lang=en [16 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Bruant de Brewer, Len Jellicoe
Photo © Len Jellicoe

Photo: Len Jellicoe
Indices de nidification - Bruant de Brewer
Indices de nidification
Élévation - Bruant de Brewer
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Bruant de Brewer
Spizella breweri

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
432 - 2385 m
Statut de conserv.:
BCRISC: Red (breweri subspecies)
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
7
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
11 8 29 14
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1973 - 2012 -1.24 (-7.04 - 5.88)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 -0.527 (-5.37 - 4.26)Low

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.38  0.210.05  
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.38      
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.05  0.21   

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
0.08 0.07 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
  0.02 
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.36 0.15 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.141.67  

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Ce moineau simple et terne fait son nid principalement dans les habitats d'armoise et frutescents à la limite des arbres du Grand Bassin et des montagnes de l'ouest de l'Amérique du Nord, migrant sur de courtes à moyennes distances vers ses aires d'hivernage dans le sud-ouest aride des États-Unis et dans les montagnes du nord du Mexique et de la Basse-Californie. Les deux habitats de reproductions indiquent généralement la sous-espèce précise : Spizella breweri, communément connue sous le nom de bruant de Brewer et Spizella taverneri, connue sous le nom de bruant de Taverner. Malgré l'apparence terne brun-gris du bruant de Brewer et son habitude de rester jalousement dans les branches feuillues, les mâles de cette espèce peuvent fréquemment être discernés par leur chant agréable (différent pour chaque sous-espèce) qui peut être entendu partout dans les champs d'armoises et montagneux. Le comportement des femelles est beaucoup plus mystérieux et peut être très difficile à observer.

Répartition, abondance et habitat En Colombie-Britannique, le Bruant de Brewer a quatre aires de répartition : l'armoise argentée des prairies dans le sud de la vallée Okanagan, l'ombre pluviométrique d'altitude moyenne de la chaîne Côtière dans les écoprovinces Intérieur sud et Intérieur centre, les saules subalpins et buissonnants des régions de la limite forestière dans les Rocheuses de la région du Kootenay-Est, et des parcelles éparses de limites forestières dans l'écoprovince Montagnes boréales du nord. Cette distribution est similaire à celle connue lorsque The Birds of British Columbia a été publié en 2001; toutefois, l'Atlas a élargi le nombre de sites de reproduction confirmés dans l'Intérieur centre et les Montagnes intérieures du sud; (en particulier dans la chaîne Purcell). L'Intérieur sud (pour S. b. breweri) et les Montagnes boréales du nord (pour S. b. taverneri) demeurent les écoprovinces affichant les abondances les plus élevées, comme cela avait été indiqué dans Campbell et coll. (2001). Trop peu de données sont disponibles pour modéliser la probabilité d'observation dans les quatre zones distinctes utilisées par ce moineau en Colombie-Britannique.

Le Bruant de Brewer est présent dans une vaste fourchette d'altitudes allant de 500 à 2 390 m; toutefois, 70 % des observations de l'Atlas et les abondances les plus élevées ont été notées à des altitudes situées entre 500 et 1 250 m. Les deux sous-espèces ont antérieurement été relevées dans les Rocheuses de l'écoprovince Intérieur sud (Campbell et coll. 2001), mais on ne connaît pas exactement leurs preférences en matière d'habitat et d'altitude dans cette région. Dans l'ombre pluviométrique de la chaîne Côtière, l'oiseau est présent dans un habitat arbustif situé de 1 430 à 2 110 m d'altitude; en particulier pour la sous-espèce S. b. taverneri. Cette sous-espèce niche dans des habitats similaires dans le nord-ouest, bien qu'à des altitudes moins élevées en raison de la limite forestière plus basse dans cette région (Ministère des Forêts de la Colombie-Britannique, 2008).

Conservation et recommandations À l'extrémité nord du territoire du bruant de Brewer est une petite population retrouvée en Colombie-Britannique, ce qui est la raison pourquoi l'espèce se retrouve sur la liste rouge de la province. Elle nécessite de grands habitats d'armoises intactes parcourant une variété d'élévations et de conditions (Mahony et coll. 2006). Les données du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs sous-entendent que les populations de Spizella breweri sont en déclin dans une grande partie du territoire de la sous-espèce, probablement causé par une variété de facteurs comme la perte d'habitats et la dégradation de leurs aires de reproduction et d'hivernage (Knick et coll. 2003 Rotenberry et coll. 1999). Le bruant de Taverner n'est pas très bien connu puisque son habitat est assez éloigné, mais la Colombie-Britannique pourrait soutenir une grande partie de la population de cette sous-espèce. Aussi, l'avancement des limites des arbres causé par les changements climatiques prévus (Hamann et Wang 2006) pourrait affecter sur la disponibilité de ses habitats. Des recherches plus approfondies sont nécessaires afin de déterminer la répartition, le statut et l'habitat du bruant de Taverner en Colombie-Britannique, ainsi qu'afin de déterminer le statut des sous-espèces d'oiseaux des montagnes de l'intérieur méridional.

Remerciements Nancy Mahony a chaleureusement révisé et amélioré une ébauche de cette description.

Brian Starzomski

Citation recommandée: Starzomski, B. 2015. Bruant de Brewer dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BRSP&lang=fr [24 févr. 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley